We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discusting”

Barristers Block Cellar Door
Ranked #8 of 10 Restaurants in Woodside
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Rip off bad food bad service expensive food board flowers from a roadside
Rude staff lots more places to go

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank TaniaC1458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a days outing, enjoy the surrounds with your own picnic or purchase food from Cellar door. we dined in with the fabulous wine tastings before lunch and after. Bring your designated driver as you car will be feeling very festive after a day at Barristers Block.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank O8310PHpeterl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2021

This was our first experience of Barristers Block brilliant hospitality. We were greeted by welcoming staff who talked us through their tasting and dining options. We chose to take on the Weekday Lunch Menu, a 2 course, $35 pp offering, consisting of a VERY generous sharing platter of Cheeses & Charcuteries, as well as 2 stone-baked pizzas, from a selection of 5 varieties. Plus a delicious side of Sweet Potato Fries. All the food was from local producers. All were good-sized portions (we took home the pizza we couldn’t quite get through!).
The expansive grounds have many shady areas. We chose a table under the trees, overlooking the Barristers’ deer herd, geese and chooks. We were surrounded by Superb Blue Wrens, as we enjoyed a Rosé and Sauvignon Blanc with our lunch.
We were offered a coffee from their new espresso machine, but couldn’t fit anything else in!
We were able to make use a Barristers Block Gift Card - a Christmas present, which turned out to be a great gift choice. Highly recommended.

https://www.tripadvisor.com.au/ShowUserReviews-g2527444-d8608706-r781449691-Barristers_Block_Cellar_Door-Woodside_Adelaide_Hills_Greater_Adelaide_South_Aus.html#

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gfc73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Went here today and for a party of four we got a platter between us which was paltry! Two cheeses meatballs and pathetic amount of bread and cold meats. There was also some some cooked red onion plus broccoli not what you usually find on a decent cheese and meat platter! Plus a mound of soggy lettuce leaves all for the top price of $49 per head! Next came four pizzas which were awful. We had been there previously and it was great don’t know what’s happened but can tell you won’t EVER go again! The children’s meals were no better given the fish was raw so had to be replaced and the pizza order taken was incorrect so also had to be returned.

Date of visit: January 2021
2  Thank Cdc8888802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2021

Had been here before and enjoyed it but this latest visit was terrible and we won’t be returning. The shared platter for four adults was measly for the price and consisted mostly of wilted lettuce leaves, only highlight was the (small) serving of sweet potato fries. Kids meals came out - wrong pizza for one and raw fish for the other! No apology from the staff. The pizzas were edible at best - worst toppings, thin bases and no seasoning. The petit fours for dessert require a microscope they’re that small and very underwhelming finish to a pricey meal. This winery is taking advantage of patrons charging $50 a head and serving up such rubbish. Shame as the location is picturesque and the animals great for kids.

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank RebeccaC3346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barristers Block Cellar Door also viewed

Woodside, Adelaide Hills
 
Woodside, Adelaide Hills
Woodside, Adelaide Hills
 

Been to Barristers Block Cellar Door? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.