We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yavanna: A gem in Northern Portugal”
other travellers have booked this property
Yavanna - Swimming Pool View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yavanna - Swimming Pool View
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel Entrance Yavanna - Our Neighbours - Like Stepping back in Time
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
137 reviews
Yavanna - Swimming Pool View
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel Entrance
Yavanna - Our Neighbours - Like Stepping back in Time
Yavanna - Local Beach and Fishing Boat
Yavanna - Swimming Pool - Yoga Class
Yavanna - Yoga Deck from the Organic Veggie Garden
Yavanna - One of the outside terraces - table tennis, dancing, etc.
Yavanna - View across the garden - there are 3 hammocks
Yavanna - Main garden
Yavanna - Granite Communal Table - One of several
Yavanna - Local Beach at Caminha
Yavanna - Parking for 6 Cars
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel - An example bedroom
Yavanna - Local Building - Beautiful Ceramics
Yavanna - Garden from near the Studio
Yavanna - Somewhere to relax
Yavanna - Table Tennis!
Yavanna - Local River Minho - Swimming, Kayaking, Water Skiing, Rafting
Yavanna - Local Beach at Moledo
Yavanna - Nearby River Minho - A family kayaking
Yavanna - Portuguese Wine is Delicious and Not Expensive
Yavanna - Traditional Bridge Nearby
Yavanna - We have an abundant organic vegetable garden. Chose home grown produce!
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Garden
Yavanna - Local Dancing - There are many Fiestas you can watch
Yavanna - Shopping in Vigo - Over the border in Spain
Yavanna - Local Fish from Ancora Market
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Staircase
Yavanna - River Minho meets the Sea
Yavanna - Local Beach at Afife
Yavanna - Nearby River Minho - A family waterskiing
Yavanna - The Year it was built - 1723
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda - An example bedroom
Yavanna - Nearby Garden
Yavanna - A Cycling Group out for the day
Yavanna - Ancient Terraces
Yavanna - Nearby Ancient Corn Stores
Yavanna - Studio and Conference Room
Yavanna - Cactus Garden
Yavanna - Nearby Porto
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's Terrace
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda - An example bedroom
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda open plan ground floor
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Terrace
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Living Room
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Living Room
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel - An example bedroom
Yavanna - Our salt water swimming pool
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Kitchen
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Kitchen
Yavanna - Relax by the pool and enjoy the scenery
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel - An example bedroom
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's Kitchen
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Garden
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's Garden
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's Garden
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's Garden
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Garden
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Terrace
Yavanna - Main Garden
Yavanna - Our 12x8 meters swimming pool
Yavanna - A place to relax
Yavanna - Enjoy the stunning views by the pool
Yavanna - Main Garden, next to the pool
Yavanna - Main Garden
Yavanna - Old Wine Press in our garden
Yavanna - Casa Gabriel's Garden
Yavanna - Main Garden
Yavanna - Main Garden
Yavanna - Casa Dolinda's open plan ground floor
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Fontoura, Valenca, Viana do Castelo District, Northern Portugal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 137 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Orafiri
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yavanna: A gem in Northern Portugal”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Yavanna is a great retreat location for travelers who need a respite from the hustle and bustle of big city life. The grounds of the property are well maintained with outside sitting areas. There is a very nice pool area (although I did not utilize it because of the timing of my vacation). The accommodations are nice and comfortable. The view of the mountains from my room was priceless. The owner had recommendations of activities in the area and the best pastry shops.

The location of Yavanna to Spain made it possible for me to also visit some tourist locations in Spain. I will not do this review justice if I do not mention the edible garden. I love oranges and they happen to be in season during my visit.

Overall, from this experience, I will most definitely visit again.

Tip for visitors (and it depends on where you are travelling from), I flew into Vigo, Spain and appreciated the short commute especially since I had to board a morning flight on my return home.

Travelling group: Solo
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenCRos...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The most perfect holiday, wonderful accommodation and beautiful memories”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We are a family of five who stayed at Yavanna in April. The accommodation was stunning, the outdoor living feel was so unique. We had the most beautiful garden for our evening BBQs with stunning views. The sitting room with its log burner was so cosy when we wanted to come in. We all enjoyed the pool, the table tennis, and the thoughtful attention to detail that made our stay so comfortable. Sofia and Gustaf were so welcoming and helpful and could not have done more to have made this an exceptional holiday.

The surrounding area is full of things to do. We visited markets and towns and walked into Spain. The beaches at Moledo are amazing for the children and we could have done with a few more days to stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and gardens
Liked least: The bathroom doors
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CristinaB...
Luanda, Angola
1 review
“Fantastic !!”
Reviewed 6 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I could find no fault with anything. I highly recommend this property to any one, especially to folks with kids !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifull garden and pull - fruits & vegetals freshly availble in the garden
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ranulfita
2 reviews
“Yavanna is simply fantastic in both accomodation & service.”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I stayed @ Yavanna in June 2015. The accommodation was superb and the hosts were fantastic. The views are simply breath-taking. My 7 year old daughter spent the days playing in the big garden and eating fruit directly from the trees. There is also a swimming pool for those days that you feel more lazy. The surrounding area is very nice with good restaurants. I will certainly return in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location of the place and the reception from hosts
Liked least: No air con!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous location and comfortable and lovely Casa”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful two weeks at Yavanna. Casa Gabriel is very comfortable, lovely beds and furnishings, fully equipped with everything you could possibly need. A fabulous location to explore both the mountains and coast and pop into Spain. There is so much to do and see, we only touched the surface in two weeks - but then we did laze around the pool and beach too. Would highly recommend Yavanna to anyone - lovely for couples but would also be great for families with Kids as the gardens and pool are great.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$130
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing