We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,717)
Filter reviews
3,717 results
Traveller rating
1,277
1,440
673
207
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,277
1,440
673
207
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsterrace roomayers rocklobby bardinner buffetilkari restaurantsuperior roomsounds of silence dinnertali wirupublic areasred centreroom was largetown centreremote locationkata tjutavisiting ulurusunrise touralice springs
Filter
Updating list...
184 - 189 of 3,717 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We stayed at this resort when it first opened as the Sheraton. It is still a lovely resort. The gardens of native vegetation are full of bird life. The restaurants serve top class meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You can make bookings for the various excursions and experiences in the area. Free transport to and from the airport is provided.

Room Tip: A Ground floor unit saves carrying suits cases too far.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2018

Hi Judith A
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your return stay at Sails in the Desert an we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again for a third visit in the future. It will be my pleasure to share your feedback directly with our team and it was certainly our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Riaz Mahmood
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018 via mobile

My friends & I stayed at Sails in the Desert because one of us was celebrating a special birthday.

We were happy with the resort & staff. The beds were comfy, the sheets felt lovely & the towels were big & soft. There were a couple of issues that were sorted out by the staff at the time, promptly & easily.

The tours we did with Voyages were very good (Field of Lights sunset & sunrise). We were picked up right on time, safety issues were covered & suggestions/directions were given to get the best out of the light installation.

If we were being picky, the bathroom especially the shower curtain & tiles needed refreshing. The screen door to the balcony needed looking at, as it was a bit sticky to open & close (room 367), we forgot to tell them about it.

On the whole no serious complaints apart from the small issues above.

I'd recommend friends to stay there & I would return as well.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank jamsybil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

The Ayer Rock Resort offers a multiple of accomodation options of which Sails in the Desert is one. The hotel is not new yet modern and stylish. Only 300 metres from the "Town Square", ATM and Supermarket it offers eating and drinking options, nice beds, in room fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. The reception team are well informed and very helpful. The breakfast was good. Excursions will pick up and drop off here. We swapped out our breakfast for a generous breakfast box on the morning we went to see the sun rise.
Large pool area with a walk up bar. Staff and facilities were great, thank you.
FYI - Buy the fly net head covers from the square, the flies at Kuta Tjuta are 10 times worse and at Uluru 20 times worse than they are at the resort.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GaryandLesleyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia R, Customer Relations at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Hi GaryandLesleyTravel
Thank your for sharing your experience at Sails in the Desert and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay along with the facilities and of course the tours and activities on offer to explore this beautiful part of Australia. It was our pleasure to have you as a guest at Ayers Rock Resort.
Kind Regards
Riaz Mahmood
General Manager
Sails in the Desert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

Sails is the 'top end' accommodation at the Ayers Rock Resort but please, if you are expecting 5 star as you'd see in a city or true resort destination, you will be disappointed.

Saying that, it is a good hotel. Pool is good size but water was pretty cold in December!
Restaurant very good if a little pricey but breakfast is very good indeed. The hotel does run very well though.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

Recently stayed for 3 nights. From what we saw of other hotels in the resort this is the best of the bunch. Things run very efficiently with tours and airport shuttles. Most of the staff were really helpful. The resort is remote and eating options are limited with higher prices and is probably somewhere you would only go once.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank marpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews