We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,274)
Filter reviews
1,274 results
Traveller rating
258
477
347
120
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
258
477
347
120
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree mitchell street across the road great pool top end esplanade foyer parkland position harbour kakadu pubs cbd
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 1,274 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip. Check in was straightforward, staff friendly and pleasant. The cookie is a nice touch, but it would be good to have an alternative for people like me who are allergic to either gluten or nuts. The bathroom seemed dated (the tiles) but the room was nice and the bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I have slept in for a long time. I could have stayed in it all day. Crabtree & Evelyn toiletries are provided. Great location, easy to get to everything and you have the Esplanade just across the road. There was no mention of wifi when I checked in,many other hotels offer a limited free service for 24 hours and I think this would be worth looking into.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Smiffy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2018

Dear Smiffy36

Many thanks for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Darwin

I would strongly recommend guests enrolling for the Hilton Honors Program when they stay (complimentary) and wifi is free.

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

This is a very large older hotel, which has had some refurbishment, and more is planned we are told. But just keeping up with the maintenance meanwhile would be a good idea. We reported our room safe wouldn’t work, nor one of the bedside lights. The too-short shower curtain ensures the bathroom floor is flooded. The room as not well equipped to handle luggage. There was no dedicated luggage rack or area, so we wound up putting one suitcase on the desk, and the second on the floor under the window.
Be warned that this hotel has some very long corridors, with room numbering which is a little unusual. Because of its design, there are often rooms on only one side of the corridor. The numbering on our floor completed all the even numbers first and then went back to start on the odd numbers. Confusing! One does not expect to find 221 farther down the corridor past 230.
All the ground level public areas have been refurbished. The size of the restaurant is not large enough, in my opinion, for the number of potential guests. We waited for tables to be cleared at breakfast and dinner.
There is a pleasant poolside area adjacent to the restaurant. The pool is large, sloping from 1m to 2m depth. No shade over the pool, and sun loungers with umbrellas all around.
They will charge $9.95/day for wifi, unless you join the Hilton loyalty programme.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank DianneC516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Dianne

thank you for visiting us and staying at the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations.
We have just completed a 200 bedroom refurbishment and all corridors etc. I am surprised an disappointed to read some of your comments and will discuss these with the hotel management team

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Standard hotel room, nice touch with the warm cookie on arrival and the cold water on tap at the check in counter though.
Easy free parking as well on their premises, so no street parking charges.
It’s at the far end of the Esplanade so a bit of a walk into town.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Dear Rigseusmic67

Great to hear you enjoyed the cookie on arrival. We are fortunate to be located on the Esplanade sea front just 5 minutes walk from the centre (avoiding all the noise)

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

We stay here every couple of years. We noticed this year they had completed their refurb. My only complaint is that housekeeping don’t know how to make a bed. Other than that all is very good. One of these days We will actually score a room with a view over the pool. This year we were in 544. Free undercover car parking is a great bonus.
The pool is the best in Darwin.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Shazz21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear Shaxx21

Great that you returned and stayed at the Esplanade hotel again on this visit.

Also that you enjoyed the newly refurbished bedrooms. We have 2 pools (1 located next door) and the Esplanade Pool, which as you mentioned is the largest outside pool in a hotel in Darwin

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

After last year staying at the Hilton in Darwin and such a great experience staying in the Double Tree in Alice Springs, this year we decided to giving the Double Tree Darwin a try. Double Tree has 2 hotels next door to each other on the Esplanade and we chose 116 as i felt it was more suited to my family. We used this hotel on 2 occasions at the beginning and end of our trip

The hotel has a spacious lobby area and a relaxed atmosphere. We had interconnecting rooms with my teenage boys, their room was spacious/comfortable and had 2 double beds. Our room was fantastic with a lounge area with the interconnecting door. The bedroom had an amazing super-king sized bed which was so comfortable upon our return home we've been out and bought new toppers and linen. The only down side to the bedroom was that within the bathroom there was a small oddly shaped shower which was quite dark, though the bathroom itself was very spacious and did have a bath.

Breakfast was everything we expected, apart from there was the option to eat either inside or out on the decking by the pool which was nice.

This hotel was comfortable relaxing and family friendly, which was everything I was looking for in our family holiday. All staff I encounted were friendly and pleasant, therefore I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Daddybear3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MartinRogers, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Esplanade Darwin, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Daddybear3

many thanks for your kind review and comments

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and select one of the 3 Hilton/Doubletree hotels in Darwin for your return visit

We hope to welcome you back again soon

regards

Martin Rogers
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews