We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of Azabu

Azabu
Reserve a table
Ranked #23 of 1,969 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $25 - $50
Restaurant details
Reviewed 19 November 2023

Amazing. Did not have a reservation and the place was packed but they gave us a spot at the bar so we were watching the chefs making the sushi. Everything tasted so fresh and amazing. Friendly and fast service too!

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TinchenP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (531)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2023

Who knew that Peru hosted a significant Japanese expat community? Not me, and my oh my was I delighted to make this discovery, the food here is the experience, the service is also very high, but do not take my word for it, book today, dine tomorrow, thank me later :-) The must order dish is the tempura prawns, get two portions, one is not enough.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 August 2023

Not anything like we recall from earlier in the year and been here many times before usually with guests to Auckland. Wont be back and we are locals.

It started at 6pm with having to do a slalom course through used condoms (3) in the carpark at the rear of the restaurant. Sat down early which was good, ordered drink after 10 minutes and arrived - all good. Food order was made and the only dish we felt was up to it was the tuna tostada. The fried chicken was dry and the sauce almost inedible. The dumplings were ok but cold. The tempura soft shell crab was terrible. It had a batter that was 5mm thick and had dried out the crab so much we left most of it. Asked for the drinks menu, it arrived but 10 mins later we hadn't seen anyone again so got up and left. Pity but in Auckland there are so many good restaurants that you just cannotbe this sloppy.

Date of visit: August 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank martinstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 April 2023

We've been to Azabu Mission Bay once and had a really good experience. This time we thought to try a different location. Hence we chose to go to Azabu Posonby . T

o our disappointment neither the setting of the restaurant nor the food is as good as Azabu mission bay. The presentation of the dishes were good but not very tasty. Staff wasn't very experienced and too busy to come to the table as required.

The dish of the night would be the prawn dumplings. We'd rather go to the mission bay again next time.

Date of visit: April 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank OpahekeMassive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2023 via mobile

We followed a local friends recommendation and we were delighted with the food, atmosphere and service!!! The Japan & Peruvian blend is amazing!

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank 918bettinaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Azabu also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Azabu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.