We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar is undergoing financial problems”
Review of The Backyard

The Backyard
Ranked #1,241 of 2,495 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

I go regularly with around 5 people once a week whom spend easily $100. Generally enjoy ourselves.

Today we are hit up by the manager for 3 drinks which we had already paid for three weeks earlier. Manager was persistent despite not listening we had paid.

Not going to return in a hurry due to the way we were treated.

Date of visit: October 2018
1  Thank Students192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Love the atmosphere. Friendly staff and good customer service. Happy hours finish at 6pm but the lovely waitress took our order at 6pm with special price. A bit disappointed with the steak and the ribs.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank LilyChak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

Pork belly would have been economical at $28 odd but the vegetables are a little smear and it came with about two cauliflower florets. It left me still hungry so had to order the calamari starter! Calamari was nice but found the sauce odd.
Nice atmosphere, friendly service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank t-racetravelrep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018

Ate here each of the five nights I stayed at Poenamo Hotel. Best deal is $10 pizzas before 6pm, good value for money. Great environment, ate fish and chips 2 nights in a row, Angus steak which was sublime, the best steak knives I have ever seen, also 2 nights of Margarita Pizza. Recommend food and drinks, staff very attentive.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Conan0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Great service, staff were friendly and attentive. The food was terrible. At least what we ordered. Wont be back.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank amcatu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Backyard also viewed

Hillcrest, North Shore
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Backyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing