We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,147 results
Traveller rating
425
440
166
79
37
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
425
440
166
79
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location bathroom downstairs loft style balcony room mezzanine floor mona ferry fish frenzy washing machine and dryer salamanca place salamanca markets small balcony bars and restaurants living area second bedroom elizabeth st down stairs a great place to stay
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,147 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a wonderful stay at the Somerset. Beautiful views of the harbour from our balcony. Clean, modern apartment with a multitude of restaurants and attractions within walking distance. Whilst you could sometimes hear your neighbours that wasn't an issue for us. Couldn't fault the location especially if you don't have a car. There are a limited number of free Somerset car parks which may be problematic in peak times. We had minor parking issues during the school term. Will be back.

Room tip: Upgrade to a balcony room simply for the view.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9426, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Fiona S,

Thank you tremendously for leaving such lovely feedback for your online community to reference from when considering us for their travels. Our balcony apartments are marvellous and we are very happy to hear you were able to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! You will be glad to know there is even more restaurants, events, etc coming to Hobart for you to enjoy.

For your next trip to the Apple Isle we encourage you to sign up and become and Ascott Online Advantage Member. This membership allows you year-long discounts of 10% off Best Flexible Rates and seasonal promotions discount of up to 50% off Best Flexible Rates at all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide!

Fiona S, it was a pleasure and we thoroughly look forward to welcoming you again soon.


Kind regards,

James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

i was booked into here for two nights for a work commitment and totally loved it.
i have to say first of all the customer service of two young ladies over two days was outstanding !!! fun cheerful and so helpful definatly went the extra mile.
My room 6 was devine. stunning views from every corner view right on the water. upstairs to bedroom mezanine type. Huge bathroom/ laundry with heaters everywhere perfect for the cool snap that greeted me.
spotless and great access to everything Hobart well done i shall return and make sure everyone hears about my experience.

Room tip: room 6 spectacular i thought
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank shaz13_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9426, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Shaz13_11

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we truly appreciate your feedback and are thrilled your had such an amazing experience with our team at Somerset on the Pier. We too agree out view is one to be envied among other travelers in the city and with each room having a view of the water we think you can't go wrong!

Whether it be for work or pleasure you may wish to sign up and become and Ascott Online Advantage Member. This membership allows you year-long discounts of 10% off Best Flexible Rates and seasonal promotions discount of up to 50% off Best Flexible Rates at all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide!

For us in Hobart, this best part is always welcoming our visitors for each and every trip whether is is your 1st or your 50th. For now we say farewell but definitely not goodbye!

We look forward to welcoming you all again soon.

Kind regards,

James H
Residence
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

We absolutely lovely the great location with free parking, friendly staff and easy access to all points of interests of Hobart and around both walking and driving.

Good size spacious room, well serviced, good toilet amenity and the best bit is washing machine and everything ready for you to just do your laundry after day outs!

We did use the pantry and a bit of cooking, other restaurants around are all pretty fantastic.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jenn_Lam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9426, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Jenn_Lam

Thank you very much for sharing your review with us and our ever expanding TripAdvisor community! We are thrilled to hear our amenities such as our washer and dryers, cooking facilities, parking etc were such a convenience to you while staying in Hobart. We too agree these are a must when travelling and we are happy to be able to provide them for guest use.

For your next adventure to the Apple Isle we would love to invite you to sign up and become and Ascott Online Advantage Member. This membership allows you year-long discounts of 10% off Best Flexible Rates and seasonal promotions discount of up to 50% off Best Flexible Rates at all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide!

Jenn_Lam, It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we can not wait to see you again!

Kind regards,

James H
Residence
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Excellent location central to main attractions in Hobart. Very good sized rooms with large comfortable bed, room was very clean and had good amenities. Staff were very friendly & helpful. Excellent WIFI.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9426, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Dear Peter G

As always it is a pleasure to have you stay with us and we thank you for sharing your experience with our online community. We are very happy to hear our location, spacious rooms and friendly staff have continued to delight and make your sty with us at Somerset on the Pier.

Peter we would love to invite you to sign up and become and Ascott Online Advantage Member. This membership allows you year-long discounts of 10% off Best Flexible Rates and seasonal promotions discount of up to 50% off Best Flexible Rates at all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide!

We look forward to welcoming back to Hobart on your next trip!

Kind regards,

James H
Residence
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

This property is all about location rather than amenity and facilities, high priced location low quality the balance. Whilst offered as suitable for 4 adults the apartment was to small. A dining table with 2 chairs, a king bed in a room to small for it, no sink plugs, poor wifi. Kitchen facilities barely adequate. This apartment was in no way a home away from home. Our expectation based on the advertising was totally not met.

Room tip: If there are 4 of you get 2 apartments
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank petermansey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesH9426, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2018

Dear Petermansey,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, it is incredibly disappointing to hear your expectations were not met. The service standards you have received are not indicative of the standards we expect and the suggestions you have made in your direct feedback will be taken on board for further consideration.

As a result, I have emailed you directly and do encourage that on your next visit you contact myself directly, so I may personally assist you. You may wish to extend this by becoming an Ascott Online Advantage member. This free membership allows you year-long discounts of 10% off Best Flexible Rates and seasonal promotions discount of up to 50% off Best Flexible Rates at all Ascott, Citadines and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide.

Petermansey, we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you again on another occasion, raising your stay experience with us.

Kind regards,

James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews