We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
9
25
19
9
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
25
19
9
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main casino sandy bay ground floor rooms are comfortable a great stay facilities conference accommodation gym australia
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Staff were excellent. Room was clean and comfortable although a little dated. It had a safe which was the first one we saw in Tasmania BUT it was broken :) Toilet was hard to flush and was very annoying. Additional toilet paper needed to be called for after the room was serviced which was a bit disappointing.
Room was upstairs and there are no lifts so those who require lifts should ask for a ground floor unit. Parking was in a carpark at the back of the complex which was a bit far in inclement weather. It was quite bizarre that despite security entry to the complex and to the rooms the cleaning staff jacked open the front door and then left it open all day. However, the location at Sandy Bay was great with close access to the shops and the Wrest Point facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JandPF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Working around TAS, and a corporate booking at this hotel. The guy at the reception was very pleasant. Much to my surprise, I opened the door to my room to find that I'd been (upgraded?) allocated a mini-suite....very nice indeed.

Sadly, all I had time for was to have a shower and hit the bed for the night, but it was a comfortable quiet night.

A criticism....the access to the accommodation part is ill-defined and difficult to locate, despite the directions from a distant reception counter. Perhaps a small printed map hand-out at reception would help resolve this issue?

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pharrkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018

Black hair on pillow and sheets when we arrived
Fridge smell was atrocious, cleaner was advised however nothing done to fix the
problem.
when the fridge door was left open for a second the foul air lingered in the room

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Stewart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

We booked 2 nights in the Wrest Point Motor Inn, Room 520. This is directly adjacent to the main Casino Tower Section, and is a two level wing. It's only marketed as 3 and a half star, and is cheaper than the main tower rooms. We were on the ground level, which has easy access, and is just a stroll over to the casino. The rooms are dated though, and you have to be into gaudy colours, the walls are mustard yellow, and the curtains were blood orange. The shower is a step up bath type, not a walk in shower, which may be problematic for the elderly or disabled. Overall I was happy with the stay, and the reasonable price I paid. But it may be time for the casino to refurbish them.
Wrest Point Casino is in Sandy Bay, which is about a 10 minute drive into the Hobart CBD.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieGlennB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Stayed over New Year 2016-17. Accommodation was scarce in Hobart and this was available, Great move to book in. Polite friendly staff and nothing was too much. Terrific room service and right next to Casino. Public transport at the front door.

Stayed: March 2017
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews