We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,419)
Filter reviews
1,420 results
Traveller rating
661
503
161
62
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
661
503
161
62
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews no lift boutique hotel opera house scarlett restaurant great location a ground floor room lovely boutique night manager heritage building small hotel cruise ship lovely room street noise botanical gardens an easy walk george street rocks
Filter
Updating list...
243 - 248 of 1,420 reviews
Reviewed 1 February 2017

On a extended holiday in New Zealand and Australia with my wife, brother, and sister-in-law, we stayed in six deluxe accommodations. This was #5 of them all, by common agreement.

The location was great. The hotel was necessarily dated, which was less off-putting than the spotty service in the restaurant. A very pleasant exception was the night clerk, Moss.

Room Tip: Wonderfully accessible to the best part of Sydney. Room not the highlight of your visit, nor restaurant service, particularly at breakfast.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gmann2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2017

Dear gmann2017,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We appreciate you sharing your recent experience with us. I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team. Please accept our apologies for the service in our restaurant and thank you for your kind words about our Night Manager Moss. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

We had planed a night out in the city and decided to stay.
The location is great, public car across the road was good, cheap as well.
The room was good very quiet with a view of the Opera house.
The only slight disappointment was the breakfast selection and price.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Steve_CB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Steve C,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. We truly appreciate you sharing your recent stay experience with us. We are pleased you enjoyed our location and views of the Opera House. I will ensure your comments about breakfast are shared with our Head Chef. We hope we can welcome you back in the near future!

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

My group pf five really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It has an excellent location in a charming Sydney neighborhood that had many restaurants, bars and entertainment opportunities.

The staff were amazingly friendly and warm. the rooms were lovely, well maintained and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TD8262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear TD8262,
Wow! Thank you so much for your 5 star rating & review on trip advisor. It is such a pleasure to receive feedback about our friendly staff and comfortable rooms. I will ensure your comments are shared and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2017 via mobile

Beautiful little boutique hotel in the heart of history 'The Rocks' in Sydney.
Former warehouse, storehouse and brothel for homesick sailors the renovations are resplendent if are far off era. Rooms are great comfortable, bathrooms are petit and the service is genuinely friendly.
Great spot to venture out from to explore the hidden gems of Sydney town.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Teegaray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Teegaray,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback about our beautiful boutique hotel. We are so pleased you had a comfortable stay and we hope we can welcome you back to Harbour Rocks Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Disgusting bathroom with mouldy grooves and non-functioning lights.
The air was very stuffy as it is not possible to open the tiny and dusty windows in the room.
You had to squeeze in around the bathroom sink to get to the toilet and again to get into the tiny shower. Really, just the sight of it was pretty shocking

The pillows had lumpy synthetic stuffing. REALLY? That was it for me!!!!! if coming into the "room" made me upset, getting into bed ENFURIATED ME.

WHAT WE KNEW:
No lift and no pool

WHAT WE DIDN'T KNOW:
Don't expect a bath tub if you pay less than $600 per night (and i would ring up before booking just to make sure)

Extremely disappointing, if you are catering for a high-end clientele please get the basics right, to say the least.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank polipo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren J, General Manager at Harbour Rocks Hotel Sydney - MGallery Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2017

Dear polipo j,
Thank you for your review on trip advisor. Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent stay with us. We are very sorry for not explaining our pillow menu at check in however we do have this in all of our room compendiums. Polipo j, I will ensure your feedback is shared with our team and we hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Harbour Rocks Hotel in the near future.

Regards
Lauren Job
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews