We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Official Site
Trip.com
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveller rating
965
334
93
35
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
965
334
93
35
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar loot bag apple tv lolly bar free happy hour free lolly free wifi restocked daily studio suite princess theatre bathroom sink bourke street little extras harry potter nespresso machine top end yogurt
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2019 via mobile

Forget about looking at anything else in Melbourne, just stay here.
It’s one of the coolest, funkiest places we have been to in ages. Sure, we were incredibly fortunate and got upgraded, but we did look in other rooms as well, and we will be making this our place of choice from now on.
Room - immaculate.
Staff - incredible.
Free Mini Bar - surefire winner.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 652berniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2019

Heya 652berniem,

Thanks for the stellar review, we are thrilled you had such a fab time with us at Laneways and have found your new gem.

See you next time :)

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2019

What a great little place to stay, especially if you're attending the Princess Theatre. Free breakfast, mini-bar, social hour, slippers, goody bag and maybe more!
Staff were exceptionally helpful at all times. Parking at the nearby Wilson car park was pretty cheap too.

Room tip: Not sure about this. We had a bedroom suite which was great for a couple.
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roslyn53
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi Roslyn53,

Thank you the stellar review, we are glad you loved our signature Ovolo Freebies as much as we do! The staff love hearing when they have had a positive impact on our guests stay so thank you again for taking the time out to pass on the feedback.

See you next time :)

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019

We've stayed at Ovolo Laneways a few times now, and while it isn't quite as fresh as it used to be, there are still some great things about it. Extras like a laundry, breakfast (decent bagels!) and free snacks help make it a happy stay. There are some bigger things that contribute to it having a its own distinctive vibe.
It's in a super convenient location - easy walking distance to any of the attractions and restaurants in Central Melbourne. Also very close to trams, trains and all forms of transport. Despite this it is peaceful and quiet, both in terms of other guests and street noise.
The staff are another great reason to stay. They are friendly and understanding. We had to change rooms this trip for a reason that was unforeseeable by staff. They were completely understanding and managed things seamlessly and it was never awkward. Many thanks to Thomas who made us feel right at home.
Rooms have a great inner-city feeling, and you feel part of Melbourne's lane culture. If that's your thing - then book at Ovolo Laneways.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Hi Mark,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave the stellar review. I am thrilled to read that you had such a fabulous stay with us. The team at Laneways love what they do and it’s wonderful to read when we've got it right. Tomas was stoked with the name mention too :)

We look forward to seeing you next time!

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

Situated just metres from the Princess Theatre. Excellent customer service. Funky and trendy. Complimentary mini-bar and help yourself lolly station at reception. Free wi-fi. Close to China Town and a short walk to Bourke Street Mall.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
3  Thank Sean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Hi Sean,

Thanks for the rave review! We are glad you had the best time with us :)

Cheers,

Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2019

The Ovolo is in a fantastic location, just around the corner from the Princess Theatre in the Melbourne CBD. From the moment you walk through the doors you are met with happy, friendly staff who are very helpful. The check-in process was easy and fast, the room was small but perfectly organised to maximise your stay. The free mini bar, snacks and amenities are wonderful. The rooms have been recently renovated and have every item you need for a comfortable stay. The King sized bed was comfortable and had high thread count sheets and large pillows. Very close to some wonderfull restaurants Longgrain, Daughter-in Law etc. Love the Ovolo laneways.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmyM6123, General Manager at Ovolo Laneways, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

Hi Koali333,

Thank you for taking the time to give us the glowing review, we are so glad to hear you had the perfect stay and loved the our super central location and the Ovolo Freebies. The team love what they do and love to hear when they have impressed! so I will be sure to pass it on :)

See you next time!

Amy



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews