We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (823)
Filter reviews
823 results
Traveller rating
154
295
177
87
110
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
154
295
177
87
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingfootball ovalelizabeth streetold buildingsitting roomquiet locationold world charmlarge roombed was very comfortablewould stay againbreakfast was includedcity centrehire carfree parkingmicrowaveloungemanor
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 823 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel is in a generally quiet area, except for a bit of traffic noise on week day mornings. It was reasonably clean and well maintained.
If you have mobility issues or don’t like to walk too far from your car I would consider speaking to staff about which room to book. The rooms are in separate buildings around the grounds, some of which are not near the car park.
Unless you specifically want a microwave, as we did, I would suggest giving the antique rooms a miss. There was no bedside table and lamp on one side of the bed, meaning one of us had no where to put books etc and had to get up to turn the overhead light off. The curtains were almost impossible to open and close as they were very high and stuck to the curtain rail when you tried to pull them across, and the high bed end meant you couldn’t see the tv from the bed, despite being very close. What is described as a suite is really just a good sized room.
There was also no ‘do not disturb sign’ or information in the room about facilities/breakfast etc - all the things you might expect from a branded hotel chain. Otherwise a pleasant experience.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SAnnaK900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear SAnnak900,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.
All information about the hotel facilities is provided on check in

Thank you
Catherine D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018

Large bedroom area with a separate sitting area (TV only in bedroom). Very good spacious bathroom. Comfortable king size bed - disappointing that there is a bedside lamp on one side only. Very good breakfast in quantity, quality and service. Good off street parking. Takes half an hour to complete the down hill walk into the city.
Reasonable service on the free WiFi. Would be good to have a folder in the room to clearly highlight WiFi, access to micro wave cooking gear and meal details - also showing some local highlights (and location of the nearest shops.) Quiet rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grstoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi grstoward,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on you recent stay with us

Sounds like you had a nice time in Hobart exploring and a comfortable stay at Rydges.

Many Thanks
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

Really enjoyed our stay here. The room we stayed in had a split bedrooms, so parents could have some space to themselves. There was a microwave which was great as it meant we could heat up some meals. The location is not near Hobart CBD so if you don't have a car it might be a bit difficult but on the plus side plenty of parking for you. would definitely stay here again. There is a onsite coin operated laundry as well.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AstroboyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear AstroboyAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us at Rydges Hobart. Sounds like you had a lovely family holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Many Thanks
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

Good place stay as long as they get the electronic key working properly had to change my twice in a 3 day stay
Apart from that the room was amazing one of the best of stay in 10 our 10 dining and bar equally as good great fast check in and out these people were right on there game no doubt about it good view of the footy ground well it could worse I like I’ll give them 4 stars just fix your key system

Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
Thank W4412NXgeorger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi W4412NXgeorger,

Thank you for your review. Sincere apologies in regards to your key, will investigate further as this is not a normal occurrence.

Thank you will pass on the lovely comments to the food and beverage team.

Many Thanks
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here prior to flying out, very large room with ample parking. Reasonably priced and clean. Easy check in and friendly staff. Would definitely recommend. We have two kids who slept on a sofa bed which was seperate from the main room which made getting them to sleep easy.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine D, Manager at Rydges Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear Nigel J,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your feedback on your recent stay with us.
So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay as a family and were comfortable in our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges Hobart.

Many Thanks
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews