We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal on the rail trail”
Review of Blacks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Blacks Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Ophir B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2016

We had dinner at Blacks Hotel on Wednesday 14th December and it was fantastic. New owners who have been there only 16 weeks but doing lots of renovations, etc and were very friendly. We were not staying there but had a look a the accommodation and the rooms were very clean and fresh looking with different themes. They picked us up from Omakau where we were staying and gave us a little tour of Ophir. The food was the best we had on the rail trail - steak with mushroom sauce and the fish and chips. We definitely recommend to anyone and will return again.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kiwifamily123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 64 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Our hosts were super friendly and accommodating in their cosy hotel. All rooms were clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Their chef is excellent and I highly recommend the ribeye! Thanks Sandy and Sam for a memorable stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We loved our meals and the manager gave us a tour of the hotel which looks to be worthwhile for a stay sometime. We liked the art deco style, it's been opened up and on a sunny day a garden courtyard would invite you in. The only thing that went against our dining was the unremitting foul language of a small group of local people to whom the pub is no doubt "theirs". It just did spoil things rather to have good professional management and waiter, truly excellent food demeaned by this.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We were staying at Hawk Rock a few miles down the road and decided to go out for a meal. The pub in Oturehua was nearest but was fully booked so we went down the road to Blacks. What a good decision that was as we got the full tour of the premises to see what an excellent job they are making of the establishment. The new owners had only been in 14 weeks but have completely turned the place around and concentrated on the Art Deco theme with individual themes to each of the rooms. The haggis is to die for and the belly pork is great also. All the other dishes that we saw going past looked delicious which is not surprising when you talk to the chef, who really knows her stuff. Well done them and may they continue to do well.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The night we stayed in Ophir we had no choice for a meal- it was Blacks or nothing. So we didn't have high expectations- but what a great place. We were warmly welcomed by the new (12 weeks) owner and settled into a comfortable and beautifully decorated (for Christmas) room and then had simply great food- the green chicken curry which closer to a laksa in style was so good and spicy, with crunchy fresh vegetables and fried shallots- yum! And the salmon with the deconstructed Niçoise salad went down to applause from my partner. Unfortunately we were unable to fit in sweets, but we saw them go past looking great. Yes, do go there if you are on the Otago Rail Trail, or if you are lucky enough to live in the area go often!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank travellinggoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Blacks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blacks Hotel

Address: Corner of Ida Valley-Omakau Road & Swindon Steet,, Ophir, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Central Otago > Ophir
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ophir
Price Range: $151 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing