We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Returned after over five years and still very good...”

White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland
Ranked #67 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $25 - $120
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Restaurant details
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Reviewed 11 March 2024

Returning to visit Auckland after over five years, we were comforted to see that although there was much new development in the area, White & Wong's at Viaduct Harbour remained. Yes, it was still a bit pricey - this time for dinner instead of lunch - but as good as we remembered. Our luck held out that evening because we not only were seated without a prior reservation but also our table looked out over the water. Ordering family style, we dined on Tofu Curry, Chicken Fried Rice and a Crispy Fried Whole Market Fish - all gluten free which is a major change for me from five years ago. They pointed out that over 50% of their menu items could be prepared without gluten for us...bonus! A nice bottle of New Zealand chardonnay (plus a few more glasses) rounded out a wonderful meal.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank R K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (779)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

We turned up and we were seated, our waiter didn’t know how to smile, he wasn’t very respectful of our pregnant friends requirements, also not all our food came out and we were charged for everything we ordered. The waghu dumplings tasted like boiled meatballs. Food didn’t have the best flavours as was expected due to great experiences in Queenstown.
We’re expecting the same experience as Queenstown, and unfortunately very disappointed in the food and the service. You need to get up to Queenstown level.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Voyager10523065415
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2024

We walked in and had no problem. We were seated in the area that used to be the burger place. My husband was craving oysters and we ordered that along with half duck, shaking beef and W+W fried rice. We were stuffed and the food was delicious. Service was friendly, we were served plain rice instead of what we ordered but our server quickly rectified the problem.

Drinks arrived after our oysters but not a big deal. The place was buzzing. This was our second time here and it was as good as the first.

Thank you guys!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank petesargearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

Visited White + Wong after friend’s suggestion and certainly didn’t disappoint! Food was amazing, though a little pricey. Very busy when we visited but didn’t take long to be served. Great location, would definitely go back!

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank minandjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2024 via mobile

We were in Auckland for a couple of days from a cruise ship and I researched the many restaurants in the port area. We wandered around the lovely traffic-free harbour front and White and Wong looked great. Got a table on the outside deck overlooking the water. We requested a table with proper chairs as a lot of local restaurants have so many stool type seats, just a hard round stool with no back, beyond uncomfortable but plenty of people seemed happy with that. The chap at reception was very happy with that and we had a nice table for four for just the two of us. The waitress was very sweet and efficient, explained the menu. My problem is that I can’t tolerate chilli, though I like all other Asian spices, so a lot of the menu was off limits for me. I thought that I could just order something without the chilli but she explained that in many of the dishes is wasn’t just a garnish but an integral part of the dish. My boyfriend who like chilli had the Kung Pao chicken which he said was excellent. I just ordered a dish of broccolini in miso and shared his fried rice. We barely ate half the rice as a single portion would feed at least three. I ordered a glass of NZ rose and some ice cubes. When I ordered a second glass the (different) waiter brought with another glass of ice cubes without being asked. Top marks for noticing and great service! We enjoyed the experience so much that we intend to return tomorrow for the (chilli free!) Peking duck. A great restaurant with lots of style in a lovely waterside setting.

Date of visit: February 2024
Thank Felicity M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.