We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
No fees just great deals
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
blackrobinnz
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand

Peace and restoration

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Jan 2024via mobile
We got very stuck for urgent accomodation after travelling and getting ill on a supposed camping holiday. We were desperate! And we were travelling with a dog! The lady at Gunyah was so sympathetic and moved things around for us and offered us Mulberry Cottage, a darling self contained cottage at a good price.

It has everything you could need in a lovely quaint space.
It is clean, everything provided and attention to detail.
It was quiet, had cows next door, lovely friendly chickens
The staff made sure we had things we needed, brought us extra firewood when the weather turned cold
The place has extensive, v sheltered grounds
We wandered around
On recovery, we loved the many walks in the local foothills, the scenery is stunning. The Rakaia Gorge Walkway, the Washpen Falls, the Awa Awa Rata Reserve, proximity to my fathers families homes in Methven and exploring that and my childhood home near Hororata was pure joy.

Thankyou Gunyah and Simonetta for your care and restoration
Fantastic medicine
Would have loved to experience your culinary delights but perhaps next time we will sample that

Thankyou so much
Not what we planned but somehow so much more.....
So peaceful
Date of stay: January 2024
Room Tip: Great communication Tried to accomodate our needs
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
15.2 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Restaurant
Large dining, lounge and kitchen
eDreams
  • Lol.travel
15.0 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$270
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
15.2 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
outside view
Tripadvisor
$177
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
17.9 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $106
  • Booking.com
18.1 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free parking
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$98
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
18.2 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $165
  • Booking.com
18.5 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free parking
Bar/Lounge
58.6 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
40.3 km from Gunyah Country Estate
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Windwhistle
Reviews (41)
Filter reviews
41 results
Traveller rating
25
9
3
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
9
3
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room methven farm host bedroom accommodation heater
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 41 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2023

The host was lovely and the spot very pretty but....So very disappointed, not what we expected from the advertising.
We booked the "Stables". Very cute from outside, free range chickens happily roaming the yard. Lovely sunset and grounds.
Inside, steep stairs up to bedroom had no railing which I would think is illegal. Definitely would not have small children in there.
Queen bed was comfy, single beds hard.
Flys were dying and dropping around us. Notes said the building had been treated for insects and this was the reason. Nothing on the website about that.
Sitting watching TV we noticed a mouse running back and forth on the kitchen bench ! We managed to deal with that one only to then see another one trying to climb the living area curtains. We failed to catch that one as it ran behind the oven. Needless to say we did not sleep well, especially after seeing mouse droppings behind the toilet upstairs. We could hear them in the roof during the night which can be expected on a farm but not inside accommodation we are paying for, even on a farm. Again nothing on the website to expect to share the accomodation with mice.
Make sure you put all food in the fridge.

Room tip: Put all food in the fridge away from resident mice. Make sure you take food with you as there are no shops close.
Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenni W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2022 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. The accommodation is lovely and takes you back to the 1890’s. The food is excellent and the room we stayed in had a lovely view over the property. It is not the easiest place to get to on gravel roads. It’s about 20 minutes drive to nearby Methven. The internet is pretty unreliable but this didn’t bother us too much.

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 August 2022 via mobile

You’ll not see the photos of the converted garden shed we had to stay in for very good reason. They’d not want you to know you may - like us, end up there! Advertised as 4 star with WIFI (not useable) this shed fell well short of the advertised rooms. Make sure you’re not being put in the “Romantic/Mulberry Cottage”.
The floors were so springy I think the foundations were nonexistent. The bed was definitely not Temperpedic. Not sure how old. So close to the wall you had to squeeze past.
The TV was not set correctly, and had we not been reasonably good with getting it sorted, we’d have had to get the ‘owners’ assistance.
The entrance really let the place down - and should have been a red flag. We felt like we were going through the mud driveway to a cow yard.
Now, I’m sure there are plenty of reviews from people who get to experience the grand old homestead. But not us. Had we known this was going to be our accommodation for $200/night, we’d not have booked it.
Given the blatant false advertising and non disclosure of the accommodation being provided we feel the owners are grossly misrepresenting the accommodation and should put it right.

Room tip: Make sure you don’t stay in the Mulberry Cottage. Bring your gumboots. Don’t rely on the Wifi if put into the cottage. It’s so non existent.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank CraigAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 June 2022

We went for our anniversary and felt like guests in Downtown Abby. Simonetta is an amazing chef and the accommodation was fabulous. Highly recommended.
We enjoyed the waterfall walk and worked up an appetite for yet another fabulous meal.

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2022 via mobile

We stayed here two nights and originally reserved dinner only for the first. Once it was quite clear how far it was to travel for anywhere to eat at night and that our first nights meal was exceptional, we asked to dine for our second night.

The house is exactly as described on the website. Simonetta makes excellent coffee which she offered us on arrival in the drawing room, The bathrooms are warm and modern. Sadly we didn’t explore the grounds as the weather was not delightful and it was rainy and chilly…in February!! Out room had heaters and there was a fire on at dinner so we were pretty comfortable.

The house is quite beautiful and it was a pleasure to stay.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank travellingbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews