We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Cairns Aquarium
from US$33.49
More Info
from US$100.48
More Info
from US$233.44
More Info
from US$126.76
More Info
Reviews (1,508)
Filter reviews
1,508 results
Traveller rating
988
364
109
32
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
988
364
109
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish behind the scenes sharks and rays annual pass large tanks touch pool entry price marine life few hours couple of hours on display great place to visit the great barrier reef rainy day well worth the visit salt water all ages
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 1,508 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2021

As a local it never quite made sense to me as to why Cairns lacked an aquarium despite its proximity to the GBR. As such I was very happy to see this place enter the tourism scene and visited it with my wife recently.

We did the 'twilight tour' which at a cost of $125pp affords a 2 hour guided tour of the cairns aquarium followed by a 3 course dinner and drink (the drink and appetiser served at the end of the tour to allow viewing of the coral sea aquarium area). It starts at 1545 (tour commencing 1600) and is a good way of seeing the aquarium after the masses have left.

I was really impressed with the knowledge of our tour guide Alex, an Australian marine biologist. The aquarium certainly wasn't the biggest I've been to and it did lack the massive tanks and fish that I have seen at others. However, what it did well was highlight the biodiversity and various ecosystems found in cairns, with a 'journey' that takes you from the mangroves to the reef. The aquarium also housed a couple of native species to the cairns region including Jungle Perch and Lake Eacham Rainbowfish.

The food served at the attached restaurant 'Dundees' was great and the whole thing took about 3.5 hours so it would be a good activity on a rainy day or for those that are time poor.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank RowanH336
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsAquarium, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Thank you for your great review :)
We are glad you enjoyed your experience at Cairns Aquarium.

Hope to sea you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

Cairns Aquarium was a great way to spend a couple of hours learning about the reef and river systems in the local area and the fish and animals that populate them.

Great layout from eco-system to eco-system and lots of talks going on to educate everyone - great way to see what is out there!

Recommend getting there early - very busy spot!

Date of experience: January 2021
2  Thank C8428BFchrisw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsAquarium, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2021

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

Small, but really interesting place, with some great local sea life. Very economic family price of about 70 for two adults and two children.

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank calsimsek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsAquarium, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Thank you for your kind review!
We have over 16,000 animals on display from 71 habitats, across 2 floors :)

Hope to sea you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2021

We really enjoyed our morning at the Aquarium. It’s cool, informative and contains the many and varied reef marine life. The eels were a favourite as were Dory and Nemo. People of all ages would love this Aquarium.

Date of experience: January 2021
4  Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsAquarium, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Thank you for your great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2021

Visited on a rainy day in Cairns, and what an amazing way to spend an afternoon! There are a range of exhibits, plus plenty of informative talks. Staff were friendly and helpful with any questions. A nice touch is that your admission allows you to come and go, so you can stop by Dundee’s restaurant (another great spot to visit, with its own wall fish tank) before continuing on around the Aquarium. Would definitely recommend!

Date of experience: January 2021
Thank simonbB6834ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CairnsAquarium, Guest Relations Manager at Cairns Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2021

Thank you so much for your kind review!
Hope to sea you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews