We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,782)
Filter reviews
2,782 results
Traveller rating
732
1,269
558
139
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
732
1,269
558
139
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cocoon great location soul cafe two double beds david jones central location bourke st mall the heart of the city a bit tired valet parking buffet breakfast your doorstep room was spacious street noise tram stop public transport buskers
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,782 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Tired old rooms, lots of external noise, poor internet connectivity, lots of internal noise - construction noise during the day as they are updating rooms. No mention of this at the time of booking and still happy to charge usual rates!

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Steve J
Thank you for staying with us and for providing review.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences experienced on your recent stay due to our current refurbishments. We endeavor to be transparent with our refurbishment by putting a notice about it on our website and ACCOR Hotels website as well as the popular third party websites.
If I can restore your faith in us in the future please contact me so I can help you make plans. Once again please accept my apology.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After a bungle on my part with the reservation.... the front office staff were more than helpful.
Fantastic service, staff and breakfast.
Clean, spacious room.
In the centre of Melbourne with quick easy access to everything.
Definitely will be coming back

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Daydream36578919157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Daydream36578919157
Thank you for yourfeedback.
I am so glad that despite the bungle with the reservation, the ret of your stay was enjoyable.
We look forward to your next visits and please do not hesitate to let us know if we can be of any further assistance.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a Fabulous surprise to be greeted by the lovely Nick Phillips ( Customer Relations) who remembered that we would be back this weekend after seeing us in Sept. Then to be gifted with a delicious bottle of champas, chockies, biscuits & free bfast!!! We were the Guests of the Week. Stoked!!!! What a Terrific idea.
The refurbished rooms here are the best we’ve stayed in in Melbourne CBD for the $. Open plan, spacious and luxurious. Had a great sleep on the comfy bed too. Always a bonus when finding a home away from home.
Thanks again to Nick & James Muscat (GM)
We are truly thankful. We have had a Wonderful stay and we will definitely be back again when next in Melbourne. Thanks.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lisa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Lisa v,
Thank you very much for once again sharing your positive experience on this channel.
We are so over the moon that you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us and Nick remembered your passing comments back then about returning back to our hotel in November.
We appreciate your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Although we were booked into one of the refurbished rooms at the Swanston, we were upgraded. This corner room on the 12 th floor was superb. The staff as usual were just so helpful, especially the Staff member who rescued us from the long wait to check out. The valet parking attendants were also great.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Elizabeth S,
Thank you for sharing your recent positive experience with us.
We appreciate your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews