We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveller rating
710
799
197
47
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
710
799
197
47
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wool store great location separate toilet washer and dryer free parking full kitchen constitution dock macquarie street full buffet stay there again salamanca place walking distance salamanca markets an easy walk large room reception staff central hobart
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

We had a studio apartment which was fantastic. A full kitchen and washing machine and dryer, which makes it more affordable if you are there for a longer stay. Only a short walk down to the pier and. Staff were fantastic. Terrific view of the tradies on the building site next door!!!!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mana190816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Mana190816
Thank you for your perfect score review! We are thrilled you enjoyed a wonderful experience with us from our facilities, location and our accommodating staff.
We hope to welcome you back upon a future visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

Our family went down to Hobart for a week in the winter holidays. After looking at various places we decided to book a 2 bedroom apartment in The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel.

Checking in was uncomplicated and when I asked about whether a trundle bed is provided (for our third child) they realised that they hadn’t put one in for us even though I had indicated on our booking that we had 3 children. However, a trundle bed was delivered to our apartment within an hour of us checking in.

Our apartment looked just like the photos on the website, the kitchen, dinning and living room was spacious enough for the 5 of us. It was great having a full kitchen rather than a kitchenette and there was enough crockery and cutlery for 6 people. There was no dish rack but there was a dishwasher and they provided single use packets of dishwasher powder. The bathroom and bedrooms were also spacious, the 2nd bedroom managed to fit 3 beds (2 singles and the trundle) with no problems. It was very nice having 2 toilets, one in the bathroom (next to the separate bathtub) and the other in it’s own little room. Another great feature, especially for a family was the little laundry room with a washing machine and a dryer above it and they provided single use packets of laundry powder.

Our apartment was serviced every day with the housekeeper doing a great job making the beds, emptying rubbish bins, clearing away old towels and replenishing tea bags/hot chocolate packets/dishwasher powder packets/laundry powder packets. Thank you to our 2 house keepers for looking after us.

We rented a car for the week and car parking is provided for $10 a night, something I didn’t realise until check in. I had looked on the website about a week before we left about carparking and saw we had to call the hotel to book and assumed it was complimentary. Found out it wasn’t but $10 to park your car in their space for 24 hours is still pretty good.

The location of The Old Woolstore was fantastic, a 5 minute walk down to the waterfront and where Mures and Flippers are. We walked to Salamanca Market on Saturday morning, it took about 15 minutes. The city shops were a short 5 minutes walk west.

There is a restaurant on site but we didn’t use it especially since we had a full kitchen.

We had a great time in Hobart and the apartment was a lovely and cosy place to relax and sleep. A definite recommendation for families coming to Hobart.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Vi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2018

Dear Vi N
Thank you very much for leaving your review and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. Our entire team works hard to ensure our guests are happy and it's lovely to hear you enjoyed our facilities, location and our friendly team members could make your stay a pleasant one.
Kind Regards
Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised on arrival to be upgraded to a more spacious room. Unfortunately the bed wasn't real comfy! The staff were most helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our package but it didn't really impress us - pretty standard fare. Location was great to walk into Salamanca markets. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Marts2713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2018

Dear Marts2713
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and feedback. It's great to hear we were able to have you upgraded to a more spacious room and that you found our team members friendly and accommodating.
Sorry to hear you did not find your bed completely luxurious, please note we offer bed boards and mattress toppers upon request at reception, understanding everyone has a different bed preference.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Our 'go to' hotel when we head to hobart - excellent apartments - clean, warm and easy to access. Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment which was well suited to our needs and close to salamanca and town only a short walk away

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear Nicole,
We appreciate your wonderful review and that we are your go to hotel, thank you!
So pleased you enjoyed our clean and cosy rooms and our convenient location to Hobart's attractions.
We look forward to welcoming you upon your next visit.
Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here for the first time. I was in Hobart for business. Location is good. Hotel is ok, very basic. Didn’t eat here but we did have a drink in the bar which unfortunately is very small and tucked away down the back so it’s not very welcoming.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank O_Norton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy M, Guest Relations Manager at The Old Woolstore Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2018

Dear O_Norton,
Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you found our location convenient and overall enjoyed an Ok stay.
We are sorry to hear you found our property basic and historic bar area not very welcoming. Our bar is located directly next to our restaurant with additional access internally to each. Refurbishment and upgrades are an ongoing process and we appreciate your feedback.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews