We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
3
11
7
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
11
7
8
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

Located just 2 minutes walk from Sandy Bay shopping area this Colonial style Federation Cottage offers several self contained ensuite rooms. We found ours to be a little smaller than expected, however reasonably well appointed and clean. Off street parking is provided at the back of the property for guests. Large double bed, ensuite with spa bath, Flat screen TV, fridge, toaster, microwave, tea and coffee making facilities, (no breakfast is served here). The place is in need of renovation and this is happening in 2018. We found it to be a little overpriced, however we were here during Sydney to Hobart and Taste Tasmania festival, which is peak period for Hobart.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Streakyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

We stayed in this what looks a quaint little heritage cottage in a great location just a few days ago. It is overpriced at $155 per night for a king spa room...the room had no air conditioning, the curtains were not block out so the sun was shining in at 5.30 in the morning and there was a window in the door to which the curtains/blinds were too small hence a gap along one side. The furnishings appeared to be cheap second hand and in bad condition with handles missing and drawers not opening properly. A recess with a curtain was our wardrobe which also hid a fridge and microwave. Not sure if the microwave or toaster worked. Also had a spa but not sure if this worked as we did not spend enough time in the room for obvious reasons. The carpet was coming away at the bathroom door from the metal stripping hence leave sharp nails exposed. The place was generally dirty, the king bed was hard and 2 singles pushed together and the sheets and towels did not feel clean either. The shower was in the spa with no curtain and little ventilation so when you had a shower everything got damp. I do not mind old heritage style, but this was very tired old and not very clean and the whole place is in desparate need of renovation and updating to make it more comfortable for guests. We went with another couple and they have the same opinion...I am sorry but I would not recommend this to anyone and certainly would not stay there again. The only thing good about it was the location, but overpriced rooms for what they are. Go elsewhere !!!!

Room tip: Don't stay there .... as you will be disappointed at the overpriced rooms.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mischi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Had a very nice stay. Room was very comfortable, well heated and bright and sunny. Very clean and homely and had everything we needed. Location only minutes from the centre of Sandy Bay and a short distance from the city. Manager and staff were very welcoming. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

The location is alright. It's expensive considering it doesn't include breakfast, the small fan heater doesn't work in the large room, the towels were stained / dirty and the wifi code was out of date. Seriously you can stay at many other places for the same price.

Date of stay: July 2017
2  Thank 997elizag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic location! Accomodation was quaint and cheery, room was lovely, coffee shop just across the street and a very nice Indian restaurant couple of doors down, having parking at premises was an advantage. Easy walk to Salamanca markets, would strongly recommend this lovely B&B

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank susie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews