We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a superb find!”
Review of MELBA Vulcan

MELBA Vulcan
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Melba is one of the few cafes in Auckland that could be called an institution. The original cafe in Vulcan Lane has changed little over the last decade. It's the kind of place both locals and tourists have always felt very comfortable visiting. Renowned for the best coffee, breakfast and brunch in the Auckland CBD. It's now time for you to try MELBA.
Reviewed 14 May 2022 via mobile

Absolutely outstanding place, had one of the best breakfasts I’ve ever had in my life. A wonderful find! Something for the whole family and super friendly and attentive service.

Date of visit: May 2022
Thank Seaside35054761561
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Thank you for the really kind words, we are glad to know you had an amazing experience.

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2022 via mobile

We still love this place. Went there again this morning - food, coffee and service is wonderful. Our son is back at Uni, so all things going well in these strange times, we will be eating here quite often this year. Keep supporting your local’s.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 April 2021 via mobile

I enjoyed a delicious lunch here - a Honey Garlic Chicken Salad. It was colourful, fresh, generous and delicious. The garlic is not too strong either. Service is great - although it was busy, I got a table quickly and the server was so friendly. An added bonus is the free sparkling water served when I sat down at my table, rather than tap water. She came quickly to take my order and gave me great advice about menu options. The salad arrived promptly and I enjoyed it. There was a good amount of chicken, lots of greens, cashews and salad vegetables. I enjoyed seeing the radish garnish on top too. I’ve had coffee here a few times before, which is good, but I’d didn’t stay for coffee on this visit. I wouldn’t hesitate to return. Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2021
1  Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2021

Thank You Ali, its great to know you enjoyed your experience on the weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

We love this place. Every time we are in Auckland, we have to visit melba Vulcan. We were there today - again the coffee was outstanding. The service was exceptional. There were 4 eggs benedict’s ordered - different versions but all delicious. 2 other meals were also wonderful - 2 other very happy people. We will be back next time we are in Auckland.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Kym G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melba Vulcan Lane, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2021

Thank you for your lovely words, see you guys soon!

Team MELBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2020 via mobile

Went for breakfast, and the food was cold, Avocado was obviously straight out of the fridge, toast was burnt. Been going there regularly but sadly won’t again. Staff weren’t that interested either. 👎👎

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed MELBA Vulcan also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to MELBA Vulcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.