We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (337)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
121
95
71
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
95
71
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews macquarie street huge room heritage building beautiful old building hot shower continental breakfast salamanca place double glazing within walking distance salamanca markets sitting room spacious rooms a lovely stay checking out port arthur great spot manor
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Cute hotel that captures the old era yet gives modern facilities. Rooms are huge and well equipped. We had a front room but with double glazing of windows, this reduced traffic noise. Location is perfect within walking distance of Battery Point and lots of good restaurants. Beds were comfortable.

Room tip: Being central to city, you have to expect some road noise. We were happy with front room with double window glazing. Room was enormous.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed in standard room for 3 nights. Staff was nice and helpful. Room was big but showing some age. Reception area was specious and we have there free breakfast daily. Breakfast was basic, but fresh and nicely presented.
It near to centre, within walking distance to any major sites. There is small parking onsite that you can book in advance.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 71anetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Heritage building well located. Nice big bed and decent size room. Clean fluffy towels. Those are the good points. The negative is that this hotel is run on the cheap. The enquire had a vanity that looked out of fashion in the 80s. The bowl was cracked on its plastic surface and brown sludge oozed out of the hot tap. The toilet had a plastic cistern and anot acrylic seat. I wouldn't have this in my home so why would I in my home from home. The grout in the shower was black. Toiletries were horridly cheap and looked refilled. Some ceiling paint was peeling. The kettle was the cheapest plastic thing possible. The cups were from K Mart. The light fittings had a mixture of bulbs and what is that tacky fan? Seriously the room looked like it was furnished from an opportunity shop. There is a fine line between shabby chic and shabby. Well this place leapt over it. Plus what on earth is that continual vibration you can feel through the walls? Would I stay here again. NO. Plus learn to make coffee.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwifoxMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights including parking and we thought it was good value - the breakfast is free and amazingly good. Location is brilliant on Macquarie St near to park and Salamanca Place. We had room 4 which is huge - a bit disconcerting to find that what you think is s window onto the street is actually a corridor (!!) with plenty of storage space, comfy tho not huge bed and good hot shower.
The whole place is s bit gloomy focusing on the predominance of black walls and furniture, but the good position, great breakfast and lovely staff make up for that.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank keenwalker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

This hotel is nice and close to the CBD within walking distance. The rooms are a little old, however, nice and roomy. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to do some sorting with my luggage and this was greatly appreciated. Yes, there were no staff after 5pm, but if no issues, then this isnt a problem at all. I would definitely stay here again, as the service is so much more personal, than the large chain hotels. thanks for a lovely stay

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skitch16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews