We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday evening trolley dinner”
Review of Culprit.

Culprit.
Ranked #3 of 1,970 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Culprit serves nostalgic kiwi cuisine with a modern global edge. We offer chefs choice menus that hero local suppliers. Owner & Chef Kyle Street creates playful dishes that are innovative and big on flavour, often with a nod to his New Zealand upbringing.
Restaurant details
Description: Culprit serves nostalgic kiwi cuisine with a modern global edge. We offer chefs choice menus that hero local suppliers. Owner & Chef Kyle Street creates playful dishes that are innovative and big on flavour, often with a nod to his New Zealand upbringing.
Reviewed 21 June 2021 via mobile

Most enjoyable 3 hrs with pleasure, service, great food, fantastic flavours all with a smile. We would all come again and bring friends

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank KICS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 776 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2021 via mobile

Not enough superlatives to describe the experience. food, drinks, atmosphere and staff were 5 stars!

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank Jaycee0e1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

What a treat, from the street not what you get once you get up the stairs, then it just gets better from their. Scrumptious

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 466time
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 June 2021

We had been looking forward to visiting Culprit after having one of their delicious meals sent to us following Covid lockdown.
We chose the Trolley menu 4 entrees plus a main. There was no choice of entrees what you were served is what you ate ... or not in my case ..raw fish I just can't do but my husband was pleased as punch. Only 3 items on the main menu to choose from or upgrade to the duck option, which we took. Delicious and the kumera fries utterly outstanding.
Nice experience but we won't be rushing back - sorry.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tjmaca22
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CulpritNZ, Owner at Culprit., responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thanks for your feedback.

Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy all of your derby menu.

Our team should have checked in a bit better to see if there was anything on the menu you weren't digging or would like to avoid, we would have happily given you an alternate course instead of the sashimi if asked.

Our set menus change often, but i understand that some will prefer a large a'la carte menu, instead we choose to focus on a smaller menu that our small team can execute well.

I do hope you give us another chance, and hopefully memories of the kumara fries will have you back with us one evening.

Kind Regards
Kyle Street
Chef & Co-Owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2021 via mobile

We came for dinner early in the evening before a show and they were starting to get busy. The service was outstanding and the food was delicious! We had the $50 trolley and it was a great amount of food for each of us!

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank melaniedR8946RR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Culprit. also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Culprit.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.