We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (3,536)
Filter reviews
3,536 results
Traveller rating
1,196
1,372
649
201
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,196
1,372
649
201
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace roomayers rockdinner buffetilkari restaurantlobby barsuperior roomsounds of silence dinnertali wirured centrepublic areasroom was largetown centreremote locationkata tjutasunrise tourcamel ridevisiting uluru
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 3,536 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this resort when it first opened as the Sheraton. It is still a lovely resort. The gardens of native vegetation are full of bird life. The restaurants serve top class meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You can make bookings for the various excursions and experiences in the area. Free transport to and from the airport is provided.

Room Tip: A Ground floor unit saves carrying suits cases too far.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Judith A
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your return stay at Sails in the Desert an we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a third visit in the future. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback directly with our team and it was certainly our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Riaz Mahmood
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My friends & I stayed at Sails in the Desert because one of us was celebrating a special birthday.

We were happy with the resort & staff. The beds were comfy, the sheets felt lovely & the towels were big & soft. There were a couple of issues that were sorted out by the staff at the time, promptly & easily.

The tours we did with Voyages were very good (Field of Lights sunset & sunrise). We were picked up right on time, safety issues were covered & suggestions/directions were given to get the best out of the light installation.

If we were being picky, the bathroom especially the shower curtain & tiles needed refreshing. The screen door to the balcony needed looking at, as it was a bit sticky to open & close (room 367), we forgot to tell them about it.

On the whole no serious complaints apart from the small issues above.

I'd recommend friends to stay there & I would return as well.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jamsybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Ayer Rock Resort offers a multiple of accomodation options of which Sails in the Desert is one. The hotel is not new yet modern and stylish. Only 300 metres from the "Town Square", ATM and Supermarket it offers eating and drinking options, nice beds, in room fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The reception team are well informed and very helpful. The breakfast was good. Excursions will pick up and drop off here. We swapped out our breakfast for a generous breakfast box on the morning we went to see the sun rise.
Large pool area with a walk up bar. Staff and facilities were great, thank you.
FYI - Buy the fly net head covers from the square, the flies at Kuta Tjuta are 10 times worse and at Uluru 20 times worse than they are at the resort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi GaryandLesleyTravel
Thank your for sharing your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay along with the facilities and of course the tours and activities on offer to explore this beautiful part of Australia. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Riaz Mahmood
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Sails is the 'top end' accommodation at the Ayers Rock Resort but please, if you are expecting 5 star as you'd see in a city or true resort destination, you will be disappointed.

Saying that, it is a good hotel. Pool is good size but water was pretty cold in December!
Restaurant very good if a little pricey but breakfast is very good indeed. The hotel does run very well though.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights. From what we saw of other hotels in the resort this is the best of the bunch. Things run very efficiently with tours and airport shuttles. Most of the staff were really helpful. The resort is remote and eating options are limited with higher prices and is probably somewhere you would only go once.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews