We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Entree size for main prices”

White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland
Ranked #73 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $25 - $120
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Restaurant details
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Reviewed 26 August 2023

We got u we eats and can’t quite believe we had to pay $96 for this , it would barely feed one person

Date of visit: August 2023
Thank Roving05388029320
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 37 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2023

Not one to leave bad reviews but had to be done. Went with friends. Waited a good 5 mins at the door to be seated while all the “other” staff and bar staff watched us wait. They looked confused and possibly not their job to help. Waitress took drink orders after 15mins, then came back after another 10mins to take order. The place was empty. Bao buns with Korean chicken were dry & felt like eating crunchy flavoured batter with a light streak of sauce. Salt and chilly squid not salted. Waitress clearing the table spilt soya sauce which ran across the table and through a gap which landed on leather handbag and shoes. We cleaned the mess with our serviettes and were told we'd get new ones, needless to say they did not arrive. We were not asked if we wanted dessert. Very disappointing and terrible experience.

Date of visit: June 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Trixie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2023

What a contrast to our appalling experience at the Newmarket branch the week before (when we ended up walking out). The service was super attentive, despite a full restaurant. We ordered a set menu. The food was plentiful and excellent.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tabatha1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 June 2023

Have been here twice. Gave it a second shot the same month. Regretted both experiences and won't be back. Staff only seem interested in catering to 20-somethings, and if you're not one of them, you're ignored to your face, treated with disdain and receive substandard service from bored, disengaged faces.

Left early on the first visit because we couldn't get served (they brought one round of drinks and never came back for our order - the place is busy so we waited and waved out for 45 minutes before giving up and taking our business elsewhere). The second time we got a better table by the water, but were still treated really poorly. I'd wanted to scope it out for a big birthday celebration for my husband later this year, but it just feels like they cash in on the location, and that's about as far as it goes.

We get it. The service staff are young and want to hang with their peer group. But you're at work. Please be nice to your other patrons and don't make them beg to be served. I know it's busy, but that's the industry you're in. If you can be over-the-top nice to some patrons, don't turn to ice when you turn around to face your next customers. First impressions count for a lot. Ongoing impressions count for the rest.

Date of visit: December 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MCulpa1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 June 2023 via mobile

The food was in the main tasteless. To be fair the bang bang chicken was tasty but the Char sui pork buns were tasteless and the curried hapuka was dry over cooked and tasted as if something wasn’t “right”

We felt sorry for the staff who appeared overworked. Our waitress was sweet. The place is really like a conveyor belt relying on quantity rather than quality.

At the cash register all we were asked was “did you send it back to the kitchen”
Obviously didn’t give a proverbial

Never ever again!

Date of visit: June 2023
1  Thank DuncanH240
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.