We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Motel 429(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salamanca Wharf Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

RACV/RACT Hobart Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lenna of Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$164
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hadley's Orient Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$202
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$97/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Chancellor Hotel Hobart(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Henry Jones Art Hotel(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$138
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$97
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$117/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Montacute Boutique Bunkhouse(Hobart)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,108)
Filter reviews
1,108 results
Traveller rating
413
420
163
78
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
413
420
163
78
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbathroom downstairsgreat locationbalcony roommezzanine floormona ferryfish frenzysplit levelsalamanca placewashing machine and dryersalamanca marketssmall balconyrestaurants and barsliving areaguest loungesecond bedroomdown stairselizabeth street
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 1,108 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

Location is awesome. On the water. Endless selection of nearby restaurants.

Spacious accommodation which includes washer and dryer in the suite.

Upstairs lift for sleeping takes getting used to but that’s fine.

Warm and friendly staff.

Very clean.

Nothing negative for us.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank TAMAN1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Taman1951,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your experience with us at Somerset on the Pier! Our ever-expanding TripAdvisor community will certainly appreciate your feedback as much as we do.

We are thrilled our spacious apartments engulfed in the beauty of Hobart's waterfront was a delight for you when traveling to the Apple Isle. It is our hope you were able to take home some of the Tasmanian delicacies and snap up some great shots while you were here!

For your next adventure, we invite you to sign up and become an Ascott Online Advantage Member. As a member, you can enjoy 10% off our Best Flexible Rates all year round as well as exclusive access to offers at all Ascott, Citadines, and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide.

Taman1951, we thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback, we truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The outlook and location were perfect except on the Saturday night you got all the music blasting from venues nearby. On the negative you could hear everything in the adjoining apartment including conversations and blinds opening and closing. In other words it got worse. Sleeping was a nightmare due to doors banging and noisy neighbours. A noisy heater was turned on to tune out the next apartment but it only heated up the tiny apartment. We were extremely disappointed and would never go back.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mc0rnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, Front Office Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2018

Dear Mc0rnell,

We thank you for sharing your feedback, due to our phenomenal location on Hobart's bustling waterfront we are at times subject to some undue noise from surrounding businesses and do apologise your expectations were not met. All feedback we receive is valuable to us as we are always looking at ways to improve guest experience, we do appreciate you taking the time to outline areas for us to look at improving moving forward.

Whilst we understand it has not helped during your stay please be assured that we are taking your feedback on board. We have engaged a consultant to provide ways for us to upgrade our noise barriers in refurbishment negations ensuring that we are proving value and comfort for our guests.

Regrettably we are unable to identify you to speak with you directly, If you would like to speak further about the above please feel free to contact me at any time on 03 6220 6600.

Kind Regards


James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2018 via mobile

Generally poor value for money and for families.
No Wi-Fi working during our stay.
Heater not working in our room.
Cable TV working only intermittently.
No guaranteed parking.
Couldn't check in as 'the system was down'.

The location is great but the hotel has clearly seen better days. $3.50 for a tiny condiment jar of honey? Haven't seen that for a long time.

I'm sure the hotel will say 'if only you had told us' but I shouldn't have to.

I would avoid.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Craig G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Good morning Criag G,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear of your most recent experience with us while staying in Hobart and can not apologise enough your expectations were not met. We certainly do our utmost to ensure the concerns stated are not an issue when staying with us, however, on occasion we do experience issues such as the ones you have noted due to unexpected and unavoidable local factors outside of our control.

Craig, I am unable to contact you directly as you have stipulated you do not wish to have your information used for these purposes when checking in. I would however appreciate a moment of your time should you wish to speak with me directly and discuss the concerns you had. I can be contacted directly via james.hart@the-ascott.com or via phone on 03 6220 6600 should you have a few moments you are happy to spare.

I look forward to the possibility of hearing from you soon.

Kind Regards,

James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

What a great position, felt like we were on a ship! Nice staff, hotel decor good has a bar and restaurant attached bar is small only hi stools available inside so not as comfortable as it could be. Room good nice lounge/ kitchen /bathroom area however bedroom is above on mezzanine level with no bathroom so had to walk downstairs during night--suggest for older guests to upgrade. parking was limited and could be a problem in busy times but no problem in May (winter)

Stayed: May 2018
Thank Ray19491969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Ray19491969,

Thank you so much for sharing your feedback with our ever-expanding TripAdvisor community! We would be a bit worried if we dropped into the ocean and became a ship but we can all dream and what a place to do it! In addition to this we are always pleased that our fabulous teams have made such an impact on your stay and you were able to thoroughly relax in our spacious apartments.

We do acknowledge not everyone is comfortable with only one bathroom in our one-bedroom apartments. For your next visit, you may wish to experience one of our Family Apartments boasting an additional ensuite on the upper mezzanine for your convenience. Ray, we would love to invite you to sign up and become an Ascott Online Advantage Member. As a member, you can enjoy 10% off our Best Flexible Rates all year round as well as exclusive access to offers at all Ascott, Citadines, and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide.

Thank you again Ray for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you next time!

Kind regards,

James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier Hobart

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018 via mobile

Great modern apartments in a perfect location - right between Salamanca Place and Constitution Dock. Comfy beds. The parking situation is terrible though so beware if you have a car. We were unlucky enough to have a family as neighbours and there is no sound proofing whatsoever so we heard every noise the baby and her parents made from 5am onwards. The bathroom downstairs from the bedroom is a bit of a pain.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank laurenross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H, General Manager at Somerset on the Pier Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2018

Dear Laurenross,

Thank you for sharing your feedback via TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear our location; modern feel apartments and premium bedding were of such a convenience and comfort to you. We do however apologise you were subject to some undue noise by your neighbours while staying with us, we do our very best to ensure each and every guest is accommodated comfortably throughout your stay and apologise we fell short on your expectations. We do also note your comments regarding parking, due to our location we are limited to permanent Somerset spaces during festival periods and do hope you were able to see the team for further instructions.

Laurenross, we do hope we have another opportunity to welcome you to Hobart, raisin your stay experience. For your next visit you may wish to experience one of our family apartments, boasting an additional bathroom on the upper level and extra space for convenience. We would love to invite you to sign up and become an Ascott Online Advantage Member to experience this on your next trip. As a member, you can enjoy 10% off our Best Flexible Rates all year round as well as exclusive access to offers at all Ascott, Citadines, and Somerset serviced apartments worldwide.


Kind Regards
James H
Residence Manager
Somerset on the Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews