We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
28
5
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
5
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2017

Situated in a quiet lush surrounds and close to Shopping and restaurants. Great to come back to cool clean accommodation and a beautiful pool to quench the tropical heat.
Hosts Brian and Jan would do anything to ensure your needs or queries are met with satisfaction. They are very warm and friendly and down to earth, so have a chat about anything, no problem. All amenities and rooms are updated, so very nice and comfortable. Thanks for everything Jan and Greene [Brian]. Oh and appreciate the free wifi too.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hairynun12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

the pictures do not show a true version of this resort.
it is a house in the suburbs of Palmerston.
Upon collecting the keys - i was asked where have you been! Well i collected our unwell 80 year old a wheel chair after collecting her from the air port and it took a little longer than expected.
After one night it was extremely difficult getting her up snd down the stairs. We asked if we could have a refund. This was flattly refused. We even asked for half the money back which also was flattly refused with the comment we've had people stay here who have had hip and knee replacements and they could get up the stairs! so on the second night instead of bringing granny out that we would meet there and have some dinner. This was also refused. No visitors allowed.
The booking stated a tropical breakfast. Sounds lovely - it is a small box of cereal a mandarine and a banana. We stayed a week breakfast only for 3 days. No fresh towels, no room service at all! Upon check out I was asked if i had cleaned the room and washed the towels. I was then told that I would have to pay a cleaning fee. I asked how much would this be and was told it depends on how long it takes to clean the room and that she would just charge it to our credit card.
There are no cleaning products provided.

Would not recommend. The rooms would be bearly a 3 star @ 1100.00 for the week i would look elsewhere.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Josh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalmerstonSunset, Owner at Palmerston Sunset Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

We are very concerned about this review
We have never accommodated anyone in a wheelchair
We do not have the coded facilities to do so.
Please contact us directly to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Amazing hosts, thank you to Jan and Brian (Greenie) for making our family feel welcomed and comfortable for the week. Thanks Jan for the offer of the dress for my wife for the wedding, she did so really want to wear it and quite surprised it didn't end up in the suitcase, HA HA. Jan was always on hand to respond to any requests or questions we had about the property or stay in general. Spacious family accommodation with washing and cooking facilities. Continental breakfast supplied as advertised (forgot about the Mango left in the freezer Jan but i am sure it would have tasted great). Great location being only 20 minutes to Mindil beach, 30 minutes to Berri Springs and 30 minutes down the Arnhem Highway to the Croc jumping cruise. It was so relaxing to come back after a long day and just chill out by the pool and unwind. By far the best holiday accommodation the family has stayed in to date. Definitely recommend for a family stay.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam_hehir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here wiv the misses and sister the room was excellent clean,comfy and everything you need we were up here for family reasons and they made us feel right at home both were great host Jan wiv the knowledge n Brian wiv the laughs providing wat ever was needed that pool was the icing on the cake after a hot sweaty day come back n relax wiv a few cold beverages in the pool wish them the very best in the future this lovely b+b everything u would find in a fancy hotel and more in a lovely relaxed environment
Only down side is Jan is a crows fan.....up the dockers haha take care. Luke ,Emily n bianca

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank lukegiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

It was an absolute pleasure staying with Jan and Brian. My stay was so relaxing, and they made it their priority to accommodate my needs in every way possible, including dietary requirements.
I truly felt as if I was part of the family, and will definitely be recommending Sunset Retreat to everyone.
If you are looking for a relaxed, quiet, tranquil place to stay while in Palmerston, this is the place for you!
Thanks again guys xx

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Wanderer698782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews