We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
161
34
6
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
34
6
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kotor bay waters edge luxury hotel executive room beautiful hotel small hotel the hotel manager old town mid morning staff were extremely attentive the final bill bitter taste every respect clams tasting menu sunbathing area clean towels
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The Forza Mare is situated in a perfect location on the coast some 3klm from Kotor Town, which is an enjoyable 1 hour walk away or 10 minute taxi journey at 4 euros a trip. The hotel is in a quiet area with a small road between the entrance and the restaurant / sunbathing area and beautiful bay of Kotor. There is a main road at the front of the hotel that provides access for taxi service.
We spent a week here and had an executive room on the first floor which had the most amazing views over the bay, this really is one of the most beautiful places we have visited.
Our room entrance was next to reception and did cause us initial concern about noise, it was actually not a problem, the reception staff were very quiet and considerate, and in any case it is not exactly a bustling hotel with kids running around everywhere, in fact there were no children staying there.

The executive room we had was very nice and adequate, not the largest or best room I have stayed in for a 5 star hotel, but the extra cost is worth it just for the views.
The rooms are very clean, the cleaning staff do an amazing job and come in twice a day with clean towels.
If i had a criticism, it would be that the bed was on the hard side, it never bothered me, I have slept in far worse but my wife would have preferred a softer bed as would some of the other guests we spoke to, down to personal choices I suppose.

Breakfast was relaxing, always a table available with a range of continental style food available, with the staff providing a selection of hot food (eggs, bacon, sausages, toast etc) if required.
We had dinner in the hotel restaurant situated perfectly on the waters edge on a couple of occasions, the food was very good and the waiters first class.

There are also several nice bar/restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, one just a couple of minutes walk that we frequented several times.

Kotor old town is a must,an historical array of alleyways and squares with shops bars and restaurants, perfect for daytime visits or for evening meals. It can get rather busy at times with the arrival of cruise ships.

It is well worth going on a boat trip, which can be arranged at the port of Kotor, or as we did by hiring a private boat from hotel reception and have the boat pick up and drop of at the hotel jetty.

Finally I would like to mention the hotel staff who were superb. we found them to be most attentive, polite and very friendly.

We don't normally go back to the same place twice for our vacations, but this is one place that I think we shall.

Room tip: exective rooms have the most amazing views over the bay and mountains
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2018

Dear Mr. Steve,

Thank you very much for giving such a positive feedback to our hotel, we are always happy to hear that our guests recognized our effort about making the hotel atmosphere quiet and peaceful.
Also, we would like to thank you for giving such a lovely compliments about our rooms, facilities and location.
Highlighting and noticing some of the priorities of our hotel - cleanliness and great customer service are highly appreciated.
We hope that we would have the chance to host you again and we are really looking forward to it.

Kind regards from Forza Mare team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We have just returned from a four night trip to the Forza Mare. We were exceptionally disappointed with the standards and quality of the hotel. Although situated in a beautiful location, with the potential to be outstanding, the hotel has a long way to go to achieve the rating of 5 stars. One of our main complaints are the beds and pillows. The beds are rock hard. Every morning I woke up with terrible back and neck ache, which is something I generally don't suffer with, we asked the reception if they could put a mattress topper on the bed to soften it slightly, however this did not alleviate the problem. On our third day I had to have a massage to help the pain - do not expect a comfortable or restful nights sleep.

Secondly, the rooms are not luxurious, they are ok. However, ants in the room, especially on the first floor, are not acceptable. They were all over the dressing table, where no food or drink had been. The management left a fruit plate on arrival which was consumed outside with friends over a drink in the restaurant area. I complained to reception about the ants and was assured this would be dealt with, however, they were still running around for the next two days. I found some in my suit case when I was packing to leave and some on the bed. On complaining to the general manager, Lazor, before we departed, he tried to excuse the situation by saying we were in a Mediterranean country. We have stayed in five star hotels all over the world and have never experienced an ongoing insect problem, which was obviously never dealt with.

The attitude of the general manager was to be honest quite disgusting, in relation to the beds he excused it away by telling a tale of the Brunei Royal family coming to stay at the hotel to test the facilities and that it ticked all the boxes for a five star hotel - not quite sure if that is true but I can't see why they would stay here. With the ant situation he asked why we had not told him before. We complained to reception twice, that should have instigated action. We then told him before we left we were having lunch at the hotel - he did not offer us a complimentary bottle of wine or water to soften the experience we had endured, nor deduct anything from the final bill - guest relations does not seem to be a strong point of this particular manager and left a very bitter taste.

Breakfast also needs attention. The hotel has an outside restaurant on a terrace overlooking the bay, which is a beautiful setting. Yet, they do not let you have breakfast out there, you are confined to an inside room, which also has a small terrace, yet this is also not utilised for outside eating. The cereal selection is dire, no home made granola or bowls of fresh berries, just something you would expect in a supposed five star property - this was also mentioned to the manager, who just laughed at the suggestion.

Music was also played constantly, day and night, piped through a system that even outside on the deck area you could not avoid it. The music was awful and several guests complained about it and the volume. They did eventually turn it down but if you have a room at the front of the hotel and like to have the windows/doors open, the music doesn't get turned off until midnight.

The hotels restaurant is overpriced and the food not that great. The portions are tiny and the mark up on the wine is ridiculous. There are much much better places to eat down the road from the hotel and in the old town. However, the restaurant staff are lovely, they couldn't be more helpful.

One final point, this hotel is not good for people with disabilities. There are no lifts, the stairs inside the hotel are marble and there were 50 stairs from the street level to our room. Further, the staff need training. I found it totally unacceptable when the maid just walked into our room without knocking at 730 in the evening- this is a lack of basic courtesy.

Overall, I could not recommend this hotel for the prices they charge, the attitude of the manager and the lack of standards and detail that a five star property should maintain.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Madam Louise K,
First of all, I would like to thank you for sharing in public your experience in Hotel Forza Mare. It might be unprofessional from my side to avoid discussion about your complaints and faults related with my dedicated team of hardworking people, breakfast, sleeping quality, restaurant food etc… (as they all have overall rating 9+) but I would like to emphasize the real problem that has been hidden away behind this review and that is Disregarding of a basic rules.
Although you tried to twist the real problem, our hotel rules and policy will remain the same for all our guest wether they are backpackers or royals: Entry and consumption of food from outside is not allowed in restaurant and common areas in the hotel. While a restaurant may allow you to bring your own wine, by charging you corkage fee.
It seemed really awkward to see from the guests who claim to be regular guests of five-star hotels, to abuse a free transfer between our two hotels in order to move to a nearby bar by giving false instructions about the final destination and the intent of using transport, twice. And It was also strange to see you, taking all your friends on a bout tour with a non registered, unlicensed rubber boat instead of paying 20-30Eur more to have a regular service with a speed boat booked by the hotel or booked individually.
We are thanking you one more time for being our guest but we couldn't accept your 'just before check out complaints' in order to get you everything discounted…although we are guest oriented hotel.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The staff and the hotel is really superb. Interestingly designed rooms and great view of the bay. The staff is very friendly and helpful, they try to anticipate your requests, especially Ivanka. You can sit by the bay and just enjoy being there. The waiter offers good suggestions for the food, I recommend the black spaghetti.

Room tip: Facing the Bay
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 867jackt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, General Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Jack T,
Thank you for taking the time to highlight the level of service that you received from our dedicated hotel team. We hope to have the chance to host you again. Kind regards from Forza Mare team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

A very nice hotel and definitely worth a high rating on here. They greeted us straight away with a smile and were very helpful. We had the African room and didn't disappoint. The cleaners are amazing so many times they visit your room OBVIOUSLY while we were out to clean and make bed. Clean towels down on the beds just waiting for you, we loved the pods to lie in. The water was clear and really was nice to jump in off our hotels own jetty. The service was excellent especially the waiter from Serbia called '' buda '' he was a proper gentleman. Basically there wasn't a question we asked that they didn't react to with passion, for instance we wanted to go up the lovely mountain lovcen but didn't want to go on a hustle coach trip , instantly they got us a magnificent private tour with nick who was amazing and truly made the mountain trip memorable.
The breakfast is really ok and there eggs either way boiled,scrambled,poached are amazing. Overhaul we loved Montenegro , we loved this little attentive hotel and well worth a great review.
One negative , and they are well aware off it is the INTERNET/WIFI IS AWFULL. I believe they are sorting for next season.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sicknotekev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, General Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear sicknotekev,
Thank you very much for your kind review on trip advisor. We are delighted that you stayed with us and had such a pleasant experience. Thank you for highlighting the service that you received from our dedicated team, and for all the compliments regarding our restaurant offer and hotel facilities. We assure you that our internet problems has been resolved and we do apologize for this inconvenience. We hope that we will have the chance to host you again. Kind regards from Budo and Forza Mare team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Enjoyed our stay here. Suites are huge with stunning views. Some nice little amenities for such a small hotel. Appreciate being away from the crowds of tourists in the main city of Kotor. It is long (45 min - 1 hour) but pleasant walk from th hotel to the city center. The only draw back is the level of noise. They do their best to keep things quiet but you could literally put one hand on our room door when standing at the checkin desk. So you hear everything being said there. We booked way in advance and asked that our rooms be upstairs away from the checkin desk, but they put one of our rooms upstairs and one right next to the desk. Ugh. Still, one of the best options in the area.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JenniferV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lazar P, General Manager at Forza Mare Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear madam JenniferV999, we would like to say thank you, for taking a moment to write a review on trip advisor. It was our pleasure to have you as a guests of our hotel. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel facilities, amenities, and hotel in general. We hope to see you back again… Kindest regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews