We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely fantastic!”
other travellers have booked this property
Old St John's Church...
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space... Enter a caption for your photo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
60 reviews
Old St John's Church...
Plenty of outdoor space...
Enter a caption for your photo
The dining area and former pulpit.
Vaulted ceiling above the kitchen...
Plenty of space to relax.
Double-sided fireplace for those cosy nights.
The well equipped kitchen..
External image of the Church.
The 'snug' area. N.B. The fireplace does not work.
The 'master' suite is in the spire of the Church.
The bathroom contains a sunken bath.
Enter a caption for your photo
Middle room - this is a TWIN room (can also be arranged as a super-king by request).
The downstairs double bedroom.
How things used to be!
Arial view of the church and gardens...
View from the top of the spire offering an unbroken 360 degree view.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gamblesby, Eden District, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 60 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
luarasaur...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic!”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Old St John's Church.
I would recommend this to anyone. It is set in such a beautiful spot, plenty of space around the church to play with little ones, or relax with a glass of wine.

The church itself has been renovated to an absolutely superb standard. The moment you walk through the doors, your jaw just drops! Words cannot convey just how beautiful it is.

We will definitely be returning!
Thank you so much!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helark
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little bubble of perfection in the lakes”
Reviewed 15 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Wow; where do we start...if you fancy a break from the norm, somewhere special - look no further. Booked the holiday for our mums 60th, and it didn't disappoint at all! The church has been beautifully renovated, and is kept to an extremely high standard. The gardens are beautiful, we spent each evening sat outside with a glass of wine,listening to the birds, and watching horses in their fields over the wall. The little things were also considered - bottle of wine left for us on arrival etc... I am gutted to be going back to normality today, we will be back without a doubt!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review Helark! Truly appreciated. We're really glad you had a great time. The bird life is amazing up there this time year! Phil & Family :).
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oneil_sa
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, unusual holiday home.”
Reviewed 15 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Just returned from 5 night break at St Johns church. The church has been beautifully converted. Lots of space, immaculately clean and with all you could need for a great holiday including a bottle of wine on arrival. Village is very quiet with some nice walks near by. It was a bit further to The Lakes than we thought, but the drive was very pretty. Each room had a bathroom which was great and also a hairdryer which was nice. The garden is walled all round so great for the dog. Would recommend The Featherstone Arms in next village of Kirk Oswald I think it was called. Need to book but certainly the best pies we have ever eaten.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review the Church. We're really glad you had a good time. Best wishes, Phil & Joanne.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Reviewed 9 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
10 Mar 2017
Thank you for the review! It is wonderful to know that guests enjoyed their stay. We are especially grateful that you have taken the time to write this. Phil & Co.!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open space downstairs for everyone to be together and plenty of bedrooms, impressive building.
Liked least: Nothing to note
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing