We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
EvdWRotterdam
Rotterdam

Relaxed hospitality at its best.

Review of MERCURY RIDGE
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
We loved the beautiful location and atmosphere in this quiet, small scale, and high quality lodge. The owners are super helpful and friendly, the views overlooking the bay are superb, and the breakfast is absolutely delicious. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Lakeside Homestay
Booking.com
    0.6 km from MERCURY RIDGE
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Booking.com
      1.2 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      • Agoda.com
      0.7 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Hotels.com
      Get rewarded with One Key
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      • Vio.com
      2.3 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      • eDreams
      2.7 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Priceline
      Go to your Happy Price
      • Vio.com
      0.6 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Booking.com
      • Priceline
      1.2 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Tripadvisor
      $156
      Fully refundable
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Expedia.com
        $156
      4.3 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Beachside Resort Heated Pool
      Tripadvisor
      $220
      No prepayment needed
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Algotels
      4.4 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      Tripadvisor
      $283
      Fully refundable
      • Booking.com
      • Hotels.com
      • Priceline
      4.4 km from MERCURY RIDGE
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      View more hotels in Cooks Beach
      Reviews (19)
      Filter reviews
      19 results
      Traveller rating
      18
      1
      0
      0
      0
      Traveller type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      Traveller rating
      18
      1
      0
      0
      0
      See what travellers are saying:
      Selected filters
      Filter
      Updating list...
      1 - 6 of 19 reviews
      Reviewed 27 March 2024

      We just spent six weeks in New Zealand. Mercury Ridge tied for our favorite amongst 16 hosts. The host is an incredible chef. The breakfasts are off the charts and his recommendations for restaurants was perfect. We did have a car at this location and used it, but a lot of activities are within walking distance. The host went out of his way to ensure that every detail of our stay was exactly to our liking. I would highly recommend Mercury Ridge.

      Room tip: It is at the top of the hill so be prepared for the one-lane road or walk. We walked it several times and we are over 60 y.o..
      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      Thank SSBasketball
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

      What a fabulous place! We loved our stay at Mercury Ridge. Everything was perfect - the room, the views, and the hospitality. I really couldn’t find anything negative to say.

      Tom does a fabulous job with breakfast every morning. The eggs Benedict on potato rosti were fabulous!

      We also loved the complimentary goodies in the room, including chocolates, crisis, biscuits and a range of cold drinks, plus the usual tea and coffee.

      The views over Cooks beach bay are jaw-dropping and we loved watching the sunrise and sunset each day.

      This is truly a special place - just go!!

      Date of stay: March 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank ScrumptiousSolent
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 22 February 2024

      Fabulous location in the hills overlooking Cooks Beach. We were in the Bosun suite which was large and very comfortable - Nespresso machine much appreciated. Breakfast lovely and eaten sitting outside on the verandah. Tom our host very helpful - had spades for going to hot water beach. Tip, aim to get there about 2hours 30mins ahead of low tide so you have pick of places to dig, gets crowded later even when as we did outside school holisays

      Date of stay: February 2024
      • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank Simon G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 30 January 2024 via mobile

      Fantastic and spotlessly clean accommodation with amazing views. Jo organised our booking for a lovely lunch and wine tasting at the winery next door. Tom greeted us on arrival and answered our questions about the local area. A breakfast with a wide choice was prepared and served by Tom and his dad John. We had a wonderfully relaxing stay and can’t recommend Mercury Ridge highly enough.

      Room tip: Mercury Ridge information sheet available in the room has all you need to know, including the best places to eat. If in doubt, just ask Tom.
      Date of stay: January 2024
      Trip type: Travelled as a couple
      Thank Julie G
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      Reviewed 14 November 2023

      I was travelling with family and we stayed in the East Wing and adjacent Lodge Suite. This gave us our own separate 2 bedroom apartment, with a separate entrance. The kitchenette in the East Wing was well appointed, and Tom graciously offered us the use of additional equipment from the Lodge's main kitchen if we needed it.
      On arrival, we were met with a wonderful Charcuterie Board & a welcome glass of wine after a long drive down from North of Auckland (SH25A was still closed at this point). Tom's breakfasts were great. All the produce was fresh and cooked to order. The views over Cooks Beach were amazing. Toms's local knowledge was invaluable for advising us on where to go and what to do. I cannot recommend Mercury Ridge highly enough for a luxurious stay in the Coromandel.

      Date of stay: October 2023
      • Trip type: Travelled with family
        • Value
        • Location
        • Service
      Thank practicepacker
      This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
      View more reviews