We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveller rating
123
49
18
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
123
49
18
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews complimentary port battery point historic house beautiful building bed and breakfast spa bath salamanca place cooked breakfast busy road sourdough bread access code sandy bay rd b and b huge bedroom guest lounge fabulous stay off street parking
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 201 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2018

We stayed two nights at the start and one night at the end of our trip to Tasmania. Two different rooms, nicely furnished overall. We had a dripping sink tap in the first room, and the carpets throughout were badly in need of a deep clean. Breakfast was fine, but lacking in choice. Great location an easy walk to the city and harbourside, and local restaurants. Port and chocolates were very nice touch in the evening. Overall a little pricey, and could do with a little more cleanliness and tidying up. We also were aware of building work going on next door during our stays, which wa a little noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Great room and so close to town and Salamanca Point. Room we stayed in was great. Beautiful building and rooms.
Room service/cleaning was also perfect.

Bad news is the TV reception worked sometimes only. No use having the TV at all if it can't receive channels. Wifi is also useless. Had trouble with WiFi most of the time so turned it off and had to use my 4G. Breakfast is OK but no menu. You can't choose and it's over by 9am so don't sleep in. Carpets are terribly stained throughout.
Construction next door so morning hammering was not welcomed.

The place is beautiful but it is on a main road so be prepared for the noisy morning and afternoon peak hour traffic.

We did enjoy our stay as the room was great but won't be back. A few too many negatives with the TV, WiFi, breakfast limitations and road noise.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Primi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed at Gattonside in the first few days of our trip. The location is really handy for Salamanca area and eating etc. The accommodation was clean and comfortable and it was cool to stay in a heritage building. However it was expensive for what it was. Breakfast was hearty and complimentary port and chocolate at night was a nice finish to the day.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

We recently visited Hobart on a four night trip. This establishment was supposedly a luxury Bed and Breakfast.
Our room was okay but nothing special.
Our TV. did not work the first night and we told the woman the next morning....it was not fixed for 3 days!
On the third morning about 4:00 am my husband needed to use the bathroom and we were locked out! Luckily there was a guest toilet downstairs.
All our toiletries and medications were locked in the bathroom, luckily we were not catching an early morning flight.
When we reported thins the next morning a very nice man came to fix the door and the TV, which we hadn't been able to use.
On the morning we left I did talk to a manager from the company who did apologise but I'm sorry, too little, too late.
A very disappointing stay, and will certainly not be recommending Gattonside. Very poor customer service.Louise.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank 897Louise1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

Beautiful heritage listed building close to Salamanca place. Room was very nice. Main issue was that is was quite warm and no A/C with small fan only operating on low speed Suggest a ground floor room in summer. Nice breakfast provided

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
9  Thank gtx1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RedAwnings, Manager at Gattonside Heritage Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Hi gtx1964,

Thank you for your review of Gattonside, it was lovely to read you enjoyed your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again on your next visit to Hobart. Until then, happy travels

Kind regards
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews