We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
eDreams
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Priceline
US$76
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Agoda.comUS$75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
16
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
16
3
0
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews new zealand christchurch bush heater motel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2021

I had to book a last minutes stay in this area and with only 2 motels within 100 km of my destinations there was not much choice.
The first one I'm still waiting for a reply but when I phoned Maruia Motel Amber picked up the call. We talked about dinner and breakfast as there is no restaurants for open at night fir over 100km open.
Amber suggested dinner and breakfast options so I booked in.
You are never sure of what to expect in remote location but Amber and Ashley and young son made me welcome on arrival.
The room was great but under priced for the well keep, clean, tidy room. Good heater, electric blanket cooking facilities just top rate.
Being July in the mountains in New Zealand the weather can be very cold and wet but I came across a fine night, thanks for arranging that guys.
To sum up well done and keep up the great work and when covid is over and the boarders open you will get back to home in Australia for a holiday.
Thanks Mike Halliday
Owner ChauffeurNZ.com
Christchurch New Zealand

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2020

We stayed at Maruia Motels last year & as we were passing it was a natural choice to stay there again. The lovely couple who own it are friendly, go out of their way to help, they offer fly fishing for those who are hooked on fishing. There is a lovely nature walk behind the country school. The rooms a clean, spacious, have everything that we need & there is a verandah to sit out on any time you feel inclined. We ordered our tea here (Butter chicken with homemade naan or roti, mango chutney, onion salad and poppadom- WOW - this is the best we have ever tasted anywhere on our travels both here and overseas, absolutely great guys (they were chefs in their 'past' life). We wish them best with baby No:2. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2020

Great stopping off place on our way South to Hanmer.Warm and friendly service, very nice meal pre-ordered
Gorgeous little 20 min walk though pristine bush at the back of property
Thouroughly recommended

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank reneezmotueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2020 via mobile

Modest but well priced and very comfortable accomodation in the quietest of quiet places. OK...Only one TV channel was available but TBH when you're in an area where you want to escape all the hash and clutter that's not really an issue. Plenty of milk & UHT in the fridge so you could have endless cuppas. Pleasant bushwalks nearby. Friendly hosts. Snow on the tops come morning. Lovely. Check that the nearby cafe is open for a feed otherwise you may need to bring in your own grub to cook.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Awesome hosts Ash & Ashley went out of their way to help us - two cyclists - with a good place to stay on our route through New Zealand.

The motel is located in a magnificent location and the rooms are very nice. Ash and Ashley are kind people and put in a lot of effort to make you feel at home.

Go here!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EmielHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews