We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brunch before flying home”
Review of MELBA Vulcan

MELBA Vulcan
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Melba is one of the few cafes in Auckland that could be called an institution. The original cafe in Vulcan Lane has changed little over the last decade. It's the kind of place both locals and tourists have always felt very comfortable visiting. Renowned for the best coffee, breakfast and brunch in the Auckland CBD. It's now time for you to try MELBA.
Reviewed 2 October 2020

Small but inviting. Very welcoming with a great choice of food. Prompt and friendly service. Will call again

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hffish-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

Yes to the great coffee yes to the great food yes to the great customer service! Thanks team, its hard to get three thumbs up but you certainly deserved it. The Smash fir bfast was divine!

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Sherpa828738
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
melbaonvulcan, General Manager at MELBA Vulcan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2020

Thank you for your kind words Sherpa.

Glad you enjoyed your visit, see you soon!

Team Melba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2020

We happened upon this by chance when the cafe we were going to visit was closed. This was recommended to us by the lady in the chocolate shop just nearby. I visited with my four year old son, just the two of us, and we got the second to last table there - a busy morning! However, we still received amazing service! The staff were so kind with my son, getting him a take away cup with a lid for his juice when he couldn’t quite manage the big glass. We ordered one breakfast and some extra sides to share between the two of us, and the waitress asked if we’d like the meal divided evenly between two plates - so helpful!! It came in great time and the food was incredible - and the coffee was FANTASTIC. I can’t stress how good the service was, thank you for being so kind to my son, he was delighted with the extra attention (and extra marshmallows!). Will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank Kirsty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 July 2020 via mobile

We were fortunate to get a table in what is a busy well served eatery. The ginger chai was tasty and staff helpful in describing how chai was prepared. The coffee was fine and the snacks hit the spot and sst us up well for a day in the city shopping and enjoying the 'metro' buzz. Would return any time I am this side of Queens St. Good find, polite and discrete staff.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank JohnW_Palmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2020 via mobile

Darling and I having sanity break in Auckland for mother in laws 79th birthday. Stayed at Citylife which was a five minute walk from Melba. Cool little place. Seating inside and out. Enthusiastic wait staff there to serve. Sparkling water a special treat. Almond milk used for coffees just a little bitter and coffee only 6/10 hot. I usually only have one cup a day so it is tragic when it does not hit the spot. I had salmon bagel which was slick looking. Heavy on the red onion but lucky I love it. Darling had the orange zest pancakes with berries. Generous serve and 9/10 by the pancake master. Baking goods looked so yum we came back and grabbed a muffin for lunch. Would return again but will ask for coffee to be on the hot side of normal.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank VicnJen67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed MELBA Vulcan also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to MELBA Vulcan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.