We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 19 Blue

19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area Dining and Relaxing
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
19 Blue is in a Lovely Garden!
The Main Living Area
Dining and Relaxing
We Supply a Really Informative Folder of our Area
We Supply Fluffy Bathrobes!
19 Blue has a Great Shower.
Welcoming Wombats!
Eggs for Breakfast?
Parking This Way!
Water View from Verandah
19 Blue Holiday Cottage  is Clearly Signed.
Plenty of Parking out Front
Looking Through an Archway
Just Outside Your Door
Relax on the lovely Deck - Breakfast or a Quiet Read? Deck Chairs Provided.
Meet The Alices - we provide Fresh Eggs!
Black Mountain Parrots Visit the Banksia Tree in the Corner!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Hobart, Greater Hobart, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
garkless
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

19 blue was the perfect base for us discovering southern Tasmania.
From here we did Port Arthur, Hobart, Bruny Island and the Frecinet peninsula.
The house is smashing. Cute little garden, balcony. Cosy lounge with fire and tv, and well stocked kitchen area. We loved cooking our beautiful golden chook eggs and the home baked bread was gorgeous.
The bedroom was well appointed comfy and cosy. Nice hot shower and all the usual bathroom facilities.
There is a good selection of shops just around the corner including bakers, grocers, bottle shop and grocers.
The cottage garden is lovely. Not sure what I would change. Perfect location, perfect couples retreat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for this lovely Review, Gail. It was a pleasure having you and Keith to stay at 19 Blue. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!

Warm Regards,

Your Hosts - Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenland...
North Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“A Little Blue Tasmanian Gem”
Reviewed 25 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

19 Blue is without doubt the perfect holiday home for any couple looking for a comfortable, friendly and convenient stay in the Hobart area. Your hosts make you feel most welcome. Their neat and clean holiday home is welcoming. 19 Blue is a gem that we will visit again and again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very cosy and well located.
Liked least: Nothing. We liked everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2015
Thank you so much for leaving this review Jackie. 19 Blue awaits your return with great pleasure - you were perfect guests!
Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aaeem
San Jose
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great place to stay near Hobart”
Reviewed 17 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Really nice little cottage located close to restaurants and activities without being in the middle of a noisy town. Quiet and comfortable at a very reasonable cost. Breakfast is included in the fridge and the eggs, bacon and bread were excellent as well as the preserves and yogurt. Would definitely return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 May 2015
Thank you so much for going to the trouble to write a Review for 19 Blue. We think it is so convenient for all Southern Tourism destinations and, as you say, away from the bustle of the city.

We love making our guests feel welcome and enjoy providing all those little extras that make it feel like home...................

We would love to see you back again.

Judith & Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
renatasyd...
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fully equipped holiday cottage for 2 in a quiet neighbourhood”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 4 days/3 nights at the end of March 2015. Booking process was very easy, and communication with Judith fast and efficient. If you don't use GPS, Judith will provide detailed directions on how to get to the cottage.

The cottage is in Blackmans Bay, about 35-40 mins drive from Hobart airport, and 20 mins by car from Salamanca. Although there's public transport available, I'd suggest a car, as Blackmans Bay is quite hilly. There's a supermarket nearby, about 2 mins drive from the cottage, and 2 nice restaurants at the beach, Sfuso (Italian) and The Beach. There's also an Indian restaurant around the corner from the waterfront. The area is very pleasant, and I would recommend it instead of staying in Hobart itself, unless you decide not to drive.

The cottage is situated in front of the hosts' house, divided by a nice little garden. Guest parking is between the cottage itself and the garden. There's a sitting room with kitchenette, bathroom with shower and a ceiling heater/fan, and a bedroom.

The kitchen is equipped with a 4-plate electric stove, toaster, sandwich maker, kettle, coffee plunger, a microwave, small fridge with a tiny freezer, an electric fry pan. All cutlery and crockery is supplied, as well as kitchen towels, dish washer liquid, sandwich zip bags, cling wrap, aluminium foil and other stuff for cooking and cleaning. No oven. You will find ground coffee, loose tea, tea bags, instant coffee, jams and spreads, oil, salt, pepper, even pasta. The hosts also supply milk, butter, eggs, small loaf of bread, beautiful bacon, yogurt and stewed fruit for the first 3 breakfasts!

Thanks for the wholegrain bread, and fresh beautiful tomatoes, Judith! Absolutely loved it!

Sitting room has a dining table with chairs, a nice rocker with foot stool, a lounge, TV with DVD/CD player, and an electric heater. There're some throws in case you get cold. You can use WiFi, but signal is weak.

There's also a washer with washing powder supplied by the hosts. If you need shopping bags, even those are available!

Bedroom has a very comfortable queen size bed with beautiful linen and quilt. The pillows are very comfortable as well, and there're 5 or 6 if you need more. There're also electric blankets to warm up your bed, if needed. The heating can be achieved by moving an electric heater from the sitting room, or there's a spare small pedestal heater/fan.

The cottage gets a bit cold in autumn-winter, so uggs are highly commended for those times. Can't comment on how it takes hot (Tasmania style) summer sun, as I don't think there's an aircon there. Be careful not to overload with electricity usage, don't turn on the heating and kettle at the same time! ;o)

And, all of the above is very well priced for what you get!

I would highly recommend this property for a Hobart break. Thank you, Judith and Chris!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
Hello Renata, Thank you so much for writing such an appreciative and detailed Review! We do try to provide a Home Away from Home at 19 Blue and give you all the little things you need to achieve that. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay.

Warm Regards,

Judith& Chris.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChipsBair...
Bairnsdale
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 21 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This unit and the hosts home are situated on a suburban block on a quiet street - delightful setting. The interesting garden gives everyone privacy - no lawns, just garden and trees. Inside the unit is very comfortable and welcoming and spotlessly clean. Your hosts provides breakfast goodies, including a welcoming home made loaf of bread and home made apricot jam.
It is away from the hustle of Hobart and a $3.30 return bus fare for seniors to the capital.
Judith and Chris were genial hosts, and a very special couple. We can't speak more highly of them unobtrusive hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole experience
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing