We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick brunch spot”
Review of MELBA Vulcan

MELBA Vulcan
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Melba is one of the few cafes in Auckland that could be called an institution. The original cafe in Vulcan Lane has changed little over the last decade. It's the kind of place both locals and tourists have always felt very comfortable visiting. Renowned for the best coffee, breakfast and brunch in the Auckland CBD. It's now time for you to try MELBA.
Reviewed 17 October 2022 via mobile

Brunch for my girlfriend and I. Super friendly staff and the breakfast was really good. No complaints on anything really. Easy stop for a breakfast for brunch. Would definitely go back

Date of visit: October 2022
Thank kelleygun
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thank you for the kind words, great to know you had an amazing experience. See you guys next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2022 via mobile

The service was warm and friendly. We had breakfast there. Their eggs Benedict with bacon was delicious. I loved the House Hash Cake that replaced the bread. Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. It nicely complemented the eggs, bacon and hollandaise.

My husband had the Melba Grill and said everything was cooked perfectly, soft poached eggs. Tasty Manuka bacon and sauce.

If you are in Auckland City we highly recommend Melba for breakfast.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank georgelomax2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2022

Thanks guys, glad you enjoyed the breakfast.

See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2022

Loved breakfast here. It's done a cute little alley. Our waiter (may have been the owner?) was awesome, just so friendly and attentive. Food and coffee were great. Would highly recommend and will definitely come back here again.

Date of visit: July 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank djhailz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2022

Thank you for the awesome words, our team appreciates it. See you next time 🤗

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding place, had one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had in my life. A wonderful find! Something for the whole family and super friendly and attentive service.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Seaside35054761561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thank you for the really kind words, we are glad to know you had an amazing experience.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

We still love this place. Went there again this morning - food, coffee and service is wonderful. Our son is back at Uni, so all things going well in these strange times, we will be eating here quite often this year. Keep supporting your local’s.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed MELBA Vulcan also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to MELBA Vulcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.