We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Mark S

A very wel run hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 20 Apr 2024
This is a really well run hotel. The staff all have such a positive attitude and are helpful with every request. The rooms are very well presented. I paid extra for a corner room, they are larger than a standard and well worth the small amount extra. These rooms are away from the lift with no passing foot traffic so are consequently very quiet.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this review
Responded 22 Apr 2024
Hi marksE280KM,

It's heartening to read your positive review about our hotel. It certainly seems like you enjoyed your stay, especially appreciating the staff's helpfulness and the quality of our rooms.

Your kind words about the value of our corner rooms are appreciated. We always strive to offer our guests a calm, peaceful environment, and it seems we were successful in this case.

We are committed to maintaining the highest level of service and comfort for our esteemed guests and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$275
  • Priceline
    $284
  • Agoda.com
    $244
  • Expedia.com
    $287
0.2 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Space Deck
Booking.com
$118
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $107
  • Agoda.com
    $96
  • Expedia.com
0.6 km from Rydges Melbourne
Bar/Lounge
Fitness centre
Standard Room
Booking.com
$161
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $162
  • StayForLong
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $183
1.7 km from Rydges Melbourne
Pool
Fitness centre
Booking.com
$188
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $188
  • Agoda.com
    $186
1.7 km from Rydges Melbourne
Restaurant
Batmans Hill Exterior Night Web
Booking.com
$181
  • Priceline
    $189
  • Agoda.com
    $151
  • Algotels
    $175
1.7 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Deluxe King Corner Room
Booking.com
$194
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $194
4.0 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Official Hotel Site
$713
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
    $723
  • Agoda.com
    $589
  • Vio.com
    $618
1.5 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Pool
Vio.com
$1,254
  • Agoda.com
    $1,158
  • StayForLong
  • Trip.com
1.7 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $194
  • Agoda.com
    $133
  • Priceline
    $190
2.6 km from Rydges Melbourne
Free Wifi
Room service
Building
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
    $888
  • Agoda.com
    $786
  • StayForLong
0.9 km from Rydges Melbourne
Fitness centre
View more hotels in Melbourne
Reviews (371)
Filter reviews
371 results
Traveller rating
296
46
15
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
296
46
15
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newly renovated hotel home away from home hotel restaurant bed and pillows buffet breakfast restaurants and bars great location fantastic stay city renovation fridge chinatown gym bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 371 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2024 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay at Rydges Melbourne. Great rooms, facilities and location. A special thank you to Ebony Mann who went above and beyond to make the stay special for us. Absolute star!

Would happily stay again and recommend the hotel highly to anyone looking for modern accomodation in the heart of the city.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank andrewpA5190BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi andrewpA5190BP,

It brings us immense pleasure to read about your fantastic stay at Rydges Melbourne. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our rooms, facilities, and prime location.

Your words of praise for Ebony Mann are highly appreciated. Our team is dedicated to providing an exceptional experience for our guests and it's encouraging to hear that Ebony's efforts had a positive impact on your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and appreciate your high recommendation.

Kindest Regards,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

Ebony Mann ( Guest Experience Specialist ) arranged our stay. We had spent our Wedding Night at the same location 45 years ago.
Timing : Could have been better with having to wait 45 mins in reception on arrival , Then another 45 mins for Room service delivery.
Room ( 911) & Facilities : Good - although located alongside Lift shaft was quite noisy at times.
Room presentation : Quite good
Flowers Arrangement: Stunning
Balloons Arrangement : Looked good at start but main balloon quickly began to deflate
Chocolate Strawberries: Beautiful presentation & taste
Chefs Chatuterie Board : Good
No Bath robes provided despite Soaker tub present in bedroom
Buffet Breakfast : Beautiful selection & great service
Overall - Pleasant stay

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sightsee61973906972
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hello There,


Your detailed feedback is highly appreciated. It is heartwarming to learn that we could be a part of your special day again, 45 years after your wedding night.

We are delighted you found the flower arrangement stunning and the chocolate strawberries beautifully presented and tasty. Your kind words about our room presentation, facilities, and buffet breakfast service are truly encouraging.

However, we regret the inconveniences with the waiting periods and the noise. We always strive to make our guests' experiences seamless and comfortable. We also noted your comment about the bath robes.

Your satisfaction is our utmost priority and we hope that your overall experience was pleasant. We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable stay in the future.

Best Regards,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024 via mobile

Great location for the theatre district and also for comedy festival venues.
Room was comfortable, newish renovations, foyer has a great feel to it.
Rooftop pool is heated, but second day we were there it wasn’t as warm and not quite swimmable.
Didn’t eat at the hotel, but good vibe in the bar Saturday evening before a show.

Room tip: Starbucks next door does a passable breakfast for less than $10, although I’m sure the hotel buffet is great at $45 it’s pretty $
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AussieSteph71
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi AussieSteph71,

It sounds like you had an enjoyable time with us, and we are delighted to hear that our strategic location added convenience to your visit. We're also pleased to know that you found your room comfortable and appreciated the ambiance of our foyer.

Regarding the rooftop pool, it is indeed a popular spot, and we aim to keep it at a comfortable temperature for our guests. We're sorry if it wasn't as expected on the second day of your stay.

We're glad to see you enjoyed the atmosphere in our bar on Saturday evening. It indeed becomes lively during the weekends, and we're happy you got to experience it.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the theatre district or comedy festival venues.

Many Thanks,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2024 via mobile

This was such a great stay. Room was amazing. Beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was very modern and clean. It also had a cosy lounge room. Room service was made easy as you order through your tv. The breakfast was superb with some many choices. It is a good location very central to the city and easy access to trams to get around.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jrod16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi jrod16,

Your warm words have brightened our day. It is delightful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and found the room to be comfortable and clean. We are particularly pleased that you found our modern amenities, such as TV-based room service, to be convenient.

The wide variety of breakfast options is indeed something we are proud of. Our goal is to make your mornings delightful, and we are glad we succeeded in your case.

Lastly, we are pleased to know that the hotel's central location and easy access to public transit added to the convenience of your stay. It is our commitment to provide our guests with an experience that is both comfortable and convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2024

First time staying at the Rydges Melbourne and was completely blown away. It's in a central location and walking distance to many great restaurants, shops and attractions.

The room was well designed and made the most of the space. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was no sound issues in the room. Wifi was fast and reliable. The bathroom was modern with good lighting and strong water pressure.

The hotel breakfast was super fresh and had good variety. The pastries selection, in particular, was a highlight for my party.

I will definitely be back next time I stay in Melbourne.

Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookeahoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denzel O'Meagher, Other at Rydges Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2024

Hi brookeahoward,

Your glowing review of your stay at Rydges Melbourne is sincerely appreciated. It's delightful to learn that our central location, room design, comfortable bed, and stable Wi-Fi all met your expectations.

The positive remarks regarding our modern bathroom and breakfast selection, especially the pastries, are equally gratifying. It is comments such as yours that inspire us to strive for excellence.

We are thrilled to read that you plan to return on your next visit to Melbourne. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Melbourne!

Many Thanks,
Logan Mataira
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews