We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,336)
Filter reviews
1,336 results
Traveller rating
724
531
62
8
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
724
531
62
8
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mini bar shop prices busy roundabout free parking top floor buffet breakfast botanical gardens large tv light sleeper good size full buffet sized bed city centre within walking distance hotel restaurant room was spacious salamanca markets
Filter
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 1,336 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Had a great large comfortable room . No noise from traffic at all and located in easy walking distance to most things.Restaurant had great food for dinner and staff were all very friendly. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017

We stayed at the Fountainside Hotel for 3 nights for Dark Mofo and found the hotel to be wonderful. Even though the location of the hotel is on the side of a roundabout and we had a room facing the roundabout we didn’t find the noise an issue at all.
It was close (walking distance) to all the things we wanted to see and do plus the added bonus of onsite parking.
Our room was really big with a wonderful size bathroom and lots of space for toiletries (sadly missing in some places we have stayed).
We would definitely recommend the Fountainside and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SP5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

My wife and I spent 7 nights here when starting our holiday in Tasmania. It is a fantastic affordable hotel. Good size rooms with comfortable kingsize bed, with large ensuite and shower. All rooms are facing north, so plenty of sunshine and natural light into the room. A mini bar feature with amazing prices. All the products are at normal shop pricing, so there's not the usual panic about the price if you decide to grab a drink or chocolate, plus 2 bottles of complimentary water each day. The restaurant food is great quality and taste with a choice of 8 or 9 main, a salad bar and a daily soup which would suit just about everyone, plus small size wine bottles, around 2 glasses in each for $4. Great value as a dinner for 2 plus a couple of glasses of wine for around $50 in total.
They also have around 20-25 bays of car parks situated around the hotel which is free for hotel guests which is great if you have a car rental Most other hotels we looked at were charging between $10 and $15 per night on top of the normal room rate.
The nowadays obligatory Foxtel and free wifi is available with seemingly no download limits, although we only were using our mobile phones and not downloading movies.
There is also a coin operated laundry if you are staying a few nights and want fresh clothes for the rest of your trip.
This is our second stay at the hotel, the last round 4 years ago, it's great to see that they have maintained the same fantastic standard. The hotel is literally a 10 min walk to the dock area and Salamanca markets and a 5 minute walk to the CBD.
Really could not fault the hotel in any way and can see why it gets so many favourable reviews.
Will definitely stay there again on out next trip.

Room Tip: Its a 6 floor hotel, probably wise to ask for a room on the 4th floor or above if low level traffic noise annoys you.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Quad room during our one week holiday last week.
The size of the room is big enough for 4 of us. We were surprised that there is well equipped kitchenette which we could prepare our meals and a cozy corner to eat.

It is within walking distance to the shopping area and supermarket and eateries.
Walking to Harbour front & Salamanca Place is easy too.

It is a great hotel which I will highly recommend

Stayed: June 2017
Thank simson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Greeted at reception by Megan, who was very friendly and helpful. The room was a decent size and well equipped although there was a large step into the room which was unexpected and annoying. We had two suitcase stands which we rarely come across but seems a good idea for a double room.
The restaurant was reasonable and well priced. We were served by friendly Megan. There was no wine list but you could choose from a rack of bottles at a reasonable price. Beer was very reasonably priced in the mini bar at 3$ for decent beer.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johndpensioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews