We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
172
167
69
15
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
167
69
15
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews asian fusion great pool pool and sauna macquarie street rooms are small rain shower basic amenities higher floor restaurant downstairs ironing board breakfast included great shower king room small fridge per night shower head two blocks
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This conveniently located hotel has nice, practical rooms and a great buffet breakfast (with very friendly staff). It could have earned a 4 rating from me if it wasn't for the poor management judgment to have rooms on the first floor facing the street. This street is not just any Hobart street, its the main road connecting southern Tasmania with the north so its busy. Very busy including of course trucks with their engine breaks on going down hill at 5.30 in the morning. That whole first floor facing the Macquarie Street is not suited for living. Please take notice.

Room tip: Do not accept a room on the first floor facing Macquarie Street.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kalle46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hb040-sm, Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi kalle46,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast in Mr Good Guy Bar + Asian Kitchen. It's also great to hear our team looked after you with that friendly Tasmanian service. I am sorry to hear that the experience in our Standard rooms did not meet your expectations. And yes agree at certain times of the day Hobart’s traffic can be busy. Should you choose to stay with us again in the future, I would recommend looking at our Superior or Deluxe rooms which offer guaranteed high floors and hopefully give you a better experience. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018

The Ibis hotel is new and modern inside.
Staff at reception were also very helpful.
Bedroom was fairly small, but reasonable for a more budget style hotel.
Restaurant/bar staff were very good and the menu had an Asian feel to it, but a little bit of everything.
Breakfast was very standard hotel breakfast but the coffee was good.
Down side to the hotel is parking. They have parking underneath the hotel but limited, so there is an off site parking which is very tight even for a medium size car.
Watch the time of the car park as it does not open until 7am which we did not know and made us very late for a meeting in Launceston, the hotel did manage to get some to open up earlier but would have helped to know in advance.
Overall a good experience

Room tip: High floor is better as view lower down is not great
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hb040-sm, Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi Andy W,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m glad you enjoyed our great restaurant Mr Good Guy Bar+ Asian Kitchen and were happy with the hotel facilities and friendly staff. I’m sorry to hear about the experience you had with the off-site parking. I will pass your feedback onto the team to ensure opening times are clearly explained to avoid any issues in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Great modern and sparkling clean place to stay right in the centre of Hobart. Friendly, efficient and helpful staff and a great little restaurant downstairs made for a convenient, relaxing and pleasant stay.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Dorota T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hb040-sm, Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi Dorota T
Thanks for such a fantastic review! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We are so proud of our hotel and our friendly staff. We look forward to the next time you are here for a visit and looking for a relaxing stay. Kind regards, Janine Livingston, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2018

We stayed two nights in a Upper floor room and paid the extra for it.
Room was ok. nothing special , however they had a Laundry that we used that helped, as we were travelling around Tassie, stopping when we could.
We had breakfast foe 2 included in our price of $ 496.00 for the two nights, and we used the take-away service from their restaurant downstairs for Dinner, bit pricy for what you get-Chinese. Bit far for restaurants if you want to eat out: also luckily we got the last car spot downstairs for both nights BUT you have to pay $20 a night!

Room tip: Look outside the City centre if you have a car.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hb040-sm, Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2018

Hi Philip P,
Thank you for your review. I’m glad you enjoyed our central location and that you took advantage of our guest laundry. Our location certainly makes it easy to access all the good things Hobart has to offer. While our restaurant does offer an Asian Street food inspired menu, our chef is always happy to make amendments to the items on the menu to accommodate most dietary requests. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future.
Kind regards,
Janine Livingston
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2018 via mobile

All staff were excellent but particularly Georgia on reception - it makes all the difference.
Hotel perfect location for a one night stay.
Great pool - 25 metre+ so excellent for swimming laps.
Comfy beds and rooms very clean.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank kirstyg01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hb040-sm, Manager at Ibis Styles Hobart, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2018

Hi kristyg01,
Thanks for such a fantastic review! We’re so glad to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel- that’s exactly what we aim for. It's great to hear our team and especially Georgia looked after you with that friendly Tasmanian service. I agree the pool is amazing! We look forward to welcoming you next time you visit Hobart. Kind regards, Janine Livingston, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews