We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
105
24
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
24
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue cod country pub otago rail trail steak haggis new owners hotel for dinner central otago a great place to stay fish and chips excellent food only negative busy night cooked to perfection sunny day spent nights feel so welcome
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

Our hosts were super friendly and accommodating in their cosy hotel. All rooms were clean, well equipped and very comfortable. Their chef is excellent and I highly recommend the ribeye! Thanks Sandy and Sam for a memorable stay.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We loved our meals and the manager gave us a tour of the hotel which looks to be worthwhile for a stay sometime. We liked the art deco style, it's been opened up and on a sunny day a garden courtyard would invite you in. The only thing that went against our dining was the unremitting foul language of a small group of local people to whom the pub is no doubt "theirs". It just did spoil things rather to have good professional management and waiter, truly excellent food demeaned by this.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginadigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

We were staying at Hawk Rock a few miles down the road and decided to go out for a meal. The pub in Oturehua was nearest but was fully booked so we went down the road to Blacks. What a good decision that was as we got the full tour of the premises to see what an excellent job they are making of the establishment. The new owners had only been in 14 weeks but have completely turned the place around and concentrated on the Art Deco theme with individual themes to each of the rooms. The haggis is to die for and the belly pork is great also. All the other dishes that we saw going past looked delicious which is not surprising when you talk to the chef, who really knows her stuff. Well done them and may they continue to do well.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GEOFFREY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

The night we stayed in Ophir we had no choice for a meal- it was Blacks or nothing. So we didn't have high expectations- but what a great place. We were warmly welcomed by the new (12 weeks) owner and settled into a comfortable and beautifully decorated (for Christmas) room and then had simply great food- the green chicken curry which closer to a laksa in style was so good and spicy, with crunchy fresh vegetables and fried shallots- yum! And the salmon with the deconstructed Niçoise salad went down to applause from my partner. Unfortunately we were unable to fit in sweets, but we saw them go past looking great. Yes, do go there if you are on the Otago Rail Trail, or if you are lucky enough to live in the area go often!

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank travellinggoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night here whilst biking the rail trail. Everyone was so friendly and for dinner, the blue cod was superb. The rooms are a bit cosy but it's real country hospitality that makes it a great place to stay.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Dave_of_Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews