We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Amazing cafe”
Review of MELBA Vulcan

MELBA Vulcan
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Melba is one of the few cafes in Auckland that could be called an institution. The original cafe in Vulcan Lane has changed little over the last decade. It's the kind of place both locals and tourists have always felt very comfortable visiting. Renowned for the best coffee, breakfast and brunch in the Auckland CBD. It's now time for you to try MELBA.
Reviewed 19 March 2023 via mobile

This cafe is fantastic! I had bacon and eggs and it must have been the best I have had anywhere. The cut of bacon and the toast was devine. Funky cafe, great food and service. Great people here!

Date of visit: March 2023
Thank thatraynerlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2023

I ate breakfast here on Boxing Day. (A note about Boxing Day in Auckland, all the stores were open by 9 am with many sales) I ate inside, they do have outside seating. The service was friendly and the food was great.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TheMoneyNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thank you for the awesome review, we are glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2023

How nice it is to be greeted warmly by wait staff and shown to a table. Comprehensive food and drink menu and excellent coffee

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thanks Paul, we are glad you had a great experience with us. We pride ourselves on great service and quality food.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2022

Perfect coffees and croissants. Highlight was the service, we appreciated that even though the cafe was full, the kind manager took my name and told us to come back in fifteen minutes where upon return a table was ready and reserved for us.

We have never experienced such efficient service like this at many cafes around NZ.

Thank you to the team at MELBA Vulcan! Cute wee cafe (seemed to give cool Paris vibes to us too!!)

:-)

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank joshlaneynz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thanks Josh, glad to know you were able to find a seat on a busy day and enjoyed your food.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2022 via mobile

Wonderful coffee
Cute laneway setting near Shortland street.
Free wifi
Friendly staff and a good range of food

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank Simpson-trippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thank you for your kind words, see you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MELBA Vulcan also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to MELBA Vulcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.