We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$111
Expedia.comUS$111
CheapTicketsUS$111
eDreamsUS$110
Orbitz.comUS$111
TravelocityUS$111
View all 12 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
144
39
11
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
144
39
11
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue cod otago rail trail steak haggis great meal on tap the pub a great place to stay obvious choice quirky decor quick drink garden bar for sale great atmosphere art deco gem popular with the locals garlic bread
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with family for a meal. Warm welcome and a nice fire burning. Kids were happy with meals they ordered. Nice food presentation. All the adult meals were good too, and nicely presented. Decent prices. Emersons on tap plus a few other beers. Friendly staff (owners) - I understand they've just taken over the business in the last two months. Good work.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Heftybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The new management of Blacks Hotel are to be congratulated on their service and meals. We stopped at the hotel for a drink and decided to stay for dinner. It was a busy night for fhem (quiz night), yet our meals were provided quite promptly and the waitress/co-owner took time to talk with us and explain the work they were doing to develop the hotel. She was very friendly, efficient and courteous. The food was excellent; the fish was delicious and very fresh, the steaks were tender and beautifully cooked, and the haggis entree was divine! We were a large group (9 of us), and had arrived unexpectedly, so were very impressed with Blacks ability to offer such high quality food and service. Prices were very reasonable. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Arived after a hot day of riding the rail trail and was greated with cold towels and iced orange juice on the house. Got showen to our rooms which were perfect for a one night stay. We settled into the lounge and had a perfect steak with great mushroom sauce. Left in the morning having being treated with excellent service and care. Also had adequate speed WiFi but limited range in rooms. Full 3g mobile connection.

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 957isaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Brilliant. From the moment you arrive, Sandy and Sam know exactly what you want. We lost a phone on the trail and they helped us find it and kept the beer cold and the kithen open while we were gone. The short menu was good and the chef did it justice. Be sure to buy some of Jock's sauce. You can sample it with your dinner first.

Room tip: The rooms are small clean and tidy. What more do you need after a day on the trail.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank derichalfbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner and were warmly welcomed as soon as we entered. The staff were all incredibly welcoming and passionate about delivering exceptional service.

We stayed for dinner which was beautifully cooked by their executive chef. Enjoyed a beautiful local Chardonnay (Shaky Bridge) whilst next to a roaring fire.

Warmly greeted by the locals.

We were given a tour of the recently renovated accommodation. The rooms have everything you want! Warm, comfortable, clean with character. (We will stay next time)

Would highly recommend!

Thanks so much for such a Devine experience. We will be back!!

Date of stay: September 2016
Thank Paradise146174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews