We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,120)
Filter reviews
1,120 results
Traveller rating
200
491
306
87
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
491
306
87
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmalaysian restaurantsky towermustard seedroom was cleanhobson streetnew zealandhomeless peoplequeen streetper dayfree wificentral locationwithin walking distancemini fridgetwo blocksbooked this hotelsmall kitchenetteauckland city
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,120 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Initial impressions were being stuck in a Loading Zone whilst having to run in and work out how to get into the parking building ( Put some instructions on your website, there's no easy parking on the streets around the entrance ).

$30 each night to park in their garage seemed OK for central Auckland as it was fairly secure so happy to pay for that.

Payed $30 to upgrade our room to one with a sofa-bed, then when we asked for sheets for the sofa-bed we were told it would be an extra $35, So our 3 year old ended up sleeping with us.

Room was pretty average, windows leaked lots of cold air at night but the heater worked well.

All up slightly disappointing given the price.

$28 dollars for a buffet breakfast was pretty pricey as well given half the food was cold, good variety but yeah not worth it.

Staff were all very friendly but seemed hamstrung by having to ask for lots of additional fees so they weren't really capable of 'helping' out in the old fashioned sense.

Room Tip: Spend more money for a decent room, Budget is not worth it unless you don't want nice things.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewS5960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
achhobson, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Matthew,

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

I can see that you originally booked a Standard room online and upgraded to a Studio room after arrival. When upgrading your room, it doesn’t always mean extra bedding will be included as it is subject to availability. Please accept our apologies if this was not explained to you in full by our Reception Staff. Our normal upgrade charge is $50 and in an attempt to provide you with a suitable room with facilities to accommodate an additional guest we charged you $30 instead as we could see that you had booked the incorrect room type for the number of guests you had.

Regarding the window leak, we have passed along your comments to our Maintenance Manager who will look into the matters you have raised and will address them as part of regular room maintenance.

We do take feedback from guests seriously and are always upfront to addressing concerns raised, we of course engage guests to contact us during their stay should there be a concern where our staff can readily address it to ensure they have a comfortable stay.

We wish you all the best and hope to see you in the near future.

Regards – Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Very expensive breakfast and bad quality. Horrible coffee.
Windows on the room don't close well, so very cold in the room. Heating system is very old one, and it takes too long to heat the room.
Good breakfast in the small french coffee style corner in the entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FRNCSC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
achhobson, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thank you for your recent stay with us.

It is very disappointing to hear that you didn’t enjoy the breakfast and coffee. I will pass this comment to our management team which will help us to improve the quality and fulfill our customers expectation.

In regard to window latch and heating system, our maintenance manager has been notified to take necessary action and we do apologise for the inconvenience caused.

We are glad to hear you did try our café, your feedback is important and we will pass along your comments.

We hope you would consider staying with us again in future.

Regards - Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

We stayed in the old part of the hotel, in a boutique one-bedroom unit. This was nicely restored and reasonably comfortable, but had few accessories such as utensils. Although a few free snacks were provided, we paid slightly more for this room as our Japanese friends paid for their large 2-bedroom family unit. We didn't realise this was the case when we booked. Also the wifi was limited to 500 mb per day, which was used by us very quickly - almost a complete waste of time! Also, parking cost $30 per day, and there was a surcharge if you wished to use a credit card. Overall we thought this hotel was very poor value for money.

Room Tip: Don't choose a boutique room if you want good value for money.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AndreaF6704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your feedback, yes our Boutique wing rooms are at a premium compared to our Standard and Studio Rooms. These rooms have free snack items, Nespresso coffee machines, heat pumps, as well as a kitchenette. Unfortunately car parks in CBD hotels are all around the same price due to the limited numbers available. However, we will look to see how we can add more value to make our Boutique rooms a better offering.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Very comfortable room, very clean. My English is not very good, but all the staff are friendly and patient, they have given me a lot of help. it would be better if you could pay for dinner. I will choose your hotel next time.

Room Tip: I think all room is ok
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank leeL2790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind compliments about our clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

The room is just like a home that has all we needed, and more. Good area convenient to shopping, Foods, fast exit to motorway. I wish I can stay for longer. Staff are friendly, helpful, really enjoy staying there.

Room Tip: room between number 1-5, 13 (eg 313, 301) with cooking facility, 3rd floor good, laundry there
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PauW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2018

Dear Pau,

Thank yo for your kind compliments regarding our convenient location.

Regards
Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews