We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Josephine's Gallery and Kangaroo Orphanage
Save
Review Highlights
Not just for the kids ...

We called ahead thinking we have to make reservations ( and because it was Easter weekend ). Our... read more

Reviewed 16 April 2021
Bart_Deh
,
Melbourne, Australia
Yes baby kangaroos!

Local art, baby kangaroos and the most lovely owners. This place deserves a visit, if only to chat... read more

Reviewed 3 January 2020
vivianacalmasini
via mobile
Read all 295 reviews
  
Reviews (295)
Filter reviews
295 results
Traveller rating
180
87
23
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
87
23
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews baby kangaroos local art the owner wealth of information on display joey animals artists donation cuddle stories jewelry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 295 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2021

We called ahead thinking we have to make reservations ( and because it was Easter weekend ). Our group of 4 got in the next day without any problem. The owner is very entertaining and has a few good stories. The animals appear to be well treated, and are not afraid to approach visitors so it is a close-up experience.
During our visit, there was a local Aboriginal artist ( apparently quite famous ) exhibiting and working in the Gallery, which made for a nice extra

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Bart_Deh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2020 via mobile

Slid open the unlocked door with a Please Open sign on it and started looking at the art. After 5 mins a man came and aggressively confronted us “what are you f***ing doing in here, we’re closed”. Then continued to be rude even when we pointed out to him the Please Open sign and nothing to suggest they were closed (mid morning on a Thursday). Soured our view of the town. Suggest passing this place by.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 January 2020 via mobile

Local art, baby kangaroos and the most lovely owners. This place deserves a visit, if only to chat to the owners and hear all they do for the injured wildlife around here. Great work.

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank vivianacalmasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 November 2019 via mobile

Judy our guide was a wealth of information and talked non stop about the life of the kangaroo. Particularly interesting was the female reproductive system. This one you will have to come and hear about yourself or look it up. We fed a fully grown kangaroo and the highlight of course was nursing a joey who was 4 months old.

There is an art gallery and a jewellry store to look at.

Entry us by donation.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Jayne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2019

A great place to visit. Learnt loads about Kangaroos and was able to meet a little joey. Also had a great selection of art work on display.

Date of experience: November 2019
1  Thank JennyBr0
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews