We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Good host, well set up up but a little pokey and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
71 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 71 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
deharo
Sunshine Coast
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good host, well set up up but a little pokey and out of the way.”
Reviewed 21 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The owners have tried to think of everything and fit it into a smallish space, and have succeeded. Be advised that while the upstairs bedroom is quite spacious everything else including the amenities, is down a steep staircase, so you will be spending most of your time downstairs, and it is quite small with few spaces to put your belongings. The little living area is also not well provided with light either from inside or outside, so if, like me, you are used to a space and light you might feel a bit closed in. Tom is a good host and happy to leave you alone or help or chat whenever you want to need, the garden is a bonus, and the kitchen is well lit and has everything you might need. Good value, but you pay for this by being quite a long way out of town. This might be a bonus if you're heading South.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2016
Hi Judy,
Thank you for your review. The staircase meets the current building code standard which it was required to do for us to become Council approved as a Visitor Accommodation, so it is no steeper than one would expect from any modern dwelling. We have taken up your suggestion and now provide a standard lamp to increase the light in the lounge which, I must say, others have not found an issue. Being only 7Km out of town most of our guests find it surprisingly close in. I guess everything is relative!
kind regards,
Tom and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adlise
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, lovely apartment”
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I spent hours on the internet trying to find the most suitable accommodation I could for 5 nights in Hobart, as part of our two week stay in Tasmania. I was fortunate enough to stumble across 'The Gardens Apartment' on TA. I emailed and got a quick reply and phone call from Tom to arrange our booking and payment. Arriving at the apartment in Taroona, a short 10 minute drive from Hobart CBD, we knew right away we had made the best choice! The apartment is compact, but has everything you need to enjoy your stay. The kitchen is fantastic with european appliances, a coffee pod machine and full cooktop. Tom and his wife provide some great bonus extras of jams, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a few pantry staples to get you started (much appreciated!). The queen bed is upstairs and is very comfortable and has quality bed linen. It does get a little warm upstairs in the summer, but there is a ceiling fan that makes the room more comfortable. The leather chairs in the main room in front of the TV are so comfortable, and are perfect for relaxing after a long day exploring the area. We found this a great base for our day trips. We walked the 6.5kms into Sandy Bay a few times as its all paved pathways and the views of the river are fantastic! Lipscombe Larder has an amazing range of food to complement your stay. We also enjoyed All Thai. We travelled into the CBD a few times and used Argyle St carpark as it seemed more reasonable with fees. There is a bus stop just across the road too. Salamanca market is a must when you visit. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this apartment to other couples, and will definitely stay again if we make it back to Tasmania in the near future. It deserves the 5 star rating that guests have given it!! Thanks Tom, Kind Regards, Lisa & Adam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvonne555...
Brisbane Region, Australia
1 review
“Perfect location to stay in Hobart”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

Many thanks Tom for the great hospitality extended to us on our 10 day stay. Unit was spotless and had all the comforts of home. If visiting Hobart again we would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gennadi k
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Simply perfect”
Reviewed 19 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

What can I say - nicest hosts, attentive, caring, very easy to communicate and to deal with.
The apartment was perfect for our purposes. Very clean, stoked with everything we needed and a few "extras" that we did not expect. All new appliances kept in perfect order.
Location is also very good. Quite, near Derwent river, but within 10 min drive from CBD.
Can't think of a better place for a couple to spend a week in Hobart.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny G
Corlette, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Highly recommend this very comfortable apartment for a visit to Hobart and surrounds”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Gardens Apartment. It was very clean and well designed making it very comfortable. The beautiful gardens make it a peaceful retreat. It's also very well positioned to explore Hobart, the coastal towns to the south and the Huon Valley.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely homely feel of this modern apartment
Liked least: Nothing to not like!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing