We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out with friends”

Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Ranked #21 of 5,071 Restaurants in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great night out with another couple here at Libertine last weekend. The decor is great, the staff were attentive and the food was tasty. We shared about 7 dishes between us and they varied from good to excellent.
Our favourite was the Black Onyx steak frites (we ordered 2 more), but the Pork Belly was also really tasty. I had high hopes for The Roast BBQ Duck and Spiced Cherry Crepe, but it was our least favourite. We also had Egg Rolls, Lamb Dumplings. The Creme Brûlée was superb!
The only negatives were that they didn’t have 2 of the wines we ordered, but that can happen, the music didn’t suit the ambience of the place, it was too pop oriented IMHO and a couple of the dishes weren’t to the standard I would have expected.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank DAROHATH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 645 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2021 via mobile

The steak was fabulous and reset my idea about eating medium rare. The staff were very helpful in wine selection to match the food. Deserts were excellent.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank wmrbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 June 2021 via mobile

Amazing experience!

Small menu done perfectly.
My wife and I enjoyed 7 courses between us including desert and had a perfect bite of food every time.
We started with the bug toast which was amazing and continued via entrees to mains of prawns and beef which were both amazing. The red wine jus on the steak was quite special.

Deserts all looked good but settled on the chocolate lava cake and caramel
Ice cream which was an absolute standout .
Our new favourite restaurant in Brisbane.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 2610luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 May 2021

For our first visit to the Libertine Bar and Restaurant within the historic former Police Barracks building on Petrie Terrace in Brisbane, my wife and I enjoyed the 6 course Mother's Day Banquet on offer on 9 May 2021. Afterwards we enjoyed “Rosa’s Wedding”, an entertaining Spanish movie with subtitles at the Palace Barracks Cinema. For us this dual experience created a memorable "Beautiful Sunday".

So that both of us could enjoy a drink or two, we chose to get to the Restaurant by travelling on a modern electric train on the Brisbane Translink network rather than driving. We alighted at Roma Street Station and the Restaurant is then just a short, easy 8 minutes walk away. This was a great way to get to the restaurant and back home again later.

The Libertine Bar and Restaurant offers both an extensive outdoor area for informal dining as well as a very classy, more formal dining room with three metre high Chandelier ceilings. We enjoyed the Mothers’ Day banquet in the dining room. Here the decor and ambience is very pleasing and we found the wait staff to be very pleasant and friendly throughout our experience. The drinks bar is kept busy offering a wide range of both International and Australian beers, spirits and wines.

The food on offer created an interesting fusion of French and Vietnamese influences, was tasty and the flavours delightful and prepared for shared plates. The 2 hour “moving feast” got off to a great start with two impressive Vietnamese street food entrees - "Tiger Prawn Croissant" and "Mushroom Tofu & Smoked Speck San Choi Bao" (Sautéed mushrooms with rich caramel Kecap Manis soy sauce, sesame oil, carrot & ground pepper and served with hot pepper sauce, fresh herbs and lettuce cups).

The second stanza consisted of the two main courses "Cracklin' Twice Cooked Free Range "Borrowdale" Pork Belly” and "Mt Cotton Free Range Chicken Fricassee" complimented very well by Libertine Classic Vietnamese Coleslaw and a bowl of Jasmine Rice as side dishes. An outstanding feature of the Pork Belly dish was the pork crackling to die for – absolutely superb. A memorable feature of the Chicken Fricassee was the creamy Beurré Blanc sauce as well as the flavour combination of garlic, onion and rosemary.

The third and final food moment was a most memorable dessert - Banana Beignets (French banana doughnut ‘holes’ served with roasted coconut ice cream, mandarin syrup and chocolate soil) – very yummy indeed.

For our meal we chose as a beverage a bottle of Marquis de Pennautier Rosé from France - very light coloured and a nice lingering taste and to complete this memorable Mothers’ Day feast I had a warmed glass of Delord 1996 Armagnac - it doesn't get better than that.

Overall, we had a fabulous experience at the Libertine Bar and Restaurant. Indeed this six course Banquet at $59 per person represented very good value for money.

From our initial visit, we would thoroughly recommend Brisbane people and visitors having a meal and a drink here. We look forward to returning soon to do it all over again.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

Beautiful Decor... atmosphere galore, but that can only carry you so far.

Food was, for those prices, below par. Dined at Donna Chang the week before as a comparison. Decor and atmosphere comparable and in essence superior. Food at Donna Change.... way way better, service impeccable, attentive, and first class. Price was marginally lower.

Tried Libertine and really hoped for more but disappointed. With that Decor, the food should have matched but it did not.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 107dimitrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

Brisbane, Brisbane Region
 

Been to Libertine Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.