We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and Beautiful Stay Amongst the Trees”
other travellers have booked this property
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Award Winning Salt Water Infinity Swimming Pool!
Master Bedroom with Balcony
Award winning salt water infinity pool by night
Master bedroom
Luxury spa bath
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Freshwater swimming a short walk from the front door
Beautiful walking trails abound
Barbecue
Pool area
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Bedroom with Queen Size bed
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Living room with Asian fusion design furnitures.
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Our neighbouring property- see Wanggulay Too Luxury Cairns Holiday TreeTops Home
Master Bedroom with 2 single beds.
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Cairns, Cairns Region, Queensland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Jeana29T
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and Beautiful Stay Amongst the Trees”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights end of June and it's so peaceful, relaxing, quiet and central to shops and tourist spots. Everything was very comfortable. You can have several families stay easily and just walk in as everything is there. A washing machine and dryer, hair dryer are included and even a lovely bottle of sparkling in the fridge for our arrival. Thank you for that, thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a lot of space which would be great for families or special occasions. You can relax on the lounge beds on the balcony and see the Barron River while eating breakfast and you can even watch the bush turkey forage around in the early morning. It is close to the airport also, which is very handy, no rushing around. Thank you for a lovely stay, just what I needed.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
H Jeana,

We love the guest seeing just how spacious Wanggulay is even for several families. Many guest note just how close we are to the airport, shopping centres and tourist attractions

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!

Kind Regards
Brett and the team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edgar B
Adelaide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Birthday celebration”
Reviewed 1 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

It was a big ask: 60th birthday celebrations, 3 generations, 7 adults taking a week's leave to spend 7 days together with 3 young children, flying from Adelaide to Cairns for some warmth. Expectations were high and Wanggulay didn't disappoint.
We loved the setting, the facilities, the welcome and the additional services.
We were blessed with wonderful weather and ate every meal outdoors.
The pool was a great hit and the location of the property enabled several pleasant walks as well as easy travel to a number of great experiences.
Bet was very welcoming and helpful.
The bedrooms were very comfortable but my favourite was the Balinese day bed on the upstairs verandah. I spent the end of each night there with a candle and a glass of wine, enjoying the silence and darkness.
A day trip to the outer reef was organised for us by the Wanggulay team and made for a memorable day. We highly recommend the Silverswift trip to the outer reef.
It will probably be some time before the 10 of us are together for a week again but we'd love to return to Wanggulay. If only they had a retreat for middle aged couples!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space for 10 people to be together in comfort
Liked least: cooking for 10 in a small kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jun 2016
Hi Edgar,
It was an absolute pleasure hosting you all for such a special birthday!
We also love relaxing on the daybed and jumping in the infinity edge pool.

We did a calculation and worked out we have now sent more than 2,000 guests out to the reef on the Silversonic with Quicksilver, we just love that trip. we love that we can quickly change our guests to a better weather day at no charge if need.

Next week we are hosting a retreat for a couple staying, this is their fourth visit so it's a great place to come away if you are just looking for a romantic break, and of course mates rates apply!

Take Care
Brett , Bet and the Wanggulay crew!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SacLdc
Pleasanton, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Exactly as promised”
Reviewed 22 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

My family of 8 stayed at the property this April. We found everything exactly as advertised; the photos on the website are very representative of the home we had no issues at all with air-conditioning and were able to use the BBQ without problems. Indeed we found the location perfect away from the hustle and bustle of Cairns but convenient to both Cairns and Port Douglas attractions. I found the owner were very responsive to our needs. I would much rather stay here than pay for four separate hotel rooms in some resort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2016
Hi Steve,

Thank you very much for your review. You came such a long way from the North America to stay, and we have now counted our North American visitors - you are our 49th family to visit us! We look forward to welcoming you again and a special treat we would like to offer you a free night when you next come back!

Have a great day!

kind regards Belinda and Brett
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa J
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful but flawed”
Reviewed 21 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This property is really beautiful, but there are a couple of things you need to know before you book.
1. Privacy is an issue. Not from the neighbours, but between family/friends staying with you. All the bedrooms, except one small upstairs bedroom, open onto the large wraparound decks (the main living spaces) None have any blinds or privacy screening. So forget doing anything intimate in the bedrooms, even changing clothes can be problematic, most of our group used the bathrooms to change.
2. Another issue from having no blinds - those lovely open aspects onto the wrap around verandas, also let in all the light from very first thing, so if you are planning on a sleep in, pack some eye masks. Almost everyone in our group complained of light hitting them full on the face and waking them in the morning (again the smaller upstairs bedroom facing the street had no issue here)
3. There are no glass windows in the house, all louvered, which look gorgeous and have benefits in the tropics, but also drawbacks. No window flyscreens, so if you leave the windows open, anything can crawl in and there were lots of bugs (this is the tropics). In our case it was mostly cute geckos and much less desirable mosquitos but we did see a massive snake out the front which could easily have crawled in. We slept bathed in mosquito repellent.
4. The kitchen is not what you would expect for a house of this size – not great for cooking, limited bench space, muted lighting. Teflon pans with only aluminium utensils – no one has thought this through. We couldn’t get the outside BBQ to work and when we rang to ask we were basically told we were doing it wrong, OK I guess maybe, but we all had gas BBQs at home – how hard can it be if it’s actually working? So we had to cook indoors on the stove – which made our chef hot and grumpy.
5. The pool is beautiful but really small. No way 8 people are swimming in there together.
6. The living areas are spacious and comfortable with loads of room for a big group. The master bedroom is gorgeous, the other bedrooms are all small. The Media room is not a separate room, but the downstairs lounge area, opens directly onto carport, which you should know if you have anyone sleeping there.
7. The check-in is really late 4pm and check out 10am. If you want to check in earlier, you’ll be asked to pay for it. When we pushed back on this we were offered an earlier check-in at 2pm at the last minute with no extra charge although it was a big deal, and the property manager let us know she’d had to restructure her day around us. For a prestige property with a high price tag, and cleaning surcharge for short stays, a little generosity of spirit would have been nice.
8. Obviously with a holiday home rental they don’t supply all the amenities, but the tiny cakes of soap ran out before the weekend was up.
We were a big family group with young adult children staying together for a long weekend. Personally, despite the size of the house I think it would be better for couples or small families on a longer stay. We were in such a great mood, we all had a great time, but a couple of minor changes would make a big impact on a practical level.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Architecture, location and styling
Liked least: No blinds or curtains in bedrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2016
Firstly Lisa - Thank you very much for your review we appreciate the feedback and have taken immediate action to rectify things, we apologise as some items had been removed without our knowledge.
In answer to your points
1 Wanggulay has won several awards for its design and open living plan, it's not for everyone's, taste however for those that want a unique experience of feeling that you are living in the rainforest treetops it's amazing. Its part of the reason we have won several architectural awards.
Most guests love that connectivity and openness...

"Paradise" was the comment from a level 2 reviewer who stayed very recently.
" We were traveling with a group of extended family and the spacious house worked very well for our group". Other recent reviewers referred to us as follows
“Beautiful house, fabulous area.”
“Wanggulay, its Balinese for "Heaven"
“Wish we had stayed longer”
2. The kitchen is frequently used by one of Cairns top restaurants and they have complimented us on our kitchen and SCAN pan range of utensils, we have noticed that some were removed from a recent catering visit- they have been replaced - thank you for the advice
4. Apologies for the barbeque, if you had a problem Bet our manager would have been delighted to attend and sort this out. We have provided instructions for lighting the barbeque and have tested it..
5. We can often accommodate an earlier check in provided we don't have two large groups back to back, as was the case with your visit. It can take our team of 3 up to 6 hours to turn around a large group and get it ready for the next large group. If this is the the case you can always leave your baggage here while we are getting the place ready and Bet will ring you the moment it's ready.
6. We stock the Patti Flynn home made soaps and we have ensured that the additional supplies are restocked in the bathroom cabinet, we are sorry you did not let us know.
Finally, we have rectified the items mentioned making those small changes that you kindly pointed out. We are glad that you found the place beautiful - we would like to offer you a complimentary night on your next stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne117...
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Not what it seems!!”
Reviewed 28 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Booked this for a weeks stay in beginning of Jan 16, very disappointed certainly in my opinion not 5 star accommodation, we arrived at the house at 3pm it was still being cleaned had to wait outside for an hour, the lady showed us around told us the 2 inside door blinds were broken, the air con was not working properly (38 degree heat), the sink was blocked in the one bathroom, the kitchen was old needs updating and the oven was black had to clean it ourselves as smoke came out the oven when we tried to cook a pizza on our first night, and also there was a curfew at 10pm and you couldn't go out on the balcony after this time as the neighbours complain, was told this on arrival not at booking stage. Also the next morning the so called infinity pool was half empty and the surrounding patio was dirty needed a jet wash and spider webs covering the pool entrance. Only stayed the one night, left and found alternative accommodation in Palm Cove which was only 4 star accommodation half the price of this and much better and cleaner. I told the lady the following morning we were leaving as not happy with accommodation and she said the owner Brett would call me but still waiting for the call. No refund given, Not good service at all. Maybe this property was 5 star accommodation 10 years ago but not now and certainly needs an upgrade.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Dear Leane,

Thank you for your review.

It was certainly a shock to receive your review. For anyone that has stayed in the last few months, you will see that your review is in contrast to every review we have received.

Interestingly, we received a five-star ranking from the visitors that checked out the day you checked in (it was our 50th 5 star ranking) they wrote a review titled

"Paradise- and that They would return in a heartbeat"...

They did report a fault on the air-conditioning and we arranged to have that repaired immediately. The repair people visited and inspected the unit and came back to repair the problem.

Regarding the quality of the house, we have recently completed an upgrade to the furnishings as follows: three brand new leather lounges two x2 seater, 1 x 7 seater, new dishwasher, new washing machine, new pool pump, filter, heater, TV, Apple computer and Apple TV. We have spent over $50,000. And are at a loss to understand what appliance needs upgrading as they are nearly all new or near new!

I am sorry that you could not check in at 3 pm. We had guests that just checked out and as you would have noticed in your check in information the time is it 4pm. We do this so we can properly prepare the property. We find it curious that you chose to complain about as you advised, well before you arrived about the check in time.

Bet our manager was cleaning when you arrived and politely advised you that you were welcome to leave your bags inside, and it would be best to come back after the cleaning was completed in one more hour.

On every turn around we conduct a maintenance check and read the previous guest reports. What your review did not mention is Bet advised you that the previous guests who checked out just hours before, had reported a problem with the air conditioning, and we had arranged for that to be repaired immediately. The same applied to the oven and the pool. It is most unusual to have three problems at once but none the less Bet organized immediately, without delay, for all three problems to be rectified. They were all fixed promptly, again the terms and conditions mention the requirement with appliance breakdowns and we fully abide by those conditions; they were repaired promptly.

Regarding the spider webs, Wanggulay is located in a tropical rainforest environment, and you have visited in the wet season. We clean all pathways and pool areas however spiders can build the web in the afternoon. I am sorry that you found that disruptive, other guests marvel at the wildlife around Wanggulay. Had you stayed longer than you would have seen Ulysses butterflies, cockatoos, and even the odd Goanna climbing a tree.

In respect to the refund, as we explained, we had arranged for the prompt repair of all items, we are happy to report that they were immediately repaired, and we were disappointed that you chose to check out without notice. I do find it curious that you have mentioned that Brett did not call. Bet is the manager and explained all the matters to you. Perhaps you were disappointed that we would not offer you a full refund, even though there were no grounds to ask for one and we fully complied with the terms and conditions agreed.

The terms and conditions do state that we live in a quiet community in the Rainforest and by the body corporate rules residents must maintain a quiet environment after 10 pm. Again we are at a loss to understand why you chose to stay if this was a problem for your group.

In summary, we pride ourselves on dealing with all problems promptly, keeping Wanggulay in five-star condition for guests.

Finally, we would be delighted to welcome you back for a complimentary stay, and hope you may see Wanggulay as those of our 50+ five-star reviewers have.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$379
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing