We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours
Save
Review Highlights
Fantastic day

Brian showed us lots of different animals, tracks and plants. We learnt a lot about the indigenous... read more

Reviewed 25 June 2018
Gretel L
,
Aireys Inlet, Australia
Surprise and delight!

My husband and I had the best time on Brian’s tour. He’s truly a local legend. We spent the day... read more

Reviewed 13 June 2018
Olivier M
,
Perth, Australia
via mobile
Read all 42 reviews
  
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
31
3
3
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
3
3
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mud crab spear gun indigenous history cape leveque his knowledge spearfishing crabbing snorkeling stories mudcrabs midden mangroves opportunities sand speared tagging
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had heard glowing reports of this tour, so we(6 friends) decided we wouldn't miss it. We were very disappointed that we did not get to experience crabbing, oyster collecting. Spear fishing( all in the traditional manner). We drove along the beach, had a few swims, some people fished( no luck). We weren't informed that we needed to take lunch. I think we were all expecting a seafood cook up. We stopped on our way back to see a vehicle that was partly submerged and one little person asked when we were going crabbing and Brian's answer" the tide is wrong", so not today.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank lyndalllassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry you didn't get to do everything you expected - by the sounds of it you toured at neap tides, or went out on a higher tide. Unfortunately the tides change daily but the tour goes out at the same time daily and nature dictates what can be achieved

To crab or collect oysters the tide needs to be low and the banks of the creek exposed or the oysters exposed.

My apologies if you were not informed that you would at least need to bring snacks. There is a packed lunch option when booking the tour that should be offered whether booking online or onsite.

For others considering the tour - please be aware you will need shoes you are happy to get wet, clothes you are happy to get dirty, snacks and we also suggest that someone in your group bring a small sharp knife (pocket or similar) in case you do catch fish or need to open oysters or cut bait.

Brian is very much guided by people's requests and always carries a number of traditional spears with him as a matter of course should anyone wish to try using them. At a higher tide though there are risks in entering creek water to retrieve spears due to the occasional crocodile.

Sorry the tour did not meet your expectations,

Thank you for your review.

Erica
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We booked the Brian Lee Tagalong tour at the last minute and it ended up being the highlight of two weeks in the West Kimberley. Brian was an amazing host and our four hour tour went for most of the day. We drove to Hunters Creek with a couple of stops along the way to hear Brian talk about his culture and ancestors. We stopped for a swim and some fishing before moving on to the mangroves. We went for a beautiful walk through the Creek bed and collected some oysters which Brian cooked up for lunch with the fish we had caught. Brian was fantastic with the kids and gave them a lesson on spear fishing and how to use sea shells as a very loud whistle. The information was non-stop. We could not have asked for a better day out and the value for money is incredible. Thank you Brian Lee for an amazing experience. I would happily take the whole family again.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Fabulous! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely day out with Brian. He showed us local wildlife and marine creatures and took us to very picturesque parts of Cape Leveque.
The drive along the beach was a lot of fun too.
We had no luck with fishing on that day but could certainly watch Brian in action.
All in all a fantastic day out. I think it is good value for money.

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi,

Glad you had a fantastic day! It is a very beautiful part of the world he is sharing - that's for sure.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2016

What an absolutely spectacular day we had with Brian Lee on his Tagalong tour to Hunters Creek. An experience that will be hard to beat!
We, (3 couples unknown to each other) set off just after 9 am complete with suggested provisions, ie snacks, something for lunch, water, sunscreen, and hat. And of course, our sense of adventure.
This was to be our first sand driving. We were in a 4x4 rental from Broome Broome which we were allowed to drive on this tour. We had to deflate our tyres to 10 psi (18 was recommended) after getting stuck in the sand whilst leaving the campground!
Brian was quick to help us out and we were soon enjoying a fabulous drive along the beach.
We all had a go at fishing from the rocks with little luck, followed by a lovely swim in the clear waters. Soon after driving over a few sand dunes, we reached an inlet where we had another try at fishing - the fish were jumping but not near us. At each of these stops, Brian shared stories about his ancestry and the history of area.
We drove further on over incredibly bumpy sand dune tracks and I’m so glad I wasn’t driving! No dramas, just excitement! We parked by a campfire area and then walked across the tidal flats. This was quite a lengthy walk, which required walking through shallow seawater at times. One person chose to turn back at this stage. I’m glad I had a decent sized bottle of water & a snack during this walk.
When we got to the mud crab area, Brian explained how to search for and catch them then he set about getting some for us. Whilst I watched, Brian and some of the others had a go at catching them – we got 4 big mud crabs! What excitement!
We then set off back toward the campfire, stopping to hunt for oysters growing on trees. We collected some branches covered in oysters which were then put on the campfire along with the mud crabs. And what a feast we had! We all sat around the campfire for quite some time, eating delicious fresh bush tucker and listening to Brian share more of his wonderful ancestral history and stories.
After clambering down a rocky area, we had another refreshing swim. The rocks are sharp so you do need to wear water shoes/ sandals.
It was then time to put out the fire, clear away our sea food shells into the midden and drive back over those sand dunes, along the stunning beach back to camp.
What an incredible day, one that I will remember forever.
I am so very glad we were able to go on this trip.

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Wow - wonderful!
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

Certainly not value for money when you consider that you provide your own vehicle and food.
The only positives were that we were able to visit land that was otherwise inaccessible.
The biggest criticism is that a customer was stranded on the beach towards the end of the tour and Brian was nowhere to be found. He had driven off and left us all. It was up to the other customers and a Kooljaman staff member who happened to see the predicament and came over with his vehicle that we were able to snatch strap and with the use of tracks which a customer had thoughtfully brought that we were able to free the very bogged car.
Cannot recommend this tour to anybody.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank ros1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hi,

If Brian had arrived at the head of the beach track and his tour had not caught up - he would head back along and help whoever was having trouble. He hasn't lost anyone yet!

Kooljaman staff are well used to assisting many people when they get bogged in the sand. It's an everyday task for multiple people most days. Sand driving takes a bit of practice and many people are taking their first real go at Kooljaman - with the reuslt they get bogged. We are happy to assist - it's all part of off road driving.

A tagalong tour requires that you tagalong in your own vehicle. The price is $98.00 for a tour that rarely is less than 6 hours in duration and takes you into beautiful inaccessible areas with a cultural guide. You provide your own lunch. People can make up their own mind on the value proposition - and do.

You could take the option of a premium tour and Kooljaman can provide a vehicle, driver and food. The cost is $200.00 per person minimum of 4 people.

Thanks

Erica


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews