We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but longer than expected ”

Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours
Ranked #37 of 62 Tours in Broome
Attraction details
Reviewed 6 July 2017 via mobile

This was a great opportunity to learn about Kooljaman, the Bardi people and the history over the last few hundred years. We also learnt about Aboriginal culture and I found it very interesting...I feel like I have a greater appreciation for Aboriginal culture and its importance in the Australian landscape. We swam in a beautiful beach, fished and cooked a fish over an open fire. The only thing that makes me give 4 instead of 5 stars is that it wasn't really made clear how long it went for. We expected 4 hours but it was a generous 6. So the kids had a great time, especially throwing a spear, but got a bit over it. Make sure you pack some lunch and let your tires down to around 18 pound. Need a good 4wd. Thanks!

Thank Felicity D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi,

Generally speaking Brian is very generous with his time and will attempt to make sure everyone has experienced the most he can offer them.

The tour generally starts at 8.30 and finishes around 3pm.

Glad you caught some fish!

Thank you

Erica

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"mud crab"
in 14 reviews
"indigenous history"
in 3 reviews
"spear gun"
in 2 reviews
"open fire"
in 2 reviews
"oysters"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 3 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"spearfishing"
in 7 reviews
"bardi"
in 4 reviews
"crabbing"
in 8 reviews
"snorkeling"
in 5 reviews
"midden"
in 3 reviews
"mudcrabs"
in 2 reviews
"stories"
in 7 reviews
"ancestors"
in 2 reviews
"mangroves"
in 5 reviews
"speared"
in 2 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2017

We had heard glowing reports of this tour, so we(6 friends) decided we wouldn't miss it. We were very disappointed that we did not get to experience crabbing, oyster collecting. Spear fishing( all in the traditional manner). We drove along the beach, had a few swims, some people fished( no luck). We weren't informed that we needed to take lunch. I think we were all expecting a seafood cook up. We stopped on our way back to see a vehicle that was partly submerged and one little person asked when we were going crabbing and Brian's answer" the tide is wrong", so not today.

1  Thank lyndalllassau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2017

Hi,

I'm sorry you didn't get to do everything you expected - by the sounds of it you toured at neap tides, or went out on a higher tide. Unfortunately the tides change daily but the tour goes out at the same time daily and nature dictates what can be achieved

To crab or collect oysters the tide needs to be low and the banks of the creek exposed or the oysters exposed.

My apologies if you were not informed that you would at least need to bring snacks. There is a packed lunch option when booking the tour that should be offered whether booking online or onsite.

For others considering the tour - please be aware you will need shoes you are happy to get wet, clothes you are happy to get dirty, snacks and we also suggest that someone in your group bring a small sharp knife (pocket or similar) in case you do catch fish or need to open oysters or cut bait.

Brian is very much guided by people's requests and always carries a number of traditional spears with him as a matter of course should anyone wish to try using them. At a higher tide though there are risks in entering creek water to retrieve spears due to the occasional crocodile.

Sorry the tour did not meet your expectations,

Thank you for your review.

Erica
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

We booked the Brian Lee Tagalong tour at the last minute and it ended up being the highlight of two weeks in the West Kimberley. Brian was an amazing host and our four hour tour went for most of the day. We drove to Hunters Creek with a couple of stops along the way to hear Brian talk about his culture and ancestors. We stopped for a swim and some fishing before moving on to the mangroves. We went for a beautiful walk through the Creek bed and collected some oysters which Brian cooked up for lunch with the fish we had caught. Brian was fantastic with the kids and gave them a lesson on spear fishing and how to use sea shells as a very loud whistle. The information was non-stop. We could not have asked for a better day out and the value for money is incredible. Thank you Brian Lee for an amazing experience. I would happily take the whole family again.

Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Fabulous! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely day out with Brian. He showed us local wildlife and marine creatures and took us to very picturesque parts of Cape Leveque.
The drive along the beach was a lot of fun too.
We had no luck with fishing on that day but could certainly watch Brian in action.
All in all a fantastic day out. I think it is good value for money.

Thank Alice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Hi,

Glad you had a fantastic day! It is a very beautiful part of the world he is sharing - that's for sure.
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2016

What an absolutely spectacular day we had with Brian Lee on his Tagalong tour to Hunters Creek. An experience that will be hard to beat!
We, (3 couples unknown to each other) set off just after 9 am complete with suggested provisions, ie snacks, something for lunch, water, sunscreen, and hat. And of course, our sense of adventure.
This was to be our first sand driving. We were in a 4x4 rental from Broome Broome which we were allowed to drive on this tour. We had to deflate our tyres to 10 psi (18 was recommended) after getting stuck in the sand whilst leaving the campground!
Brian was quick to help us out and we were soon enjoying a fabulous drive along the beach.
We all had a go at fishing from the rocks with little luck, followed by a lovely swim in the clear waters. Soon after driving over a few sand dunes, we reached an inlet where we had another try at fishing - the fish were jumping but not near us. At each of these stops, Brian shared stories about his ancestry and the history of area.
We drove further on over incredibly bumpy sand dune tracks and I’m so glad I wasn’t driving! No dramas, just excitement! We parked by a campfire area and then walked across the tidal flats. This was quite a lengthy walk, which required walking through shallow seawater at times. One person chose to turn back at this stage. I’m glad I had a decent sized bottle of water & a snack during this walk.
When we got to the mud crab area, Brian explained how to search for and catch them then he set about getting some for us. Whilst I watched, Brian and some of the others had a go at catching them – we got 4 big mud crabs! What excitement!
We then set off back toward the campfire, stopping to hunt for oysters growing on trees. We collected some branches covered in oysters which were then put on the campfire along with the mud crabs. And what a feast we had! We all sat around the campfire for quite some time, eating delicious fresh bush tucker and listening to Brian share more of his wonderful ancestral history and stories.
After clambering down a rocky area, we had another refreshing swim. The rocks are sharp so you do need to wear water shoes/ sandals.
It was then time to put out the fire, clear away our sea food shells into the midden and drive back over those sand dunes, along the stunning beach back to camp.
What an incredible day, one that I will remember forever.
I am so very glad we were able to go on this trip.

Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KooljamanCapeLeveque, Guest Relations Manager at Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2016

Wow - wonderful!
:)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours also viewed

 
Broome, Kimberley Region
 

Been to Brian Lee Hunters Creek Tagalong Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing