We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Priceline
Booking.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveller rating
256
103
41
33
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
256
103
41
33
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot pools course dinner lewis pass nature walk off grid indoor pool private bath relaxing getaway great weekend rock pools superior room two nights new owners beautiful spot remote location overnight stay steam room
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 446 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2021 via mobile

Special escape for husband birthday, what a break it was although only one night was well worth it, relaxing, beautiful spot, food and experience
Restaurant food was great and staff service very high standard!
Yoga class great too to start the morning

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SaraH7219
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozef Zalewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Lovely to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! look forward to have you back :D

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2021

Had an amazing experience when we stayed in the glamping pod! Loved the pod, views and hot pools/ facilities. It was so peaceful and releasing. The staff were all really nice and helpful. Highly recommend and would go again for sure!

Date of stay: November 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sophia509411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozef Zalewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

We do have some awesome little pods! Glad you enjoyed your time in them and got to know the staff :D see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2021

Honestly, I was very excited to stay at Maruia when I first booked things for my partner and I's anniversary. That excitement was met, exceeded, and thoroughly worth every dollar we paid! The room we stayed in was perfect, the sauna was everything I dreamed of and wanted (I am a biggg sauna guy being from a very cold state in the USA), and the hot pools were all lovely. My partner read an entire book in the two days we were at Maruia whilst in the infrared sauna - aka she loved it. The food was delicious (although a bit too fancy/spendy/small portions). Bring some snacks or whatever since there is a mini-fridge in the room. The river and walks around Maruia were lovely and a great escape too. Oh and that cold plunge pool is absolutely stellar! Cold as hell, but fully worth it after a good sauna sesh. I also highly recommend doing the 07.30 yoga class too. Yes, it is early, but our teacher, Tara, was lovely and sure knows her yoga. A great class that made our stay that much more enjoyable and intentional. This place truly is a "wellness retreat". 10/10 from us!

Date of stay: November 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank EvanCaldon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozef Zalewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2021

Thank you for your kind words Evan! Glad you enjoyed all of what we have to offer! Especially your sauna infusion with the lovely Tara! Its soo worth it after braving the cold. Look forward to having you back with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021 via mobile

My husband and I visited for two nights back in October. The surroundings are beautiful and we bith felt relaxed and refreshed after our visit. Our room was clean and comfortable although we didn't spend much time in it. I'd thoroughly recommend spending night time down at the pools: no day guests, no sandflies just perfect under the stars. Food and wine is local, organic and nutritious. Worth the extra dollars we thought. Above all, the best thing about staying (aside from the sauna infusions - free for guests and a must) were the staff who are just exceptionally friendly and helpful and bent over backwards to make our stay special: my ahmazing therapist from Chile (will never forget my chocolate wrap) and the ubiquitous Joe - you are a legend and your wine tips spot on! Thanks guys. We will be back. Only ctiticism: more lighting to pools at night from the rooms. See you again....Laura and Chris, Christchurch.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Laurastrevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozef Zalewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2021

Thank you Laura for your lovely review! Was great getting to know you both over the 2 days, we do have some great staff here and appreciate you noticing the hard work from us all! Look forward to seeing you again :) more lighting from the rooms is definitely something we plan to bring in the future :) best of luck with your studies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2021

Astonishingly beautiful place. Customer service was amazing, food was amazing, pools were incredible! Only thing a bit sad was our private bath still had the robes and old glasses and drinks from the previous couple, and there weren’t knew ones for us.

Rest was amazing!

Date of stay: November 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Hellomynameisfinnjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jozef Zalewski, Guest Services / Front Office at Maruia Hot Springs, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2021

Thankyou so much for kind words! glad you had a wonderful time with us :) We are very sorry to hear this happened with the private spa this certainly should not happen and will not happen again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews