We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,198)
Filter reviews
1,198 results
Traveller rating
638
408
103
29
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
638
408
103
29
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yarra river crown casino great location a river view room one bedroom suite full kitchen train noise train line flinders st washing machine double glazing south bank short walk small balcony light sleeper room service free tram
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,198 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2018 via mobile

lovely hotel with all amenities ,good free wi fi, tasty dinner ,super efficient staff ,located walking distance from the center near train station,on the river bank with beatiful view from above. clean and friendly.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Zippi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Zippi_11

Thank you for your review, it has indeed been our pleasure to take care of you during your recent stay with us, your patronage is appreciated. It is also pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location, service, as well as the fantastic views, this is what we like to call a bit of Las Vegas on our door step.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Clarion Suites Gateway in the near future.

Kind Regards
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

Stayed for 4 nights, upgraded to a River View room which was nice. Clean, neat and tidy. It was great that we had a small kitchenette with microwave, toaster, kettle, plates & cutlery. Wifi needs to be longer than 1 hour for free. Staff were super helpful and very nice.
We did get a bit of drumming noise from the commuter trains that travel into Flinders Street Station, but got used to it after the first night.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolumpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2018

Dear Coolumpasty

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your stay in Melbourne, and for sharing your experience in TripAdvisor. We are delighted to read that our rooms and service met your expectations, as well as the complimentary upgrade we offer to our guest when the next best room type is available.

May we have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to our lovely City.

Kind regards
Customer Service Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

Clarion suite hotel excellent location for touring Melbourne. The staff and management were friendly and very efficient,we had a minor issue it was dealt with in minutes by the manager breakfast was hearty. Make sure not to miss happy hour. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay again well done clarion.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C1521YGbriank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Brian,

Thank you for your review, it has indeed been our pleasure to take care of you during your recent stay with us, your patronage is appreciated.

Our location is indeed very convenient, just a few minutes’ walk to various iconic Melbourne’s venues like the MCG, MCEC, the Crown Casino and the shopping prescient. I do hope that you had an opportunity to visit Southbank’s & Southgate’s renowned entertainment precinct, offerings trendy cafés, international restaurants, nightlife and Crown Casino Entertainment Complex.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Maria Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Had a great stay here
Room was very comfortable and not too small at all - quiet too
Were very close to shops, casino and attractions.
Staff helped with suggestions for dinners/ meal & also some sites
Would stay again

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Debbie,

Thank you for choosing Clarion Suites Gateway for your vacation in Melbourne, and most importantly for allowing us to be of service to you, it is always lovely to receive positive feedback. We are an all-suites, full serviced Hotel, our studio rooms are equipped with a kitchenette and our one and two bedroom suites have fully equipped kitchens and laundry facilities, there’s a room type to suite everyone’s needs and it is pleasing to read that you enjoyed our location, our suite and service.

I do hope that you had an opportunity to visit Southbank’s & Southgate’s renowned entertainment precinct, offerings trendy cafés, international restaurants, nightlife and Crown Casino Entertainment Complex. The free city circle tram is on the street corner and Bourke Street Mall presents the best shopping in Melbourne

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Maria Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife as we were looking for a few specific things. We wanted free WiFi included, and a room with a view and the balcony was a bonus.

I booked a “1 bedroom apt with River View”
These things should be basic in a Melbourne CBD property.

Rather than book online I took the time to call as it was a same day booking, I explained what I was looking for, particularly the higher floor. I am an ex hotel manager, and as such am familiar with the room allocation process.

All was ok with the stay, but was disappointed to find us on the 5th level - the FIRST level of rooms above the carpark. Simply not good enough.

Wifi works for 30mins and for our 2 night stay, we were provided with 1.5hrs wifi In total. Then you need to pay the daily rate of $9.50 - disgraceful.

The rooms them selves are quite drab and yes, very noisy!

No Microwave
No Coffee Machine
Limited WiFi
Old and tired rooms

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank barneyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CSGManagement, Guest Relations Manager at Clarion Suites Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2018

Dear Barneyoz,

Thanks so much so much for staying with us.

Regrettably, on this occasion, we were unable to provide a suite on a higher floor, due to the late booking notice and availability on the day.

We only offer Free Wi-Fi and other discounts under our One William Club, rewards program, as well as 10% off the best accommodation rate, we do recommend joining, so that you may enjoy these additional benefits.

During 2016 we completed our soft refurbishment programme, feedback to date has been complimentary, generally, fit-out programs in hotels occur every 6/8years, or so.

Every room & suite offers a coffee & tea making facility as well as a microwave, the latter is located in the cabinet above the fridge.

Furthermore, the suites do offer a full kitchen and laundry complement.

All our bedrooms are double glazed and in the event of sensitivity, we do suggest, as per in room information provided on the bedroom door handle, stating to close the bedroom door upon retiring, which blocks any exposure to noise.

We do hope that we may be in a position to welcome you back one day, and I assure that you will be our very best to ensure that your stay with us is enjoyable, please do contact me directly when the occasion does arise.

Kind Regards,
Maria Garcia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews