We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Booking.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
18
3
0
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2020

We stayed at Maruia Motels last year & as we were passing it was a natural choice to stay there again. The lovely couple who own it are friendly, go out of their way to help, they offer fly fishing for those who are hooked on fishing. There is a lovely nature walk behind the country school. The rooms a clean, spacious, have everything that we need & there is a verandah to sit out on any time you feel inclined. We ordered our tea here (Butter chicken with homemade naan or roti, mango chutney, onion salad and poppadom- WOW - this is the best we have ever tasted anywhere on our travels both here and overseas, absolutely great guys (they were chefs in their 'past' life). We wish them best with baby No:2. Would highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 60stravellers2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 July 2020

Great stopping off place on our way South to Hanmer.Warm and friendly service, very nice meal pre-ordered
Gorgeous little 20 min walk though pristine bush at the back of property
Thouroughly recommended

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank reneezmotueka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 July 2020 via mobile

Modest but well priced and very comfortable accomodation in the quietest of quiet places. OK...Only one TV channel was available but TBH when you're in an area where you want to escape all the hash and clutter that's not really an issue. Plenty of milk & UHT in the fridge so you could have endless cuppas. Pleasant bushwalks nearby. Friendly hosts. Snow on the tops come morning. Lovely. Check that the nearby cafe is open for a feed otherwise you may need to bring in your own grub to cook.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Terry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 January 2020 via mobile

Awesome hosts Ash & Ashley went out of their way to help us - two cyclists - with a good place to stay on our route through New Zealand.

The motel is located in a magnificent location and the rooms are very nice. Ash and Ashley are kind people and put in a lot of effort to make you feel at home.

Go here!

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank EmielHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much! We hope to see you again soon :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020

This was supposed to be a one night getaway for us. Maruia Motels is in the absolute middle of nowhere (which we knew when we booked) however this does mean that other accommodation options are non-existent. Our requirements for accommodation are quite specific as we have a child with special needs, and Maruia Motels had appeared to tick all of our boxes. We had prepaid for our room, but at 5.30pm, the day we were due to check in, we were phoned and told that they had double booked and that we no longer had any accommodation. There was absolutely no accommodation for 4 people in Murchison (50 minute drive away) and Reefton (50 minute drive in the other direction) was also fully booked out due to the Reefton Races and a large funeral. We were 3 hours drive from home.

As we had prepaid, I requested a refund from the motel and when Booking.com phoned me to confirm this they stated that the motel had said we had cancelled our booking which was not true, they had cancelled it on us. Refunds take 5 - 7 days to clear.

Whilst I am sure that double bookings may occasionally occur, not noticing this until 5.30pm is not okay, especially when there are no other accommodation options in the area, and very limited cellphone connection for kms. Poor organisation especially considering there are only have 3 units.

BTW, booking.com were excellent and phoned twice and then emailed 3 times when trying to find us other accommodation, however they were also unsuccessful in locating other accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambermaruia, Owner at Maruia Motels, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2020

We are extremely sorry this happened to you. And are even more sorry that it was so difficult to find alternative accomodation.

Although we know booking.com to be a very reputable booking platform, things still do go wrong. When we know we are fully booked, we cancel out those corresponding dates on booking.com. However, numerous times we have still been able to get bookings for those dates despite having no rooms left.
Extremely frustrating to say the least - for both parties!

This was unfortunately the case with your booking.
We’ve been trying to understand how this keeps happening and have been told by booking.com that they ‘are working on it’ - whatever that means.

All we can hope is that this kind of thing doesn’t happen again - as we completely understand how much it impacts on you - and that it doesn’t deter future visitors staying with us. We pride ourselves on looking after our guests and ensuring they enjoy their stay here.

Again, our deepest apologies to you and your family.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews