We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Grateful thanks.....”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Chardon

A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Lovely setting to take in the long hours of sunshine and country views. Relax and take in the sun - gite with private patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
A light and airy cottage set in lovely, rural countryside setting.
Lovely setting to take in the long hours of sunshine and country views.
Relax and take in the sun - gite with private patio.
South facing location in a  lovely courtyard setting with views over the Limousin countryside.
Private patio area perfectly located for taking in the evening sun with a glass of wine in hand.
Some of the owners chickens enjoying the large garden.  Fresh eggs available when chickens willing!
Tranquil setting with rural country view.
View over garden to countryside beyond.
More countryside.  So much to see and do or just rest and relax.
Light, bright and airy through lounge with kitchen/diner
Light and bright dining area with double doors to the lovely garden
Comfortable lounge with log burning stove. With Wifi, TV, DVD, and CD player.
Refurbished kitchen/diner.  Fully equipped with everything you might need.
Spacious double bedroom.  Comfortable bed and all towels and linens supplied.
Comfortable double bedroom with lovely view across garden.
Spacious twin bedded room.  All towels and linen provided.  Cot available on request
Refurbished shower/wc room.  Shower with body jets.  All towels supplied  Complimentary toiletries.
Lac de Vassiviere with its many beautiful swimming beaches just 20km away.
Lac de St. Helene.  Swimming beach, childrens play area and cafeteria just 4km away
Stunning evening sky over Cheissoux village
Early morning sunlight :-)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheissoux, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gardening...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Grateful thanks.....”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from the most delightful stay at Le Chardon, the gite was perfect for our needs set in beautiful grounds, with distant views of the surrounding area. Sonia and Eddie were the ideal hosts and their thoughtfulness and warm welcome made our stay. The immediate local area more than fulfilled our hopes - and we enjoyed daily swims nearby, meals out, concerts both classical and one given by local French musicians at the lakeside pizza restaurant and walks in the deep, quiet countryside.

We would wholeheartedly recommend this gite and feel fortunate indeed to have enjoyed such a special week.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
This is a beautiful area with lots to do and am pleased that you and your family found the gite comfortable and were able to enjoy the activities as well as the peace and tranquility. We do hope you can join us again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bas B
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful gite with an amazing garden and friendly hosts”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We absolutely loved staying at this beautiful gite!! The hosts were perfect; available when needed but also very respectful of our personal space, at no point did we feel we intruded in their lives. The house itself is superb, much more comfortable than what you'd expect of a gite in a small town in rural France, especially for this price. Both bedrooms were equipped with super-comfortable beds, the bathroom was newly renovated and very modern, the kitchen well equipped and nice-looking and the living area very comfortable. However, what we loved most was the outdoor space with our private patio with barbecue, the giant garden which we could make full use of, and the friendly chicken and pigs. As our hosts informed us through a very handy brochure, there actually is quite a lot to do in the area. The lakes were great to lay on the beach on warm days and the restaurants (both lunch and dinner) they recommend are excellent and not pricey at all (we tried almost every one of them). We were sad to leave after 5 nights and would highly recommend staying here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
It was an absolute pleasure having these 3 as guests. They were very polite and respectful. It was great seeing them obviously enjoying themselves because of their constant laughter and cheer. They were the perfect guests and left the gite in very good order when their holiday was over.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pleasurable stay.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Lovely location, well placed for country walks or local towns, Super hosts, gite very well equipped,with a local auberge a short stroll away. Would certainly stay there again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Le Chardon and wish you well for your move to France.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Truly delightful - and the gite was good too...”
Reviewed 24 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Have to say, Sonia & Eddie were the perfect hosts! We only saw them when they went to lock up the chickens for the night, but were always ready to help with any issues or queries. They are a truly delightful pair.
Apparently, our stay was the first autumn/winter break they have dealt with, but you would never have known. plenty of logs for the wood burner, and an extremely well kitted out gite kept us cosy and happy all week.
Will certainly be going back as soon as possible!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Rained for three days, but can't really blame the owners for that!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
Thank you for a lovely review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks...
sevenoaks
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave.”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our holiday at Le Chardon so much that we simply didn't want to leave. We stayed in the gite whilst visiting family in the village.
The gite is really lovely, but the garden is special!
Four adults and four children all enjoyed the garden, the children played football & hide and seek and spent hours on the swing. The adults, well we mainly drank wine and enjoyed the sunshine.
It's a very peaceful setting with lovely views, perfect for a relaxing holiday.
Sonia and Eddie were great, friendly and welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area, they gave us a great tip on where to have lunch. We are very grateful to them for letting our family come and enjoy the garden too, and to not objecting to four (slightly loud) children running around.
We very much hope to return next year, and the one after, and the one after that too...

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2014
It was a pleasure to have all the family here and to hear that they enjoyed the garden so much. Thank you for the lovely review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing