We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,467)
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveller rating
1,166
1,006
217
54
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,166
1,006
217
54
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop great location apartment hotel serviced apartment david jones high floor would definitely stay here again central location small kitchen brick wall one bedroom apartment living area stayed for nights staff at reception free tram room was spacious comfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The location of this hotel is excellent. Walking distance to many great restaurants and shops.

Good sized apartment and well fitted out kitchen. It was clean, well maintained and tidy.

Friendly staff at checkin.

Despite the above, there were a few things that lose marks for the property.

The major let down for me was the lack of any housekeeping on the weekend. It seems extraordinary that at the room rate being charged there is no servicing of the room on a Sunday. In our case, staying Saturday and Sunday night this meant that the room was not serviced at all. Certainly not what I would expect from a property that bills itself as "4.5 star".

When checking in, we were told that we had booked as "VIP" guests. Because of this they would normally upgrade our room as a bonus. We were then told that as we were already in the top room category there was nothing they could do. I asked if complementary or discount parking might be an option and was flatly told no.

With regard to parking I would also highly recommend booking parking ahead of a stay, as it is very limited.

On the weekend we were there, it also seemed there was a problem with the lifts, with 50% of them out of order. The result was very slow and packed rides up and down. What made this worse is that while one lift appeared to be broken (it happens), another lift seems to have been taken out of service for the convenience of the maintenance staff. I felt this was poor judgment at a busy time.

So overall, a comfortable property but overpriced with regard to the service issues.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinB793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkH9903, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Martin B

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Citadines, both the convenient location as well as our fantastic apartments. At Citadines, all rooms are serviced from Monday to Saturday and on Sunday servicing is by request only. Our policy is to ensure any guests staying over Sunday are informed of this so do apologize if this was not communicating to you during your stay.

Unfortunately our parking garage is limited in terms of space and we are unable to guarantee a space to all guests. However, there is another parking garage next door which we do have a discount arrangement with should we be fully booked.

Martin B, we at Citadines appreciate your feedback regarding our service. Our guest's comments are a vital tool in helping us ensure that we are offering the very best in service that we are able. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.


Kind regards

Mark Hibberd
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 5 nights and we loved it - the room was clean bright airy and had everything. Absolutely loved the beds - just superbly comfy and we had 2 types of pillows which helped with reading and sleeping. Front of house staff were just brilliant so helpful and friendly. The only thing was WiFi in rooms was weak when 2 devices attached but other than that we loved it - will be back- location is excellent. We enjoyed eating at The Mes Hall, the Red pepper for Indian and Self prepared.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkH9903, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi MM,

We are absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Citadines, especially our comfortable new Sealy beds and the fantastic service from our team. Before your next visit, you might consider joining our Ascott Online Advantage programmed so that you can be sure of getting the best possible rate and take advantage of the various discounts that are available

We look forward to your next stay here at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne.



Kind Regards,
Celine
Guest Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

I spent a weekend at the Citadines in Bourke St Melbourne, it's comfortable and close to everything in the city. The bed was very good and the room clean and quite. TV selection limited and the cost of movies I felt was high.I'd go again and recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkH9903, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Vic D,

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and loved the great location of our hotel, and we certainly appreciate the recommendation. Before your next stay with us, we would like to invite you to sign up and become an Ascott Online Advantage Member. This membership allows you access to yearlong discounts and seasonal promotions for all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide, so you can make sure that you are always getting the best possible rate.

We look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.


Kind regards,

Mark Hibberd
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

I had a lovely stay at Citadines on Bourke. On arrival I was delighted to receive a free upgrade to my room. The room was great, spacious with modern and nice furnishings. The kitchenette had a 2 burner stove, microwave and dishwasher and all utensils etc. The location is great just near chinatown, so plenty of places to go out to eat and not far from the shops either. There are plenty of people around and close to multiple tramlines.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Joanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkH9903, Manager at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi Joanne,

We are all very happy to hear that you so enjoyed your stay with us, and thanks for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to your next stay here at Citadines on Bourke.


Kind regards,


Mark Hibberd
Assistant Residence Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We recently stayed at Citadines on Bourke for 5 nights whilst being in Melbourne for the AFL grand final. What a fabulous hotel! We arrived at about 1.30am after our flight was delayed and were greeted by very friendly, efficient reception staff who gave us a warm welcome with a big smile. Check-in was quick and easy. Our room was on the 21st floor with a lovely view over the Melbourne skyline. The room was immaculate, well equipped and had everything needed for a short stay. Although the hotel is on a busy street there was no noise from outside and I have to say that I slept better at the hotel than I do at home as it was so quiet and peaceful! Our room was cleaned every day (except Sunday, which we were advised about on check-in) and everything was replaced on a daily basis and the room was always left looking clean and fresh. Every time we left the hotel or returned we were greeted by the reception staff and made to feel very welcome. There is a tram stop right outside the hotel and also a taxi rank making it very easy to get anywhere within the city. There are numerous places to eat right outside the hotel along with many shops and malls. We were in Melbourne to see the AFL grand final and the hotel is only a short 20 minute walk to the MCG which was very handy. Check-out was quick and easy. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again. To sum up .... friendly staff, immaculate rooms, quick lifts, very central, quiet and a great price! Thank you ..... we will be back :)

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janzreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkH9903, Operations Executive at Citadines on Bourke Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Janzreview,

I am thrilled to see that you have had such an incredible stay at Citadines. Thank you for giving such an in-depth review of your stay and complimenting our staff, I will definitely pass this positive feedback on. It's very convenient to be able to step outside into the heart of Melbourne, or to quickly be whisked away with the tram stop out front. I hope the trip was made even better by your team winning the grand final.

Janzreview, we would like to invite you to become an Ascott Online Advantage Member as you enjoyed your stay so much. Our membership allows you to exclusive access to discounts and promotions at our Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments all around the world. You can make sure that you get the best possible rate for your next visit.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Best regards,

H Mylrea

Operations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews