We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveller rating
97
411
481
272
226
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
411
481
272
226
Show reviews that mention
All reviews southern cross station etihad stadium would stay again tram stop skybus transport
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were 5 people, we booked 3 single rooms and 1 double. When se arrived we discovered that This hotel is under renovation. The rooms are noisy and dirty.moreover there were no heating. I asked to change the room, but I was told that it was not possible and they put a radiator, which I need it to be on during all the night.
The breakfast is not good, there are no fresh goods, the machinery to toast the bread is old and dirty.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 877benedettap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 877benedettap,

Thank you for your visit and taking the time to pass on the feedback regarding your stay. We strive to ensure all customers have a great experience at the hotel, however we sincerely apologise that it was not the case on this occasion.

As you are aware during your time here, the hotel is currently undergoing an extensive renovation program; we have contacted all of the travel agents and booking sites back in November 2016 to disclose information about renovations at booking time. We are sorry that you were not informed of the current renovation prior to your stay.

Please note that now that the weather is starting to warm up, our central hydronic heating system in the economy rooms has been turned off to prevent some rooms from overheating; however, portable heaters are available on request. We apologise if it did not meet your expectations.


Once again we appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback and apologise your experience was not a positive one.

Kind regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

First of all the location of this hotel is superb. We enjoyed the tram ride and the stations were just at stone throwing distances. The rooms are spacious enough. The breakfast is also good but without any eggs or bacons, for that one has to upgrade by paying $6. Nearby restaurants of different cuisine are available too. Should mention about the staffs, they're really helpful.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sudipk77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear sudipk77,

Thank you for your review and great rating following your recent stay, we do appreciate it.

Glad to read you found your room spacious and that our location worked out very well for you.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018 via mobile

Stayed for five nights, allocated one of the refurbished rooms which are great so ask for one of them on checkin. Rest of the hotel looked a little tired. Breakfast included was basic, would be good to see some croissants or muffins on offer. Staff very friendly and accommodating.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mjcleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Mjcleeds,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Glad to read that you enjoyed our refurbished rooms and found the staff friendly and welcoming.

Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast offering, we are following up with our Café staff on your comments.
Once again, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention and hope we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

This was a good hotel , central for everything room was spotless bed comfy and clean , would have given five stars but after traveling for almost twenty four hours from Scotland we arrived at seven thirty A M and were told we couldn't access our room till one o'clock in the afternoon , after travelling for so long all we wanted was showered and rest but had to hang around the city for five hours .

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Thank you for your thoughts and comments on your recent stay. We appreciate that you found the hotel location and cleanliness to be excellent.

We are sorry that we could not accommodate an early check in this time as the hotel was busy. Unfortunately 10am is the time that we need guests to vacate the room so that it can be cleaned in time for our 1pm check in.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to seeing you again on your future visit to Melbourne.

Sincerely,

Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

The hotel is one the several good choices for accommodation if you are staying downtown Melbourne. Many attractions are within a walking distance, and the train station is right around the corner. You can't miss it."

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank gutenfilho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibiskingsgatehotel, Manager at ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. We are glad to read that you made the most of our convenient location and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews