We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Experience Ever!”

White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland
Get food delivered
Ranked #66 of 1,992 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $25 - $120
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Restaurant details
Description: White + Wong's 'East meets West' cuisine takes classic street foods from China, Hong Kong, Vietnam, Malaysia and Thailand - the noodles, soups, curries and delicious dumplings - and created an eclectic menu to pick and choose from to suit. Flavoursome Massaman and red curry pastes made from scratch. Oysters, and sashimi with freshly ground wasabi root. We're not purists, so if it's tasty, White + Wong's are steaming it, frying it and serving it up fresh and fast. In some dishes you'll find untouched classics like the Bang Bang chicken and BBQ pork buns, while others, whole Peking Ducks, numbing & fragrant prawns and BBQ meats are our take on Chinese street food, tweaked and re-imagined. White + Wong's brings big and fresh Asian flavours to the central viaduct, right on the water.
Reviewed 9 May 2021 via mobile

Best experience at the viaduct ever! A friend and I went here for dinner as I had never been and it was fantastic! The service, food and staff were amazing.
We were seated straight away and the staff throughout the night visited us at the perfect times.
The range of food and drinks to offer on the menu is crazy! And by this I mean there was so much to choose from.
We shared all our dishes as our waiter told us this was the best way to try the menu.
We had the edamame beans, raw tuna, duck dumplings and the teriyaki salmon. it was beautifully prepared and tasted just as good.
Will definitely be back here again and will be recommending this place to others.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank rqueen944
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

77 - 81 of 772 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

We were excited to try this restaurant with some great friends. What a disappointment it turned out to be. The food was ok at best. Lacking in flavour and really didn’t warrant the prices. The noise was overwhelming, not only the so called background music but those at tables crammed in around us. Gone was the opportunity to have a great catch up with friends, this turned into us having to almost shout to be heard, how a few acoustic panels and turning down the music would have made things so much better. This is a restaurant that has forgotten that it’s not about them but about the experience for the customer and for this customer, a return any time soon is well off the charts. We ended up finishing our meals and moving to a quiet bar along Princess wharf so at least we could hold a conversation without shouting and enjoy the company if others.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank olympusnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2021 via mobile

We have always had great food at this restaurant, however.... tonight we had the lovely celine(Selene)take care of us this evening. She is a gem!!!! Management please take note of this wonderful lady, she made our evening very special and will have us returning to see her!

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank DawnFurey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2021

So glad we booked the late sitting.Lovely service friendly and welcoming.Food yummy especially the calamari the nicest we have ever tried. Pad thaI was to die for ,so we're the pork gau bao buns. Wine list was so so hence the 4 stars would of been 5 if we had more to choose from. Great night and will be back.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Odyssey704206
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 February 2021 via mobile

Food was good for us but a few things made it less good overall.
Asked for sparkling water on arrival, they gave us still. Told them it was my boyfriends birthday, they didn’t do anything special for him. They seemed to slow down service for us though, as they knew we were celebrating? Two other couples who had arrived a similar time, had their food and left before our mains came out. Toilets had no soap (I checked three separate ones!) and were not clean, had to use hand sanitiser coming back to the table - kind of appalling in COVID times. When spending $200 for two people would have expected better. Won’t be coming back soon.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Mary_Gstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sonya C, General Manager at White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2021

Hi Mary,

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing experience with us as we take all aspects of service and feedback seriously.

If you could kindly forward to misschan@whiteandwongs.co.nz with a contact telephone number, along with the date and details of your dinner, I am happy to follow up accordingly and contact you personally.

We appreciate all your comments and also note your concerns during these times, as health and safety of our customers, staff and community remains our top priority.

Thank you - regards,
Sonya Chan
General Manager | White + Wong’s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to White and Wong's - Viaduct, Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.