We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blacks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (130)
Filter reviews
130 results
Traveller rating
99
23
6
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
99
23
6
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue codsteakotago rail trailcountry pubhaggisnew ownershotel for dinnerfish and chipsa great place to stayonly negativecountry hospitalityexcellent foodbusy nightcooked to perfectioncentral otagosunny dayspent nights
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 130 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Visited with family for a meal. Warm welcome and a nice fire burning. Kids were happy with meals they ordered. Nice food presentation. All the adult meals were good too, and nicely presented. Decent prices. Emersons on tap plus a few other beers. Friendly staff (owners) - I understand they've just taken over the business in the last two months. Good work.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Heftybag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

The new management of Blacks Hotel are to be congratulated on their service and meals. We stopped at the hotel for a drink and decided to stay for dinner. It was a busy night for fhem (quiz night), yet our meals were provided quite promptly and the waitress/co-owner took time to talk with us and explain the work they were doing to develop the hotel. She was very friendly, efficient and courteous. The food was excellent; the fish was delicious and very fresh, the steaks were tender and beautifully cooked, and the haggis entree was divine! We were a large group (9 of us), and had arrived unexpectedly, so were very impressed with Blacks ability to offer such high quality food and service. Prices were very reasonable. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Arived after a hot day of riding the rail trail and was greated with cold towels and iced orange juice on the house. Got showen to our rooms which were perfect for a one night stay. We settled into the lounge and had a perfect steak with great mushroom sauce. Left in the morning having being treated with excellent service and care. Also had adequate speed WiFi but limited range in rooms. Full 3g mobile connection.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank 957isaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Brilliant. From the moment you arrive, Sandy and Sam know exactly what you want. We lost a phone on the trail and they helped us find it and kept the beer cold and the kithen open while we were gone. The short menu was good and the chef did it justice. Be sure to buy some of Jock's sauce. You can sample it with your dinner first.

Room Tip: The rooms are small clean and tidy. What more do you need after a day on the trail.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank derichalfbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
22
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

Stopped here for dinner and were warmly welcomed as soon as we entered. The staff were all incredibly welcoming and passionate about delivering exceptional service.

We stayed for dinner which was beautifully cooked by their executive chef. Enjoyed a beautiful local Chardonnay (Shaky Bridge) whilst next to a roaring fire.

Warmly greeted by the locals.

We were given a tour of the recently renovated accommodation. The rooms have everything you want! Warm, comfortable, clean with character. (We will stay next time)

Would highly recommend!


Thanks so much for such a Devine experience. We will be back!!

Stayed: September 2016
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews